Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near France in the past 48 hours on Thursday, September 29, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 17:52 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 10 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 72 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, France had 10 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 72 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.2 | 12 km NE of Marathon, Var, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, France -

Strongest quake: Mag. 2.6 | 46 km S of Bordeaux, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, France -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near France (updated )

Past 24 hours36 quakes | 2 quakes M2+
Past 7 days287 quakes | 33 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days914 quakes | 91 quakes M2+ | 8 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 90 days2,196 quakes | 238 quakes M2+ | 16 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 365 days10,274 quakes | 1,120 quakes M2+ | 91 quakes M3+ | 10 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near France | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 1.2 or higher (67 out of 82 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 29, 2022 GMT (32 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 7:25 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 17:25 GMT)
2.2
12 km northeast of Marathon, Var, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, France More
Sep 29, 2022 5:42 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 15:42 GMT)
1.9

17 km
11 km south of Lavelanet, Ariège, Occitanie, France More
Sep 29, 2022 5:41 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 15:41 GMT)
1.8

6.8 km
11 km southeast of Besancon, France More
Sep 29, 2022 5:01 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 15:01 GMT)
1.5
15 km northeast of Belfort, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France More
Sep 29, 2022 3:04 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 13:04 GMT)
?

n/a
Bas-Rhin, France, 9.3 km west of Kehl, Germany (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 4 reports
More
Sep 29, 2022 3:02 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 13:02 GMT)
1.6

2.4 km
3.9 km southeast of Monthey, Valais, Switzerland More
Sep 29, 2022 1:24 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 11:24 GMT)
1.5
14 km south of Vesoul, Haute-Saône, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France More
Sep 29, 2022 1:16 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 11:16 GMT)
1.8
10.3 km southwest of Vitré, Ille-et-Vilaine, Bretagne, France More
Sep 29, 2022 1:13 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 11:13 GMT)
1.6
15 km northeast of Lorient, Morbihan, Bretagne, France More
Sep 29, 2022 1:04 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 11:04 GMT)
1.4

4.4 km
10 km west of Sion, Valais, Switzerland More
Sep 29, 2022 12:38 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 10:38 GMT)
1.8
16 km north of Perpignan, Pyrénées-Orientales, Occitanie, France More
Sep 29, 2022 12:16 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 10:16 GMT)
1.7
15 km east of Limoges, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, France More
Sep 29, 2022 12:16 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 10:16 GMT)
1.7
21 km northeast of Landerneau, Finistère, Bretagne, France More
Sep 29, 2022 12:15 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 10:15 GMT)
1.9
5.8 km southwest of Villedieu-les-Poêles, Manche, Normandy, France More
Sep 29, 2022 12:14 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 10:14 GMT)
1.4
France: Near Montbrison (quarry Blast) More
Sep 29, 2022 12:13 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 10:13 GMT)
1.5
12 km northwest of Vannes, Morbihan, Bretagne, France More
Sep 29, 2022 12:08 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 10:08 GMT)
1.9
15 km north of Les Sables d'Olonne, Vendee, Pays de la Loire, France More
Sep 29, 2022 11:56 am (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 09:56 GMT)
1.5
10.8 km northwest of Mâcon, Saône-et-Loire, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France More
Sep 29, 2022 11:55 am (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 09:55 GMT)
1.7
0.2 km east of Vertou, Loire-Atlantique, Pays de la Loire, France More
Sep 29, 2022 11:53 am (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 09:53 GMT)
1.2
France: Near Vichy More
Sep 29, 2022 11:53 am (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 09:53 GMT)
1.5
0.7 km north of Saint-Laurent-de-la-Plaine, France More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3 x 109 joules (829 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.714 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Tunnel de Badole - Saint Sauveur en Rue, France (SSB/G network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Tunnel de Badole - Saint Sauveur en Rue, France: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

France Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in France?

The last earthquake in France occurred 27 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.2 earthquake - 12 km northeast of Marathon, Var, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, France, on Thursday, Sep 29, 2022 at 7:25 pm (GMT +2).

How many quakes were there in France in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, France had 67 quakes up to magnitude 2.6.

What was the strongest quake in France in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in France in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 8 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.6 earthquake - 46 km south of Bordeaux, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, France, on Wednesday, Sep 28, 2022 at 11:38 am (GMT +2).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings