Latest quakes in or near Guatemala in the past 48 hours on Thursday, August 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 18, 2022 02:28 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 48 hours, Guatemala was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 2 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 4 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.9 | 8.9 km NW of Esquipulas, Departamento de Chiquimula, Guatemala -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.6 | North Pacific Ocean, 59 km SW of San Salvador, El Salvador -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Guatemala (updated )

Past 24 hours:5 quakes | 4 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days:36 quakes | 17 quakes M2+ | 12 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:204 quakes | 80 quakes M2+ | 79 quakes M3+ | 28 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days:638 quakes | 276 quakes M2+ | 239 quakes M3+ | 66 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 365 days:1,696 quakes | 533 quakes M2+ | 782 quakes M3+ | 286 quakes M4+ | 10 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Guatemala | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (8 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Aug 17, 2022 7:14 am (GMT -6) (Aug 17, 2022 13:14 GMT)
2.9

5 km
8.9 km northwest of Esquipulas, Departamento de Chiquimula, Guatemala
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:31 am (GMT -6) (Aug 17, 2022 09:31 GMT)
2.8

44 km
North Pacific Ocean, 42 km south of Sonsonate, El Salvador MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 2:14 am (GMT -6) (Aug 17, 2022 08:14 GMT)
2.3

14 km
4.6 km southeast of Tacana, Tacaná, San Marcos, Guatemala MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 10:50 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 17, 2022 04:50 GMT)
2.5

33 km
North Pacific Ocean, 36 km south of Acajutla, El Salvador MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 9:59 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 17, 2022 03:59 GMT)
3.2

22 km
North Pacific Ocean, 55 km southwest of Retalhuleu, Guatemala
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 7:20 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 17, 2022 01:20 GMT)
4.1

123 km
North Pacific Ocean, 71 km southwest of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Aug 16, 2022 3:46 am (GMT -5) (Aug 16, 2022 08:46 GMT)
3.4

116 km
24 km west of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:44 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 16, 2022 03:44 GMT)
4.6

61 km
North Pacific Ocean, 59 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT - 31 reports
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.1 x 1011 joules (168 megawatt hours, equivalent to 145 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Guatemala Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Guatemala?

The last earthquake in Guatemala occurred 13 hours ago: Light mag. 2.9 earthquake - 8.9 km northwest of Esquipulas, Departamento de Chiquimula, Guatemala, on Wednesday, Aug 17, 2022 at 7:14 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Guatemala in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Guatemala had 8 quakes up to magnitude 4.6.

What was the strongest quake in Guatemala in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Guatemala in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 23 hours ago: Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 59 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador, on Monday, Aug 15, 2022 at 9:44 pm (GMT -6).

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings