2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Past earthquakes worldwide: May 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 3, 2022 02:07 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes on Wednesday, May 18th, 2022:

  • 6 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 42 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 116 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 228 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 640 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
On Wednesday, May 18th, 2022, there were 6 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 42 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 116 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 228 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 640 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.8 | Bering Sea, Alaska, USA -

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 4 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 3 or higher (168 out of 1032 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 GMT (168 quakes)
May 18, 2022 23:55 GMT
May 19, 2022 2:55 am (GMT +3)
3.1

5 km
8.2 km east of Kusadasi, Aydın, Turkey 17 reportsMore
May 18, 2022 23:53 GMT
May 18, 2022 5:53 pm (GMT -6)
3.2

21 km
North Pacific Ocean, 95 km southwest of Corinto, Chinandega, Nicaragua More
May 18, 2022 23:52 GMT
May 19, 2022 8:52 am (GMT +9)
5.0

20 km
Philippine Sea, 101 km southwest of Ishigaki, Okinawa, Japan More
May 18, 2022 23:33 GMT
May 19, 2022 7:33 am (GMT +8)
3.1

8 km
Philippine Sea, 10.4 km northeast of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines More
May 18, 2022 23:27 GMT
May 18, 2022 6:27 pm (GMT -5)
4.0

9 km
North Pacific Ocean, 48 km southeast of Tonosi, Provincia de Los Santos, Panama More
May 18, 2022 23:27 GMT
May 18, 2022 6:27 pm (GMT -5)
3.2
North Pacific Ocean, 98 km southeast of Las Tablas, Panama More
May 18, 2022 23:21 GMT
May 19, 2022 8:21 am (GMT +9)
3.1

10 km
Molucca Sea, Indonesia More
May 18, 2022 23:09 GMT
4.6

10 km
Indian Ocean More
May 18, 2022 22:57 GMT
May 18, 2022 6:57 pm (GMT -4)
3.1

108 km
50 km southeast of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile More
May 18, 2022 22:28 GMT
May 19, 2022 6:28 am (GMT +8)
3.2

22 km
South China Sea, 20 km northwest of Claveria, Cagayan, Philippines More
May 18, 2022 22:20 GMT
May 19, 2022 4:20 am (GMT +6)
3.3

10 km
92 km southwest of Zaysan, East Kazakhstan More
May 18, 2022 22:13 GMT
May 18, 2022 5:13 pm (GMT -5)
3.4

11 km
16 km southwest of Changuinola, Provincia de Bocas del Toro, Panama More
May 18, 2022 22:10 GMT
May 18, 2022 3:10 pm (GMT -7)
?

n/a
3.1 mi west of Olympia, Thurston County, Washington, USA (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMore
May 18, 2022 22:02 GMT
May 19, 2022 2:32 am (GMT +4:30)
3.4

10 km
8.1 km west of Nahavand, Hamadan Province, Iran More
May 18, 2022 21:40 GMT
May 18, 2022 2:40 pm (GMT -7)
4.1

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, Mexico More
May 18, 2022 21:36 GMT
May 18, 2022 4:36 pm (GMT -5)
3.3

7 km
Jalisco, 37 km northeast of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.8 x 1013 joules (21.7 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 18712 tons of TNT or 1.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.