Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Chile in the past 48 hours on Thursday, February 9, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 9, 2023 08:20 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 18 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 26 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
A light magnitude 4.1 earthquake occurred in Tarapaca, Chile, 9 hours ago.Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (48 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, February 9, 2023 GMT (10 quakes)
Feb 9, 2023 3:35 am (GMT -3) (Feb 9, 2023 06:35 GMT)
2.6

65 km
87 km east of Antofagasta, Chile More
Feb 9, 2023 2:51 am (GMT -3) (Feb 9, 2023 05:51 GMT)
2.7

9 km
Santiago, 60 km east of Rancagua, Provincia de Cachapoal, O'Higgins, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 1:23 am (GMT -3) (Feb 9, 2023 04:23 GMT)
3.8

246 km
Antofagasta, Chile, 219 km west of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 12:51 am (GMT -3) (Feb 9, 2023 03:51 GMT)
2.6

71 km
48 km south of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile More
Feb 9, 2023 12:50 am (GMT -3) (Feb 9, 2023 03:50 GMT)
3.7

256 km
Salta, 171 km west of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 11:16 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 9, 2023 02:16 GMT)
3.0

33 km
92 km southwest of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 11:14 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 9, 2023 02:14 GMT)
2.9

129 km
41 km west of Ollagüe, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Feb 8, 2023 8:37 pm (GMT -5) (Feb 9, 2023 01:37 GMT)
2.6

29 km
South Pacific Ocean, 34 km northwest of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile More
Feb 8, 2023 10:07 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 9, 2023 01:07 GMT)
2.9

118 km
40 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Feb 8, 2023 9:12 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 9, 2023 00:12 GMT)
2.7

118 km
94 km southeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Wednesday, February 8, 2023 GMT (26 quakes)
Feb 8, 2023 8:04 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 23:04 GMT)
4.1

104 km
142 km southeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 6:56 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 21:56 GMT)
2.8

236 km
Antofagasta, Chile, 233 km northwest of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina More
Feb 8, 2023 5:34 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 20:34 GMT)
2.7

43 km
15 km west of Quellon, Chiloe, Los Lagos, Chile More
Feb 8, 2023 3:36 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 18:36 GMT)
2.7

101 km
Antofagasta, Chile More
Feb 8, 2023 1:22 pm (GMT -5) (Feb 8, 2023 18:22 GMT)
2.8

25 km
South Pacific Ocean, 40 km west of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile More
Feb 8, 2023 3:08 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 18:08 GMT)
2.9

97 km
50 km south of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile More
Feb 8, 2023 3:01 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 18:01 GMT)
3.1

94 km
Chile, 190 km northwest of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 12:29 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 15:29 GMT)
2.8

45 km
22 km southwest of Ancud, Chiloe, Los Lagos, Chile 1 reportMore
Feb 8, 2023 11:39 am (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 14:39 GMT)
2.7

184 km
Antofagasta, Chile More
Feb 8, 2023 11:38 am (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 14:38 GMT)
2.9

131 km
53 km southeast of Rancagua, Provincia de Cachapoal, O'Higgins, Chile More
Feb 8, 2023 10:07 am (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 13:07 GMT)
3.2

86 km
56 km east of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 8:48 am (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 11:48 GMT)
2.5

105 km
89 km southeast of La Tirana, Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, Chile More
Feb 8, 2023 7:10 am (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 10:10 GMT)
2.5

94 km
53 km south of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile More
Feb 8, 2023 6:39 am (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 09:39 GMT)
2.8

244 km
Antofagasta, Chile, 223 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina More
Feb 8, 2023 5:34 am (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 08:34 GMT)
3.0

119 km
106 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 5:07 am (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 08:07 GMT)
3.0

105 km
70 km south of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 4:35 am (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 07:35 GMT)
3.3

105 km
15 km north of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 1:19 am (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 04:19 GMT)
3.3

107 km
90 km east of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 8, 2023 1:14 am (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 04:14 GMT)
3.6

100 km
Tarapaca, 124 km southeast of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 1:11 am (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 04:11 GMT)
2.6

30 km
South Pacific Ocean, 70 km west of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile More
Feb 8, 2023 1:09 am (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 04:09 GMT)
3.6

248 km
220 km southeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 12:23 am (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 03:23 GMT)
3.0

126 km
80 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 11:58 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 02:58 GMT)
2.5

68 km
8.8 km northeast of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile More
Feb 7, 2023 11:54 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 02:54 GMT)
2.9

116 km
51 km northeast of San Felipe, Region de Valparaiso, Chile More
Feb 7, 2023 10:47 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 01:47 GMT)
2.5

108 km
51 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Feb 7, 2023 9:16 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 8, 2023 00:16 GMT)
2.7

99 km
23 km southwest of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 GMT (12 quakes)
Feb 7, 2023 8:12 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 7, 2023 23:12 GMT)
4.7

187 km
81 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 6:42 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 7, 2023 21:42 GMT)
3.0

44 km
41 km southwest of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 6:32 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 7, 2023 21:32 GMT)
3.1

46 km
South Pacific Ocean, 21 km west of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 4:17 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 7, 2023 19:17 GMT)
3.0

194 km
91 km northwest of San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca, Departamento de Capital, Catamarca, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 3:27 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 7, 2023 18:27 GMT)
3.0

247 km
176 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 3:12 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 7, 2023 18:12 GMT)
2.6

105 km
33 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Feb 7, 2023 8:12 am (GMT -6) (Feb 7, 2023 14:12 GMT)
4.4

10 km
South Pacific Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 11:02 am (GMT -3) (Feb 7, 2023 14:02 GMT)
3.1

116 km
33 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 10:02 am (GMT -3) (Feb 7, 2023 13:02 GMT)
2.7

98 km
79 km east of Pozo Almonte, Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, Chile More
Feb 7, 2023 9:33 am (GMT -3) (Feb 7, 2023 12:33 GMT)
2.5

99 km
130 km southeast of La Tirana, Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, Chile More
Feb 7, 2023 7:54 am (GMT -3) (Feb 7, 2023 10:54 GMT)
3.0

120 km
143 km southeast of Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 7:22 am (GMT -3) (Feb 7, 2023 10:22 GMT)
4.2

133 km
115 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 1012 joules (367 megawatt hours, equivalent to 315 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Tololo Observatory, Vicuna, Chile (GO04/C network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Tololo Observatory, Vicuna, Chile: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Chile Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Chile?

The last earthquake in Chile occurred 1 hour and 45 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.6 earthquake - 87 km east of Antofagasta, Chile, on Thursday, Feb 9, 2023 at 3:35 am (GMT -3).

How many quakes were there in Chile in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Chile had 48 quakes up to magnitude 4.7.

What was the strongest quake in Chile in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Chile in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 9 hours ago: Light mag. 4.7 earthquake - 81 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina, on Tuesday, Feb 7, 2023 at 8:12 pm (GMT -3).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings