Latest quakes in or near Crete (Greece) in the past 48 hours on Tuesday, August 9, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 9, 2022 01:40 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 13 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 3 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Crete (Greece) had 13 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 3 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.6 | Aegean Sea, 93 km SW of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece -

Strongest quake: Mag. 2.9 | Eastern Mediterranean, 76 km S of Mires, Heraklion Regional Unit, Crete, Greece -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Crete (Greece) (updated )

Past 24 hours:9 quakes | 7 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:67 quakes | 34 quakes M2+ | 10 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:538 quakes | 329 quakes M2+ | 64 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:1,288 quakes | 720 quakes M2+ | 131 quakes M3+ | 8 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:8,948 quakes | 3,875 quakes M2+ | 750 quakes M3+ | 52 quakes M4+ | 8 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (16 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 9, 2022 3:42 am (GMT +3) (Aug 9, 2022 00:42 GMT)
2.6

5 km
Aegean Sea, 93 km southwest of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Monday, August 8, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
Aug 9, 2022 2:56 am (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 23:56 GMT)
2.0

10 km
4 km west of Ierapetra, Lasithi, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 11:44 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 20:44 GMT)
1.8

15 km
22 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 10:06 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 19:06 GMT)
2.4

22 km
Eastern Mediterranean, Greece MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 9:25 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 18:25 GMT)
2.9

8.8 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 76 km south of Mires, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 5:34 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 14:34 GMT)
2.7

8.2 km
20 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 2:09 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 11:09 GMT)
1.7

9.8 km
21 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 11:49 am (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 08:49 GMT)
2.3

15 km
Greece: 10 Km NE From Arkalochori MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 6:42 am (GMT +3) (Aug 8, 2022 03:42 GMT)
2.8

12 km
22 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece 1 reportMoreMap
Sunday, August 7, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Aug 7, 2022 9:03 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 7, 2022 18:03 GMT)
2.5

21 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 79 km south of Mires, Greece MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 5:37 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 7, 2022 14:37 GMT)
2.6

11 km
Ionian Sea, 261 km southwest of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 11:47 am (GMT +2) (Aug 7, 2022 09:47 GMT)
2.9

8 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 78 km southeast of Ierapetra, Lasithi, Crete, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 11:28 am (GMT +3) (Aug 7, 2022 08:28 GMT)
2.9

7.4 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 47 km south of Pigadia, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 10:29 am (GMT +3) (Aug 7, 2022 07:29 GMT)
1.8

13 km
24 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 8:34 am (GMT +3) (Aug 7, 2022 05:34 GMT)
2.3

8.3 km
Aegean Sea, 49 km north of Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 5:53 am (GMT +3) (Aug 7, 2022 02:53 GMT)
2.1

5.5 km
21 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece 1 reportMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.1 x 109 joules (2.26 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.95 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Crete (Greece) Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Crete (Greece)?

The last earthquake in Crete (Greece) occurred 58 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.6 earthquake - Aegean Sea, 93 km southwest of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece, on Tuesday, Aug 9, 2022 at 3:42 am (GMT +3).

How many quakes were there in Crete (Greece) in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Crete (Greece) had 16 quakes up to magnitude 2.9.

What was the strongest quake in Crete (Greece) in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Crete (Greece) in the past 48 hours occurred 7 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.9 earthquake - Eastern Mediterranean, 76 km south of Mires, Greece, on Monday, Aug 8, 2022 at 9:25 pm (GMT +3).

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings