Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near China in the past 48 hours on Thursday, February 9, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 9, 2023 09:23 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 6 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 44 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 15 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
A moderate magnitude 4.8 earthquake occurred in Philippine Sea, Taiwan, 23 hours ago.Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 4 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 1.9 or higher (65 out of 75 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, February 9, 2023 GMT (7 quakes)
Feb 9, 2023 1:48 pm (GMT +6) (Feb 9, 2023 07:48 GMT)
1.9

10 km
49 km east of Ekibastuz, Pavlodar Region, Kazakhstan More
Feb 9, 2023 12:52 pm (GMT +5:30) (Feb 9, 2023 07:22 GMT)
3.0

10 km
31 km west of Nongstoin, West Khasi Hills, Meghalaya, India
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 4:19 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 9, 2023 07:19 GMT)
3.7

10 km
19 km east of Kumamoto, Prefectura de Kumamoto, Japan
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 9, 2023 2:59 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 9, 2023 05:59 GMT)
2.8

10.3 km
24 km southeast of Minato, Wakayama Shi, Japan More
Feb 9, 2023 1:20 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 9, 2023 05:20 GMT)
2.9

7 km
Philippine Sea, 15 km north of Daet, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 1:01 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 9, 2023 04:01 GMT)
2.8

38 km
Philippine Sea, 123 km southeast of Nichinan, Miyazaki, Japan More
Feb 9, 2023 8:36 am (GMT +8) (Feb 9, 2023 00:36 GMT)
2.5

27 km
20 km southeast of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines More
Wednesday, February 8, 2023 GMT (26 quakes)
Feb 9, 2023 6:10 am (GMT +7) (Feb 8, 2023 23:10 GMT)
4.5

10 km
58 km west of Quảng Ngãi, Quảng Ngãi Province, Vietnam
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 5:49 am (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 21:49 GMT)
2.5

4 km
South China Sea, 62 km north of Claveria, Cagayan, Philippines More
Feb 9, 2023 5:32 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 20:32 GMT)
3.2

150 km
East China Sea, 40 km south of Makurazaki, Kagoshima, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 4:21 am (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 20:21 GMT)
2.4

17 km
South China Sea, 107 km northwest of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines More
Feb 9, 2023 4:05 am (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 20:05 GMT)
2.2

1 km
South China Sea, 71 km north of Laoag, Province of Ilocos Norte, Philippines More
Feb 9, 2023 4:03 am (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 20:03 GMT)
2.0

9 km
5.8 km north of Bantay, Province of Abra, Cordillera, Philippines More
Feb 9, 2023 3:57 am (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 19:57 GMT)
2.5

16 km
South China Sea, 30 km west of San Fernando, Philippines More
Feb 9, 2023 3:09 am (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 19:09 GMT)
2.7

1 km
South China Sea, 94 km northwest of Aparri, Cagayan, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 11:45 pm (GMT +5:30) (Feb 8, 2023 18:15 GMT)
2.7

10 km
India, 96 km southwest of Hakha, Chin State, Myanmar (Burma) More
Feb 8, 2023 11:31 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 15:31 GMT)
2.8

22 km
Sulu Sea, 31 km northwest of Sipalay, Philippines More
Feb 8, 2023 9:27 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 13:27 GMT)
3.4

8 km
34 km north of Ormoc, Province of Leyte, Eastern Visayas, Philippines
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Feb 8, 2023 8:40 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 12:40 GMT)
2.1

1 km
2.7 km southeast of Canlaon City, Philippines More
Feb 8, 2023 6:49 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 10:49 GMT)
4.8

31 km
Philippine Sea, 67 km south of Hualien City, Taiwan
I FELT IT - 5 reports
More
Feb 8, 2023 6:02 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 09:02 GMT)
2.5

9.4 km
7.1 km southeast of Kumamoto, Prefectura de Kumamoto, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 4:18 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 08:18 GMT)
3.2

5 km
25 km southeast of Batac City, Province of Ilocos Norte, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 3:14 pm (GMT +7) (Feb 8, 2023 08:14 GMT)
?

n/a
69 km southeast of Bograd, Khakasiya Republic, Russia (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 4 reports
More
Feb 8, 2023 3:36 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 07:36 GMT)
3.4

6 km
7.6 km west of Carigara, Province of Leyte, Eastern Visayas, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 12:45 pm (GMT +5:30) (Feb 8, 2023 07:15 GMT)
3.3

10 km
Telangana, 24 km north of Kurnool, Andhra Pradesh, India
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 2:45 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 06:45 GMT)
2.3

9 km
Philippine Sea, 5.4 km southwest of Del Gallego, Philippines 1 reportMore
Feb 8, 2023 3:13 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 06:13 GMT)
2.8

32 km
Philippine Sea, 37 km east of Nobeoka, Miyazaki, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 1:58 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 05:58 GMT)
2.3

12 km
Philippine Sea, 59 km east of Sorsogon, Bicol, Philippines More
Feb 8, 2023 1:54 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 05:54 GMT)
2.8

4 km
Philippine Sea, 25 km north of Daet, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 10:33 am (GMT +5:30) (Feb 8, 2023 05:03 GMT)
2.2

5 km
17 km south of Rohtak, Haryana, India More
Feb 8, 2023 10:52 am (GMT +8) (Feb 8, 2023 02:52 GMT)
2.1

10 km
China: TAJIKISTAN-XINJIANG BORDER REGION More
Feb 8, 2023 11:47 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 02:47 GMT)
2.6

21 km
East China Sea, 81 km southwest of Nishinoomote, Kagoshima, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 7:34 am (GMT +7) (Feb 8, 2023 00:34 GMT)
?

n/a
Near Mezhdurechensk, Kemerovo Oblast (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 GMT (32 quakes)
Feb 8, 2023 4:57 am (GMT +5:30) (Feb 7, 2023 23:27 GMT)
4.3

10 km
Laccadive Sea, 249 km west of Mangalore, Dakshin Kannad, Karnataka, India
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 7:27 am (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 23:27 GMT)
2.2

21 km
30 km northeast of Baguio City, Province of Benguet, Cordillera, Philippines More
Feb 8, 2023 7:35 am (GMT +9) (Feb 7, 2023 22:35 GMT)
2.7

72 km
East China Sea, 20 km north of Miyanoura, Kumage-gun, Kagoshima, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 4:01 am (GMT +6) (Feb 7, 2023 22:01 GMT)
2.2

5 km
14 km east of Lalmanir Hat, Lalmonirhat, Rangpur Division, Bangladesh More
Feb 8, 2023 5:48 am (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 21:48 GMT)
4.4

79 km
Philippine Sea, 8 km east of Yilan, Taiwan
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 8, 2023 6:47 am (GMT +9) (Feb 7, 2023 21:47 GMT)
2.6

41 km
Philippine Sea, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 5:39 am (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 21:39 GMT)
4.6

150 km
40 km southwest of Qilian, Haibei Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture, Qinghai, China
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 3:37 am (GMT +6) (Feb 7, 2023 21:37 GMT)
2.5

10 km
Jalal-Abad oblast, Kyrgyzstan, 17 km northeast of Qo‘rg‘ontepa, Uzbekistan More
Feb 8, 2023 5:28 am (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 21:28 GMT)
2.7

1 km
Philippine Sea, 77 km northeast of Dapa, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 5:18 am (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 21:18 GMT)
2.5

1 km
Philippine Sea, 80 km northeast of Dapa, Philippines More
Feb 8, 2023 3:39 am (GMT +6:30) (Feb 7, 2023 21:09 GMT)
2.3

5 km
Shan State, Thailand, 237 km east of Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar (Burma) More
Feb 8, 2023 3:20 am (GMT +6:30) (Feb 7, 2023 20:50 GMT)
2.4

2 km
Shan State, 260 km east of Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar (Burma) More
Feb 8, 2023 2:17 am (GMT +5:30) (Feb 7, 2023 20:47 GMT)
?

n/a
93 km east of Najafgarh, South West, Delhi, India (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Feb 8, 2023 2:16 am (GMT +6:30) (Feb 7, 2023 19:46 GMT)
2.0

5 km
Shan State, Myanmar (Burma), 74 km northeast of Mae Hong Son, Thailand More
Feb 8, 2023 3:02 am (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 19:02 GMT)
3.8

14 km
South China Sea, 91 km northwest of Aparri, Cagayan, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 2:14 am (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 18:14 GMT)
2.3

5 km
Bhutan More
Feb 8, 2023 2:09 am (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 18:09 GMT)
2.7

1 km
Philippines: 008 Km N 65° W of Dalupiri Island (Calayan) (Cagayan)
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 2:05 am (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 18:05 GMT)
2.7

15 km
Philippines: 015 Km S 22° E of San Luis (Aurora) More
Feb 8, 2023 1:40 am (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 17:40 GMT)
2.6

6 km
Philippines: 015 Km N 06° W of Carasi (Ilocos Norte)
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 12:37 am (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 16:37 GMT)
2.2

25 km
Philippines: 016 Km N 07° W of Tineg (Abra) More
Feb 7, 2023 11:47 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 15:47 GMT)
2.3

3 km
Philippines: 012 Km N 59° E of Vinzons (Camarines Norte) More
Feb 7, 2023 11:01 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 15:01 GMT)
2.2

99 km
Philippines: 020 Km S 73° W of Calatagan (Batangas) More
Feb 7, 2023 10:35 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 14:35 GMT)
3.2

12 km
Philippines: 002 Km S 44° E of Lagayan (Abra)
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 9:46 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 13:46 GMT)
4.8

10 km
Philippines: 015 Km N 87° E of Tinaga Island (Vinzons) (Camarines Norte)
I FELT IT - 24 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 9:42 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 13:42 GMT)
2.5

32 km
Philippines: 106 Km N 78° W of Badoc (Ilocos Norte) More
Feb 7, 2023 5:57 pm (GMT +5:30) (Feb 7, 2023 12:27 GMT)
?

n/a
Near Meerut, Uttar Pradesh, India (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 6:48 pm (GMT +6:30) (Feb 7, 2023 12:18 GMT)
2.9

2 km
Myanmar (Burma): Myanmar
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 8:11 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 12:11 GMT)
2.5

27 km
Philippines: 035 Km N 32° E of Tinaga Island (Vinzons) (Camarines Norte) More
Feb 7, 2023 5:01 pm (GMT +5) (Feb 7, 2023 12:01 GMT)
2.2

10 km
TAJIKISTAN More
Feb 7, 2023 8:42 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 7, 2023 11:42 GMT)
3.7

50 km
SOUTHWESTERN RYUKYU ISL., JAPAN
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 7:34 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 11:34 GMT)
2.3

18 km
Philippines: 019 Km N 47° E of Tinaga Island (Vinzons) (Camarines Norte) More
Feb 7, 2023 7:30 pm (GMT +8) (Feb 7, 2023 11:30 GMT)
2.4

7 km
Philippines: 009 Km S 45° E of Kabayan (Benguet) More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.4 x 1012 joules (949 megawatt hours, equivalent to 817 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Baijiatuan, Beijing, China (BJT/IC network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Baijiatuan, Beijing, China: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

China Earthquake FAQ

Which areas of China have the most earthquakes?

Southern and southwestern China are more prone to earthquakes than the rest of the country, because these areas are affected by the collision zone between the Indian subcontinent with Asia.
The parts that have most and China's largest quakes include Sichuan Province, Tibet, and Yunnan Province.

How many earthquakes happened in China?

Since 1900, China has had more than 800 larger earthquakes with magnitudes of 6 or higher.
China is one of the countries in the world that has most quakes. This is not only because of its sheer size, but due to its location at the continent-continent collision boundary between the Indian subcontinent and the Asian plate.

When was the latest earthquake in or near China?

The last earthquake in or near China occurred 1 hour and 36 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.9 earthquake - 49 km east of Ekibastuz, Pavlodar Region, Kazakhstan, on Thursday, Feb 9, 2023 at 1:48 pm (GMT +6).

How many quakes were there in or near China in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, China had 65 quakes up to magnitude 4.8.

What was the strongest quake in or near China in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in or near China in the past 48 hours occurred 23 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.8 earthquake - Philippine Sea, 67 km south of Hualien City, Taiwan, on Wednesday, Feb 8, 2023 at 6:49 pm (GMT +8).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings