Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Colombia in the past 48 hours on Thursday, September 29, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 17:23 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 32 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 86 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Colombia was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 9 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 32 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 86 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 1.9 | Departamento de Bolivar, 26 km NW of Barrancabermeja, Santander, Colombia -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.4 | Loreto, 244 km SE of Riobamba, Provincia del Chimborazo, Ecuador -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Colombia (updated )

Past 24 hours61 quakes | 14 quakes M2+ | 5 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 7 days433 quakes | 113 quakes M2+ | 17 quakes M3+ | 7 quakes M4+
Past 30 days1,727 quakes | 480 quakes M2+ | 78 quakes M3+ | 19 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days5,126 quakes | 1,580 quakes M2+ | 266 quakes M3+ | 69 quakes M4+ | 7 quakes M5+
Past 365 days11,916 quakes | 3,645 quakes M2+ | 714 quakes M3+ | 234 quakes M4+ | 18 quakes M5+ | 3 quakes M6+ | 1 quake M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Colombia | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.8 or higher (63 out of 130 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 29, 2022 GMT (25 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 11:24 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 16:24 GMT)
1.9

7.7 km
Departamento de Bolivar, 26 km northwest of Barrancabermeja, Santander, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 7:38 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 12:38 GMT)
2.1

67 km
12 km east of Puerto Boyaca, Puerto Boyacá, Boyaca, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 6:35 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 11:35 GMT)
2.7

40 km
35 km south of El Charco, Departamento de Nariño, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 5:31 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 10:31 GMT)
1.9

138 km
20 km north of San Gil, Santander, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 5:24 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 10:24 GMT)
1.9

115 km
24 km southwest of La Plata, Departamento del Huila, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 4:02 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 09:02 GMT)
2.2

137 km
24 km north of San Gil, Santander, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 3:41 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 08:41 GMT)
4.3

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, Panama
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 3:31 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 08:31 GMT)
2.0

122 km
14 km south of Bucaramanga, Santander, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 3:12 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 08:12 GMT)
2.4

129 km
5.2 km southwest of Chiquinquira, Boyaca, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 3:00 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 08:00 GMT)
1.8

141 km
13 km southwest of Bucaramanga, Santander, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 2:50 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 07:50 GMT)
2.0

125 km
Departamento del Cesar, 48 km south of Ocaña, Norte de Santander, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 2:44 am (GMT -4) (Sep 29, 2022 06:44 GMT)
2.1

10.8 km
33 km south of Valera, Trujillo, Venezuela More
Sep 29, 2022 1:26 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 06:26 GMT)
3.3

10 km
7.1 km southeast of Manta, Provincia de Manabi, Ecuador
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Sep 29, 2022 1:22 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 06:22 GMT)
1.8

105 km
Santander, 78 km northwest of Tunja, Boyaca, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 12:46 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 05:46 GMT)
2.0

137 km
22 km north of San Gil, Santander, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 12:25 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 05:25 GMT)
1.8

24 km
15 km southwest of Dabeiba, Antioquia, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 12:23 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 05:23 GMT)
1.9

97 km
19 km west of Roldanillo, Departamento del Valle del Cauca, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 12:03 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 05:03 GMT)
1.8

132 km
24 km north of San Gil, Santander, Colombia More
Sep 28, 2022 11:49 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 04:49 GMT)
2.1

112 km
17 km northeast of Barbosa, Santander, Colombia More
Sep 28, 2022 11:45 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 04:45 GMT)
2.2
Provincia de Sucumbios, 69 km southeast of Tulcan, Provincia del Carchi, Ecuador More
Sep 28, 2022 10:51 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 03:51 GMT)
3.0

105 km
30 km west of Santander de Quilichao, Departamento del Cauca, Colombia
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.1 x 1011 joules (171 megawatt hours, equivalent to 147 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: La Rusia, Boyaca, Colombia (RUS/CM network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station La Rusia, Boyaca, Colombia: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Colombia Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Colombia?

The last earthquake in Colombia occurred 59 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.9 earthquake - Departamento de Bolivar, 26 km northwest of Barrancabermeja, Santander, Colombia, on Thursday, Sep 29, 2022 at 11:24 am (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in Colombia in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Colombia had 63 quakes up to magnitude 4.4.

What was the strongest quake in Colombia in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Colombia in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 8 hours ago: Light mag. 4.4 earthquake - Loreto, 244 km southeast of Riobamba, Provincia del Chimborazo, Ecuador, on Wednesday, Sep 28, 2022 at 4:53 am (GMT -5).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings