Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Argentina in the past 48 hours on Thursday, May 19, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 19, 2022 02:39 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 12 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
In the past 48 hours, Argentina was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above and 12 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0.

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.2 | 204 km W of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Argentina (updated )

Past 24 hours:4 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 4 quakes M3+
Past 7 days:48 quakes | 6 quakes M2+ | 37 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:209 quakes | 37 quakes M2+ | 145 quakes M3+ | 25 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 90 days:921 quakes | 430 quakes M2+ | 419 quakes M3+ | 65 quakes M4+ | 5 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+
Past 365 days:5,687 quakes | 3,377 quakes M2+ | 2,087 quakes M3+ | 207 quakes M4+ | 13 quakes M5+ | 3 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Argentina | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (14 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
May 18, 2022 6:01 pm (GMT -3) (May 18, 2022 21:01 GMT)
3.4

199 km
Jujuy, 210 km northwest of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 1:09 pm (GMT -3) (May 18, 2022 16:09 GMT)
3.0

134 km
La Rioja, 145 km east of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 10:18 am (GMT -3) (May 18, 2022 13:18 GMT)
3.2

187 km
86 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 9:40 am (GMT -3) (May 18, 2022 12:40 GMT)
3.0

89 km
33 km north of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 9:21 pm (GMT -3) (May 18, 2022 00:21 GMT)
3.8

214 km
175 km west of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
May 17, 2022 5:17 pm (GMT -3) (May 17, 2022 20:17 GMT)
4.1

261 km
67 km west of Abra Pampa, Departamento de Cochinoca, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 2:24 pm (GMT -3) (May 17, 2022 17:24 GMT)
3.2

242 km
175 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 11:46 am (GMT -3) (May 17, 2022 14:46 GMT)
4.2

212 km
204 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 10:21 am (GMT -3) (May 17, 2022 13:21 GMT)
3.0

10 km
La Rioja, 74 km northeast of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 7:08 am (GMT -3) (May 17, 2022 10:08 GMT)
3.1

98 km
32 km northeast of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 6:48 am (GMT -3) (May 17, 2022 09:48 GMT)
3.1

104 km
118 km west of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 3:39 am (GMT -3) (May 17, 2022 06:39 GMT)
3.0

90 km
59 km south of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 2:30 am (GMT -3) (May 17, 2022 05:30 GMT)
3.8

197 km
212 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 1:35 am (GMT -3) (May 17, 2022 04:35 GMT)
3.1

91 km
37 km southeast of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.1 x 1011 joules (86.3 megawatt hours, equivalent to 74.2 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Argentina Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Argentina?

The last earthquake in Argentina occurred 6 hours ago: Minor mag. 3.4 earthquake - Jujuy, 210 km northwest of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina, on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at 6:01 pm (GMT -3).

How many quakes were there in Argentina in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Argentina had 14 quakes up to magnitude 4.2.

What was the strongest quake in Argentina in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Argentina in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 12 hours ago: Light mag. 4.2 earthquake - 204 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina, on Tuesday, May 17, 2022 at 11:46 am (GMT -3).

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel