Latest quakes in or near California, USA, in the past 48 hours on Thursday, August 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 18, 2022 02:08 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 19 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 214 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, California had 1 quake of magnitude 3.2 and 19 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 214 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.2 | 5.7 mi E of Banning, Riverside County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:61 quakes | 11 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:417 quakes | 70 quakes M2+ | 8 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:1,689 quakes | 241 quakes M2+ | 22 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:5,238 quakes | 760 quakes M2+ | 111 quakes M3+ | 9 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:22,844 quakes | 3,310 quakes M2+ | 477 quakes M3+ | 45 quakes M4+ | 0 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near California, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 3 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 1.6 or higher (44 out of 234 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, August 18, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 17, 2022 5:28 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 18, 2022 00:28 GMT)
2.8

2.3 km
6km W of Bombay Beach, CA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 GMT (18 quakes)
Aug 17, 2022 4:11 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 23:11 GMT)
1.8

0.8 km
5km NW of Boron, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 2:46 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 21:46 GMT)
2.0

3.8 km
4km SW of Niland, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 2:40 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 21:40 GMT)
1.8

11 km
7km WSW of Holtville, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 2:27 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 21:27 GMT)
2.5

1.6 km
20km S of San Pedro, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 2:08 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 21:08 GMT)
2.3

3.2 km
16km SSE of San Pedro, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 11:06 am (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 18:06 GMT)
1.8

2.2 km
8km NW of The Geysers, CA 1 reportMoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 10:51 am (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 17:51 GMT)
2.1

10.3 km
14km NW of Progreso, B.C., MX MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 10:05 am (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 17:05 GMT)
2.8

3.8 km
8km NNE of Walker, CA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 10:04 am (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 17:04 GMT)
2.2

6.8 km
3 Km E of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 9:43 am (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 16:43 GMT)
2.4

5.4 km
8km NE of Walker, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 9:07 am (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 16:07 GMT)
1.6

0.6 km
12km W of Lake Pillsbury, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 7:00 am (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 14:00 GMT)
2.2

16 km
11km NNE of Cabazon, CA MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 6:07 am (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 13:07 GMT)
1.6

2.6 km
California-Nevada-Arizona Border Region MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 5:56 am (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 12:56 GMT)
1.6

7.3 km
51 Km NE of Valmy, Nevada MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 12:12 am (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 07:12 GMT)
2.3

9.5 km
28 Km SSE of Mina, Nevada MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 9:21 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 04:21 GMT)
2.8

18 km
2km N of New Idria, CA MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 7:42 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 02:42 GMT)
1.7

5.1 km
34km N of Yucca Valley, CA MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 5:53 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 17, 2022 00:53 GMT)
3.2

14 km
1km NE of Cabazon, CA
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 GMT (25 quakes)
Aug 16, 2022 4:33 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 23:33 GMT)
1.8

13 km
20km ESE of Anza, CA MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 4:06 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 16, 2022 23:06 GMT)
2.1

3.3 km
2km NW of The Geysers, CA 1 reportMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1 x 1010 joules (2.83 megawatt hours, equivalent to 2.43 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

California Earthquake FAQ

How many quakes occur in California every day?

California has about 10-15 quakes every day. Most of them are too small to be felt by humans, although there is usually one or two that are.
Typically there are 1-2 quakes of magnitudes greater than 3 every day. Quakes of magnitude 4+ occur about once every 5 days on average.
Magnitude 5+ events are about once every 2 months, and strong quakes from magnitude 6+ occur on average once every 4-5 months.

Why does California have so many quakes?

California is located near the boundary between the Pacific and North American tectonic plates. In the area of California, it is called a transform boundary, because the movement of the two plates is mostly a side-wise sliding alongside each other. The Pacific Plate is moving northwest relative to the North American plate, at a rate of approx. 33-37 millimeters (1.3-1.5 in) per year on average.
This creates a complex system of very active fault systems, the most prominent being the San Andreas Fault, which runs for roughly 750 mi (1,200 km) through California. However, there are also many other faults including some found directly underneath the State's major cities including L.A. and San Francisco.

When was the latest earthquake in California?

The last earthquake in California occurred 1 hour and 40 minutes ago: Light mag. 2.8 earthquake - 35 mi southeast of Indian Wells, Riverside County, California, USA, on Wednesday, Aug 17, 2022 at 5:28 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in California in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, California, USA had 44 quakes up to magnitude 3.2.

What was the strongest quake in California in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in California in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 1 hours ago: Light mag. 3.2 earthquake - 5.7 mi east of Banning, Riverside County, California, USA, on Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022 at 5:53 pm (GMT -7).

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings