Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Greece in the past 48 hours on Friday, December 2, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 13:41 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 69 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 52 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.3 | Aegean Sea, 66 km NW of Castro, Chios, North Aegean, Greece -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.6 | Aegean Sea, 36 km SW of Polichnitos, Lesvos, North Aegean, Greece -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Greece (updated )

Past 24 hours64 quakes33 quakes M2+4 quakes M3+
Past 7 days458 quakes234 quakes M2+26 quakes M3+6 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 30 days1,496 quakes606 quakes M2+87 quakes M3+7 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days4,710 quakes1,808 quakes M2+234 quakes M3+14 quakes M4+5 quakes M5+
Past 365 days24,842 quakes8,394 quakes M2+1,089 quakes M3+90 quakes M4+15 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Greece | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.1 or higher (66 out of 126 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (20 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 3:04 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 13:04 GMT)
2.3

13 km
Aegean Sea, 66 km northwest of Castro, Chios, North Aegean, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 2:11 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 12:11 GMT)
2.1

76 km
12 km northeast of Kozani, West Macedonia, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 2:10 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 12:10 GMT)
2.9

19 km
Ionian Sea, 17 km north of Zakynthos, Ionian Islands, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 12:12 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 10:12 GMT)
2.3

16 km
Aegean Sea, 32 km northwest of Chalcis, Euboea, Central Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 12:04 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 10:04 GMT)
2.0

10 km
Aegean Sea, 93 km southeast of Neapolis, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 11:59 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 09:59 GMT)
2.2

30 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 33 km southeast of Palaiochora, Chania, Crete, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 10:40 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 08:40 GMT)
2.2

12 km
Central Greece, 53 km northeast of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 8:29 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 06:29 GMT)
2.5

5 km
25 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 7:46 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 05:46 GMT)
2.2

10.8 km
Aegean Sea, 44 km southeast of Volos, Magnesia, Thessaly, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 7:00 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 05:00 GMT)
2.1

24 km
Ionian Sea, 299 km west of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 6:05 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 04:05 GMT)
2.3

12 km
Ionian Sea, 43 km southwest of Argostoli, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 5:59 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 03:59 GMT)
2.4

13 km
Aegean Sea, 89 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 5:25 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 03:25 GMT)
2.5

13 km
Ionian Sea, 24 km southeast of Corfu, Korfu, Ionian Islands, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 5:16 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 03:16 GMT)
2.5

10 km
Aegean Sea, 13 km south of Ios, Nomos Kykladon, South Aegean, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 4:15 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 02:15 GMT)
3.3

18 km
Aegean Sea, 85 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 4:00 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 02:00 GMT)
2.2

7.6 km
47 km southwest of Heraklion, Crete, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 2:50 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 00:50 GMT)
2.7

9.1 km
18 km west of Ioannina, Epirus, Greece
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 2:38 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 00:38 GMT)
2.4

12 km
Aegean Sea, 88 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 2:32 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 00:32 GMT)
2.2

17 km
Central Greece, 53 km northeast of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 2:26 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 00:26 GMT)
2.4

15 km
Aegean Sea, 88 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (26 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 1:02 am (GMT +2) (Dec 1, 2022 23:02 GMT)
2.7

31 km
Aegean Sea, 84 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.8 x 1010 joules (16.2 megawatt hours, equivalent to 13.9 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Timpagrande, Italy (TIP/MN network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Timpagrande, Italy: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Greece Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Greece?

The last earthquake in Greece occurred 37 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.3 earthquake - Aegean Sea, 66 km northwest of Castro, Chios, North Aegean, Greece, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 3:04 pm (GMT +2).

How many quakes were there in Greece in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Greece had 66 quakes up to magnitude 3.6.

What was the strongest quake in Greece in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Greece in the past 48 hours occurred 22 hours ago: Light mag. 3.6 earthquake - Aegean Sea, 36 km southwest of Polichnitos, Lesvos, North Aegean, Greece, on Thursday, Dec 1, 2022 at 5:13 pm (GMT +2).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings