2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest quakes in or near Albania in the past 48 hours on Sunday, July 3, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 3, 2022 02:08 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 8 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Albania had 3 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 8 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 2.6 | Thessaly, 10.8 km SE of Metzovo, Ioannina, Epirus, Greece -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Albania (updated )

Past 24 hours:4 quakes
Past 7 days:33 quakes | 12 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 30 days:132 quakes | 50 quakes M2+ | 4 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:469 quakes | 179 quakes M2+ | 15 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 365 days:1,805 quakes | 926 quakes M2+ | 103 quakes M3+ | 26 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Albania | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (11 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, July 2, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Jul 3, 2022 12:46 am (GMT +3) (Jul 2, 2022 21:46 GMT)
1.5

15 km
6.4 km west of Krania Elassonas, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 10:42 am (GMT +3) (Jul 2, 2022 07:42 GMT)
1.5

10.3 km
31 km northeast of Trikala, Thessaly, Greece MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 5:24 am (GMT +3) (Jul 2, 2022 02:24 GMT)
1.3

17 km
Greece-Albania Border Region MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 4:26 am (GMT +3) (Jul 2, 2022 01:26 GMT)
1.3

13 km
Greece-Albania Border Region MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 4:04 am (GMT +3) (Jul 2, 2022 01:04 GMT)
1.5

5 km
19 km west of Arta, Epirus, Greece MoreMap
Friday, July 1, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Jul 2, 2022 12:53 am (GMT +3) (Jul 1, 2022 21:53 GMT)
2.1

53 km
12 km northwest of Kanalaki, Nomos Prevézis, Epirus, Greece MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 10:20 pm (GMT +3) (Jul 1, 2022 19:20 GMT)
2.1

15 km
5.5 km northeast of Kanalaki, Nomos Prevézis, Epirus, Greece MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 6:16 pm (GMT +3) (Jul 1, 2022 15:16 GMT)
1.6

16 km
11 km northwest of Ioannina, Epirus, Greece MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 11:29 am (GMT +3) (Jul 1, 2022 08:29 GMT)
1.9

17 km
5.2 km south of Kanalaki, Nomos Prevézis, Epirus, Greece MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 8:04 am (GMT +3) (Jul 1, 2022 05:04 GMT)
2.6

10 km
Thessaly, 10.8 km southeast of Metzovo, Ioannina, Epirus, Greece MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 5:28 am (GMT +3) (Jul 1, 2022 02:28 GMT)
1.6

15 km
Central Greece, 25 km southwest of Karditsa, Nomos Kardhitsas, Thessaly, Greece MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8 x 108 joules (222 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.191 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Albania Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Albania?

The last earthquake in Albania occurred 4 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.5 earthquake - 6.4 km west of Krania Elassonas, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece, on Sunday, Jul 3, 2022 at 12:46 am (GMT +3).

How many quakes were there in Albania in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Albania had 11 quakes up to magnitude 2.6.

What was the strongest quake in Albania in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Albania in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 21 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.6 earthquake - Thessaly, 10.8 km southeast of Metzovo, Ioannina, Epirus, Greece, on Friday, Jul 1, 2022 at 8:04 am (GMT +3).

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.