Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Bolivia in the past 48 hours on Friday, January 27, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 12:20 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 13 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3

Latest quake: Mag. 3.5 | 61 km NE of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.3 | 96 km SW of Yunguyo, Puno, Peru -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Bolivia (updated )

Past 24 hours13 quakes3 quakes M2+9 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 7 days72 quakes36 quakes M2+27 quakes M3+9 quakes M4+
Past 30 days245 quakes148 quakes M2+67 quakes M3+27 quakes M4+3 quakes M5+
Past 90 days770 quakes435 quakes M2+246 quakes M3+83 quakes M4+6 quakes M5+
Past 365 days4,266 quakes2,350 quakes M2+1,528 quakes M3+358 quakes M4+25 quakes M5+3 quakes M6+1 quake M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Bolivia | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (21 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (8 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 9:01 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 12:01 GMT)
3.5

131 km
61 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 7:56 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 10:56 GMT)
3.8

113 km
107 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 27, 2023 5:51 am (GMT -5) (Jan 27, 2023 10:51 GMT)
4.2

185 km
84 km south of Puno, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 7:23 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 10:23 GMT)
3.5

139 km
42 km southeast of San Pedro de Atacama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 7:02 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 10:02 GMT)
3.4

189 km
127 km west of Abra Pampa, Departamento de Cochinoca, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 6:14 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 09:14 GMT)
3.0

118 km
67 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 4:08 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 07:08 GMT)
2.8

115 km
Tarapaca, 54 km west of Ollagüe, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Jan 27, 2023 2:34 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 05:34 GMT)
3.7

82 km
74 km southwest of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, January 26, 2023 GMT (10 quakes)
Jan 26, 2023 5:33 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 26, 2023 20:33 GMT)
2.9

109 km
Tarapaca, 71 km west of Ollagüe, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Jan 26, 2023 5:18 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 26, 2023 20:18 GMT)
2.9

135 km
93 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Jan 26, 2023 12:23 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 26, 2023 15:23 GMT)
3.0

164 km
71 km southeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 11:54 am (GMT -3) (Jan 26, 2023 14:54 GMT)
3.0

109 km
156 km southeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 10:33 am (GMT -3) (Jan 26, 2023 13:33 GMT)
3.0

93 km
91 km southeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 10:01 am (GMT -3) (Jan 26, 2023 13:01 GMT)
3.0

76 km
97 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 7:53 am (GMT -3) (Jan 26, 2023 10:53 GMT)
2.5

101 km
99 km east of Pozo Almonte, Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, Chile More
Jan 26, 2023 2:32 am (GMT -3) (Jan 26, 2023 05:32 GMT)
2.9

87 km
97 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile More
Jan 25, 2023 11:49 pm (GMT -4) (Jan 26, 2023 03:49 GMT)
3.4

186 km
Departamento de Potosi, Bolivia, 130 km east of Calama, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 8:17 pm (GMT -5) (Jan 26, 2023 01:17 GMT)
4.3

191 km
96 km southwest of Yunguyo, Puno, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 25, 2023 12:13 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 25, 2023 15:13 GMT)
2.9

119 km
91 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Jan 25, 2023 11:19 am (GMT -3) (Jan 25, 2023 14:19 GMT)
3.2

137 km
107 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 10:15 am (GMT -3) (Jan 25, 2023 13:15 GMT)
3.3

119 km
120 km east of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.2 x 1011 joules (117 megawatt hours, equivalent to 101 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Chusmiza, Chile (GO01/C network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Chusmiza, Chile: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Bolivia Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Bolivia?

The last earthquake in Bolivia occurred 20 minutes ago: Minor mag. 3.5 earthquake - 61 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile, on Friday, Jan 27, 2023 at 9:01 am (GMT -3).

How many quakes were there in Bolivia in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Bolivia had 21 quakes up to magnitude 4.3.

What was the strongest quake in Bolivia in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Bolivia in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 11 hours ago: Light mag. 4.3 earthquake - 96 km southwest of Yunguyo, Puno, Peru, on Wednesday, Jan 25, 2023 at 8:17 pm (GMT -5).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings