Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in Alaska and the Aleutian Islands in the past 48 hours on Tuesday, October 4, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 4, 2022 19:38 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 27 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 120 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Alaska and the Aleutian Islands had 1 quake of magnitude 4.2, 5 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 27 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 120 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.3 | 31 Km NNW of Valdez, Alaska -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.2 | Alaska, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in Alaska and the Aleutian Islands (updated )

Past 24 hours68 quakes | 11 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days456 quakes | 89 quakes M2+ | 11 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 30 days7,792 quakes | 2,987 quakes M2+ | 631 quakes M3+ | 12 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days18,636 quakes | 6,356 quakes M2+ | 1,514 quakes M3+ | 42 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+
Past 365 days32,614 quakes | 9,607 quakes M2+ | 2,251 quakes M3+ | 192 quakes M4+ | 35 quakes M5+ | 4 quakes M6+

Quakes in Alaska and the Aleutian Islands | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.8 or higher (45 out of 153 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (18 quakes)
Oct 4, 2022 10:59 am (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 18:59 GMT)
2.3

19 km
31 Km NNW of Valdez, Alaska More
Oct 4, 2022 8:01 am (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 16:01 GMT)
2.3

7 km
43 Km ENE of Yakutat, Alaska More
Oct 4, 2022 7:10 am (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 15:10 GMT)
2.0

85 km
58 Km W of Happy Valley, Alaska More
Oct 4, 2022 7:04 am (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 15:04 GMT)
2.2

118 km
Southern Alaska More
Oct 4, 2022 6:46 am (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 14:46 GMT)
3.0

4.5 km
33 mi northeast of Yakutat, Alaska, USA
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 7:06 am (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 14:06 GMT)
2.0
Canada: 68 Km E of Juneau, Alaska More
Oct 4, 2022 4:43 am (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 12:43 GMT)
1.8

19 km
41 Km WSW of Tatitlek, Alaska More
Oct 4, 2022 3:57 am (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 11:57 GMT)
3.2

51 km
18 mi north of Homer, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 4:55 am (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 11:55 GMT)
2.0
Canada: 66 Km E of Juneau, Alaska More
Oct 4, 2022 2:53 am (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 10:53 GMT)
1.8

6.2 km
13 Km NW of Chenega, Alaska More
Oct 4, 2022 2:22 am (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 10:22 GMT)
2.3
101 Km W of Elfin Cove, Alaska More
Oct 4, 2022 12:09 am (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 08:09 GMT)
1.8

8.8 km
2 Km N of Haines, Alaska More
Oct 3, 2022 11:54 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 07:54 GMT)
2.3
15 Km NNW of Fishhook, Alaska More
Oct 3, 2022 11:43 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 07:43 GMT)
2.2

120 km
43 Km WSW of Denali Park, Alaska More
Oct 3, 2022 9:57 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 4, 2022 04:57 GMT)
3.7

21 km
North Pacific Ocean, 220 km southwest of Prince Rupert, Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District, British Columbia, Canada
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 5:50 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 01:50 GMT)
2.2

30 km
32 Km NW of Eureka Roadhouse, Alaska More
Oct 3, 2022 5:43 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 01:43 GMT)
1.9

15 km
80 mi southeast of MakKarti, Valdez-Cordova, Alaska, USA More
Oct 3, 2022 4:32 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 4, 2022 00:32 GMT)
2.0

33 km
16 Km S of Susitna North, Alaska More
Monday, October 3, 2022 GMT (23 quakes)
Oct 3, 2022 11:38 am (GMT -8) (Oct 3, 2022 19:38 GMT)
2.4
37 Km NNW of Skagway, Alaska More
Oct 3, 2022 10:03 am (GMT -8) (Oct 3, 2022 18:03 GMT)
2.0
28 Km E of Denali National Park, Alaska More
Oct 3, 2022 9:00 am (GMT -8) (Oct 3, 2022 17:00 GMT)
3.0

4.9 km
81 mi southeast of Alaska City, Anchorage, Alaska, USA
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.7 x 1011 joules (46.2 megawatt hours, equivalent to 39.7 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: North Ridge, Okmok Caldera, Alaska (OKNO/AV network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station North Ridge, Okmok Caldera, Alaska: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Alaska Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Alaska and the Aleutian Islands?

The last earthquake in Alaska and the Aleutian Islands occurred 39 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.3 earthquake - 31 Km NNW of Valdez, Alaska, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 10:59 am (GMT -8).

How many quakes were there in Alaska and the Aleutian Islands in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Alaska had 45 quakes up to magnitude 4.2.

What was the strongest quake in Alaska and the Aleutian Islands in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Alaska and the Aleutian Islands in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 21 hours ago: Light mag. 4.2 earthquake - Alaska, USA, on Sunday, Oct 2, 2022 at 3:03 pm (GMT -8).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings