Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest earthquakes in the Dominican Republic

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 10:35 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 6 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3

Latest quake: Mag. 3.0 | Caribbean Sea, 127 km S of La Romana, Dominican Republic -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.8 | Provincia de La Altagracia, 15 km E of La Romana, Dominican Republic -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Dominican Republic (updated )

Past 24 hours6 quakes4 quakes M2+2 quakes M3+
Past 7 days22 quakes5 quakes M2+16 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 30 days75 quakes22 quakes M2+41 quakes M3+8 quakes M4+
Past 90 days222 quakes64 quakes M2+116 quakes M3+17 quakes M4+
Past 365 days792 quakes216 quakes M2+467 quakes M3+64 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Dominican Republic | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (10 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (5 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 4:54 am (GMT -4) (Jan 27, 2023 08:54 GMT)
3.0

22 km
Caribbean Sea, 127 km south of La Romana, Dominican Republic
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 4:31 am (GMT -4) (Jan 27, 2023 08:31 GMT)
3.2

27 km
Caribbean Sea, 21 km southwest of La Romana, Dominican Republic
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 11:25 pm (GMT -4) (Jan 27, 2023 03:25 GMT)
3.4

157 km
Caribbean Sea, Dominican Republic, 90 km west of Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 10:19 pm (GMT -4) (Jan 27, 2023 02:19 GMT)
3.4

98 km
Caribbean Sea, Dominican Republic, 90 km west of Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 9:20 pm (GMT -4) (Jan 27, 2023 01:20 GMT)
2.7

23 km
Caribbean Sea, 37 km southwest of Mayaguez, Mayagüez Barrio-Pueblo, Puerto Rico More
Thursday, January 26, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 26, 2023 5:25 pm (GMT -4) (Jan 26, 2023 21:25 GMT)
2.8

16 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 47 km northwest of Mayaguez, Puerto Rico More
Jan 26, 2023 5:25 pm (GMT -4) (Jan 26, 2023 21:25 GMT)
2.8

16 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 47 km northwest of Mayaguez, Puerto Rico More
Jan 26, 2023 5:25 pm (GMT -4) (Jan 26, 2023 21:25 GMT)
2.8

16 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 47 km northwest of Mayaguez, Puerto Rico More
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Jan 25, 2023 6:52 pm (GMT -4) (Jan 25, 2023 22:52 GMT)
3.0

5 km
4 km southeast of Sabaneta, Provincia de Santiago Rodriguez, Dominican Republic
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 6:39 am (GMT -4) (Jan 25, 2023 10:39 GMT)
3.8

140 km
Provincia de La Altagracia, 15 km east of La Romana, Dominican Republic
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.9 x 1010 joules (16.4 megawatt hours, equivalent to 14.1 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Santo Domingo, DR (SDD/DR network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Santo Domingo, DR: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Dominican Republic Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Dominican Republic?

The last earthquake in Dominican Republic occurred 1 hour and 41 minutes ago: Weak mag. 3.0 earthquake - Caribbean Sea, 127 km south of La Romana, Dominican Republic, on Friday, Jan 27, 2023 at 4:54 am (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Dominican Republic in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Dominican Republic had 10 quakes up to magnitude 3.8.

What was the strongest quake in Dominican Republic in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Dominican Republic in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 24 hours ago: Minor mag. 3.8 earthquake - Provincia de La Altagracia, 15 km east of La Romana, Dominican Republic, on Wednesday, Jan 25, 2023 at 6:39 am (GMT -4).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings