Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Australia in the past 48 hours on Thursday, March 23, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Mar 23, 2023 06:59 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 2 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
A strong magnitude 5.2 earthquake occurred in Coral Sea, Solomon Islands, 1 hour and 7 minutes ago.Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (22 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, March 23, 2023 GMT (6 quakes)
Mar 23, 2023 4:52 pm (GMT +11) (Mar 23, 2023 05:52 GMT)
5.2

10 km
Coral Sea, 301 km east of Kirakira, Solomon Islands
I FELT IT
More
Mar 23, 2023 12:44 pm (GMT +8) (Mar 23, 2023 04:44 GMT)
2.6

10 km
89 km southeast of Matalam, Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia More
Mar 23, 2023 3:12 pm (GMT +13) (Mar 23, 2023 02:12 GMT)
2.5

5 km
Tasman Sea, 25 km northeast of Westport, New Zealand More
Mar 23, 2023 10:12 am (GMT +8) (Mar 23, 2023 02:12 GMT)
3.0

10 km
Indian Ocean, 85 km south of Jember, East Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Mar 23, 2023 7:32 am (GMT +7) (Mar 23, 2023 00:32 GMT)
2.9

79 km
Indian Ocean, 49 km southeast of Kencong, East Java, Indonesia More
Mar 23, 2023 10:43 am (GMT +10:30) (Mar 23, 2023 00:13 GMT)
2.8

9.8 km
67 km east of Peterborough, South Australia
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, March 22, 2023 GMT (10 quakes)
Mar 23, 2023 9:53 am (GMT +10:30) (Mar 22, 2023 23:23 GMT)
4.7

8.8 km
73 km east of Peterborough, South Australia
I FELT IT - 86 reports
More
Mar 23, 2023 6:02 am (GMT +8) (Mar 22, 2023 22:02 GMT)
2.8

11 km
48 km southwest of Labuan Bajo, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia More
Mar 23, 2023 5:22 am (GMT +8) (Mar 22, 2023 21:22 GMT)
3.1

12 km
Savu Sea, 66 km northeast of Waingapu, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Mar 23, 2023 9:45 am (GMT +13) (Mar 22, 2023 20:45 GMT)
3.3

5 km
64 km northwest of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Mar 23, 2023 4:23 am (GMT +8) (Mar 22, 2023 20:23 GMT)
5.1

110 km
Savu Sea, 159 km north of Kupang, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Mar 23, 2023 6:00 am (GMT +13) (Mar 22, 2023 17:00 GMT)
2.7

79 km
Tasman, 95 km southwest of Stoke, Nelson City, New Zealand More
Mar 22, 2023 11:39 pm (GMT +8) (Mar 22, 2023 15:39 GMT)
3.5

10 km
Indian Ocean, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Mar 22, 2023 8:50 pm (GMT +11) (Mar 22, 2023 09:50 GMT)
1.5

1 km
Australia: Gunning, NSW More
Mar 22, 2023 3:05 pm (GMT +9) (Mar 22, 2023 06:05 GMT)
3.1

49 km
Indonesia, 32 km southwest of Pante Macassar, Timor-Leste
I FELT IT
More
Mar 22, 2023 1:37 pm (GMT +13) (Mar 22, 2023 00:37 GMT)
2.6

96 km
40 km northwest of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand More
Tuesday, March 21, 2023 GMT (6 quakes)
Mar 22, 2023 8:53 am (GMT +13) (Mar 21, 2023 19:53 GMT)
2.9

33 km
Tasman Sea, 74 km northwest of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand More
Mar 22, 2023 6:12 am (GMT +13) (Mar 21, 2023 17:12 GMT)
2.7

5 km
31 km northwest of Wanaka, Queenstown-Lakes District, Otago, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Mar 22, 2023 12:08 am (GMT +11) (Mar 21, 2023 13:08 GMT)
?

n/a
15 km east of St. Albans, City of Brimbank, Victoria, Australia (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Mar 21, 2023 10:30 pm (GMT +11) (Mar 21, 2023 11:30 GMT)
4.7

10 km
South Pacific Ocean, 90 km southeast of Isangel, Tafea Province, Vanuatu
I FELT IT
More
Mar 21, 2023 11:10 pm (GMT +13) (Mar 21, 2023 10:10 GMT)
3.0

60 km
Southland, 71 km west of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Mar 21, 2023 6:17 pm (GMT +11) (Mar 21, 2023 07:17 GMT)
1.9

0.9 km
New South Wales, 59 km north of Camberra, Australian Capital Territory More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.2 x 1012 joules (2.29 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1972 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: St Philip's College (AUALC/S1 network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station St Philip's College: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Australia Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Australia?

The last earthquake in Australia occurred 1 hour and 7 minutes ago: Strong mag. 5.2 earthquake - Coral Sea, 301 km east of Kirakira, Solomon Islands, on Thursday, Mar 23, 2023 at 4:52 pm (GMT +11).

How many quakes were there in Australia in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Australia had 22 quakes up to magnitude 5.2.

What was the strongest quake in Australia in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Australia in the past 48 hours occurred 1 hour and 7 minutes ago: Strong mag. 5.2 earthquake - Coral Sea, 301 km east of Kirakira, Solomon Islands, on Thursday, Mar 23, 2023 at 4:52 pm (GMT +11).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings