Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Honduras in the past 48 hours on Thursday, September 29, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 17:58 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 5 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Honduras was shaken by 4 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 5 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 6 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 5 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 1.6 | 32 km N of Leon, Nicaragua -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.1 | North Pacific Ocean, 69 km SW of Usulutan, El Salvador -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Honduras (updated )

Past 24 hours12 quakes | 3 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 7 days97 quakes | 45 quakes M2+ | 28 quakes M3+ | 9 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 30 days537 quakes | 258 quakes M2+ | 95 quakes M3+ | 26 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+
Past 90 days1,059 quakes | 542 quakes M2+ | 223 quakes M3+ | 56 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+
Past 365 days2,885 quakes | 1,427 quakes M2+ | 801 quakes M3+ | 140 quakes M4+ | 10 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Honduras | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (21 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 29, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 4:47 am (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 10:47 GMT)
1.6

10 km
32 km north of Leon, Nicaragua More
Sep 28, 2022 10:53 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 04:53 GMT)
2.5

33 km
North Pacific Ocean, 65 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador More
Sep 28, 2022 10:43 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 04:43 GMT)
4.1

27 km
North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 10:27 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 04:27 GMT)
4.0

40 km
North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 10:27 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 04:27 GMT)
4.1

27 km
North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 7:56 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 01:56 GMT)
1.3

5 km
21 Km Al Suroeste De El Sauce, Nicaragua More
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 GMT (12 quakes)
Sep 28, 2022 3:25 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 28, 2022 21:25 GMT)
1.6

8 km
29 km north of Leon, Nicaragua More
Sep 28, 2022 3:15 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 28, 2022 21:15 GMT)
3.6

5 km
Santa Barbara, 46 km west of Cofradia, Honduras
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 3:14 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 28, 2022 21:14 GMT)
3.9

5 km
27 km east of Puerto Barrios, Departamento de Izabal, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 1:40 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 28, 2022 19:40 GMT)
2.9

22 km
North Pacific Ocean, 82 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador More
Sep 28, 2022 12:30 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 28, 2022 18:30 GMT)
4.0

34 km
North Pacific Ocean, 67 km west of El Viejo, Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 11:22 am (GMT -6) (Sep 28, 2022 17:22 GMT)
2.8

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 67 km southwest of Sonsonate, El Salvador More
Sep 28, 2022 10:31 am (GMT -6) (Sep 28, 2022 16:31 GMT)
2.7

34 km
North Pacific Ocean, 98 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Sep 28, 2022 5:07 am (GMT -6) (Sep 28, 2022 11:07 GMT)
1.5

5 km
Departamento de Leon, 24 km northeast of Chichigalpa, Chinandega, Nicaragua More
Sep 28, 2022 5:01 am (GMT -6) (Sep 28, 2022 11:01 GMT)
1.6

6 km
22 km northeast of Chichigalpa, Chinandega, Nicaragua More
Sep 28, 2022 4:53 am (GMT -6) (Sep 28, 2022 10:53 GMT)
2.0

5 km
Departamento de Leon, 23 km northeast of Chichigalpa, Chinandega, Nicaragua More
Sep 28, 2022 2:22 am (GMT -6) (Sep 28, 2022 08:22 GMT)
2.0

5 km
Guatemala, 22 km northwest of Santa Ana, El Salvador More
Sep 27, 2022 7:43 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 28, 2022 01:43 GMT)
?

n/a
93 km northwest of Tegucigalpa, Honduras (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Sep 27, 2022 4:21 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 27, 2022 22:21 GMT)
3.0

24 km
North Pacific Ocean, 44 km southwest of Acajutla, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Sep 27, 2022 1:43 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 27, 2022 19:43 GMT)
3.0

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 92 km southeast of San Jose, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Sep 27, 2022 1:08 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 27, 2022 19:08 GMT)
3.7

24 km
North Pacific Ocean, 42 km southwest of Acajutla, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4 x 1011 joules (110 megawatt hours, equivalent to 94.4 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Tegucigalpa, Honduras (TGUH/CU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Tegucigalpa, Honduras: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Honduras Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Honduras?

The last earthquake in Honduras occurred 7 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.6 earthquake - 32 km north of Leon, Nicaragua, on Thursday, Sep 29, 2022 at 4:47 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Honduras in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Honduras had 21 quakes up to magnitude 4.1.

What was the strongest quake in Honduras in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Honduras in the past 48 hours occurred 13 hours ago: Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador, on Wednesday, Sep 28, 2022 at 10:43 pm (GMT -6).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings