Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Algeria in the past 48 hours on Wednesday, October 5, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 22:26 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 1 quake between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 47 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 141 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Algeria was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 1 quake of magnitude 3.3, and 47 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 141 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.6 | Alboran Sea, 41 km NE of Al Hoceima, Morocco -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.9 | Alboran Sea, 24 km E of Al Hoceima, Morocco -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Algeria (updated )

Past 24 hours89 quakes | 25 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days396 quakes | 109 quakes M2+ | 4 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 30 days820 quakes | 337 quakes M2+ | 97 quakes M3+ | 6 quakes M4+
Past 90 days2,019 quakes | 1,074 quakes M2+ | 144 quakes M3+ | 9 quakes M4+
Past 365 days6,626 quakes | 3,917 quakes M2+ | 421 quakes M3+ | 32 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Algeria | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 2 or higher (50 out of 191 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 GMT (22 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 10:30 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2022 20:30 GMT)
2.6

20 km
Alboran Sea, 41 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Oct 5, 2022 6:47 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2022 16:47 GMT)
2.2

16 km
Alboran Sea, 38 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Oct 5, 2022 5:29 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2022 15:29 GMT)
2.0
8.2 km east of Loja, Granada, Andalusia, Spain More
Oct 5, 2022 5:20 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2022 15:20 GMT)
2.0

15 km
8 km east of Loja, Granada, Andalusia, Spain More
Oct 5, 2022 5:16 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2022 15:16 GMT)
2.2

17 km
7.3 km east of Loja, Granada, Andalusia, Spain More
Oct 5, 2022 3:29 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 5, 2022 14:29 GMT)
2.3

13 km
Alboran Sea, 33 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Oct 5, 2022 2:48 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 5, 2022 13:48 GMT)
2.0

15 km
Alboran Sea, 36 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Oct 5, 2022 1:45 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 5, 2022 12:45 GMT)
3.3

12 km
Alboran Sea, 38 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 5, 2022 12:59 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2022 10:59 GMT)
2.5

5 km
13 km east of Loja, Granada, Andalusia, Spain More
Oct 5, 2022 11:00 am (GMT +1) (Oct 5, 2022 10:00 GMT)
2.2

23 km
Alboran Sea, 38 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Oct 5, 2022 10:29 am (GMT +1) (Oct 5, 2022 09:29 GMT)
2.2

23 km
Alboran Sea, 35 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Oct 5, 2022 9:54 am (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2022 07:54 GMT)
2.1

4 km
8.1 km southeast of Loja, Granada, Andalusia, Spain More
Oct 5, 2022 9:49 am (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2022 07:49 GMT)
2.2

11 km
7.2 km southeast of Loja, Granada, Andalusia, Spain More
Oct 5, 2022 9:39 am (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2022 07:39 GMT)
2.0

6 km
Alboran Sea, 39 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Oct 5, 2022 3:42 am (GMT +1) (Oct 5, 2022 02:42 GMT)
2.3

11 km
Alboran Sea, 30 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Oct 5, 2022 4:09 am (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2022 02:09 GMT)
2.0

11 km
9.5 km east of Loja, Granada, Andalusia, Spain More
Oct 5, 2022 3:04 am (GMT +1) (Oct 5, 2022 02:04 GMT)
2.1

17 km
Alboran Sea, 32 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Oct 5, 2022 2:22 am (GMT +1) (Oct 5, 2022 01:22 GMT)
2.3

3 km
Alboran Sea, 31 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Oct 5, 2022 2:38 am (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2022 00:38 GMT)
2.4

4 km
Alboran Sea, 35 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Oct 5, 2022 2:21 am (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2022 00:21 GMT)
2.0

6 km
Alboran Sea, 40 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Oct 5, 2022 1:20 am (GMT +1) (Oct 5, 2022 00:20 GMT)
2.0

4 km
Alboran Sea, 28 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 1012 joules (431 megawatt hours, equivalent to 371 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Tamanrasset, Algeria (TAM/G network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Tamanrasset, Algeria: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Algeria Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Algeria?

The last earthquake in Algeria occurred 1 hour and 56 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.6 earthquake - Alboran Sea, 41 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco, on Wednesday, Oct 5, 2022 at 10:30 pm (GMT +2).

How many quakes were there in Algeria in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Algeria had 50 quakes up to magnitude 4.9.

What was the strongest quake in Algeria in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Algeria in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 7 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.9 earthquake - Alboran Sea, 24 km east of Al Hoceima, Morocco, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 4:39 pm (GMT +1).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings