Help Ukraine

Latest earthquakes in Afghanistan - list and map

Updated: May 19, 2022 01:20 GMT - Refresh
Updated May 19, 2022 01:20 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 48 hours, Afghanistan was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 4 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 6 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.9 | 20 km NW of Doda, Kashmir, India -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.7 | 55 km E of Faizabad, Faīẕābād, Badakhshan, Afghanistan -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Afghanistan (updated )

Past 24 hours:8 quakes | 4 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:37 quakes | 15 quakes M2+ | 12 quakes M3+ | 8 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 30 days:154 quakes | 59 quakes M2+ | 54 quakes M3+ | 31 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+
Past 90 days:528 quakes | 199 quakes M2+ | 174 quakes M3+ | 123 quakes M4+ | 6 quakes M5+
Past 365 days:1,754 quakes | 569 quakes M2+ | 555 quakes M3+ | 513 quakes M4+ | 28 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Afghanistan | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (12 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
May 19, 2022 3:09 am (GMT +5:30) (May 18, 2022 21:39 GMT)
2.9

5 km
20 km northwest of Doda, Kashmir, India
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 5:58 pm (GMT +4:30) (May 18, 2022 13:28 GMT)
2.5

8 km
Iran: 22 Km of Doroh, South Khorasan MoreMap
May 18, 2022 4:16 pm (GMT +4:30) (May 18, 2022 11:46 GMT)
2.6

14 km
57 km north of Turbat-i-Shaikh Jam, Razavi Khorasan, Iran MoreMap
May 18, 2022 4:36 pm (GMT +5) (May 18, 2022 11:36 GMT)
3.5

10 km
Provincia de Ahal, 58 km northwest of Sarahs, Razavi Khorasan, Iran
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 4:06 pm (GMT +4:30) (May 18, 2022 11:36 GMT)
3.9

2 km
90 km southeast of Mashhad, Razavi Khorasan, Iran
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 12:16 pm (GMT +4:30) (May 18, 2022 07:46 GMT)
4.7

100 km
55 km east of Faizabad, Faīẕābād, Badakhshan, Afghanistan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 7:07 am (GMT +5) (May 18, 2022 02:07 GMT)
3.7

32 km
77 km east of Gilgit, Pakistan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 7:07 am (GMT +5) (May 18, 2022 02:07 GMT)
2.8

10 km
71 km southwest of Gilgit, Pakistan MoreMap
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
May 17, 2022 11:46 pm (GMT +4:30) (May 17, 2022 19:16 GMT)
3.1

10 km
Provincia de Helmand, 161 km southwest of Kandahar, Afghanistan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 10:20 am (GMT +5) (May 17, 2022 05:20 GMT)
4.1

197 km
63 km east of Khorugh, Gorno-Badakhshan, Tajikistan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 7:18 am (GMT +4:30) (May 17, 2022 02:48 GMT)
2.5

10 km
7.3 km south of Rustāq, Rustaq, Takhar, Afghanistan MoreMap
May 17, 2022 7:33 am (GMT +5) (May 17, 2022 02:33 GMT)
2.8

10 km
54 km west of Tank, Tānk, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.8 x 1011 joules (245 megawatt hours, equivalent to 211 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Afghanistan Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Afghanistan ?

The last earthquake in Afghanistan occurred 4 hours ago: Light mag. 2.9 earthquake - 20 km northwest of Doda, Kashmir, India, on Thursday, May 19, 2022 at 3:09 am (GMT +5:30).

How many quakes were there in Afghanistan in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Afghanistan had 12 quakes up to magnitude 4.7.

What was the strongest quake in Afghanistan in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Afghanistan in the past 48 hours occurred 18 hours ago: Light mag. 4.7 earthquake - 55 km east of Faizabad, Faīẕābād, Badakhshan, Afghanistan, on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at 12:16 pm (GMT +4:30).

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel