Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near India in the past 48 hours on Friday, December 2, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 12:46 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 1 quake between magnitude 2 and 3

Latest quake: Mag. 2.8 | 87 km E of Shimla, Himachal Pradesh, India -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.7 | Madhya Pradesh, 37 km NE of Bārān, Baran, Rajasthan, India -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near India (updated )

Past 24 hours4 quakes1 quake M2+3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days26 quakes11 quakes M2+6 quakes M3+8 quakes M4+
Past 30 days128 quakes30 quakes M2+46 quakes M3+43 quakes M4+3 quakes M5+
Past 90 days449 quakes110 quakes M2+151 quakes M3+156 quakes M4+6 quakes M5+
Past 365 days2,376 quakes573 quakes M2+847 quakes M3+868 quakes M4+27 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near India | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (7 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 5:44 pm (GMT +5:30) (Dec 2, 2022 12:14 GMT)
?

n/a
14 km west of Delhi, India (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 2, 2022 11:03 am (GMT +5:30) (Dec 2, 2022 05:33 GMT)
2.8

5 km
87 km east of Shimla, Himachal Pradesh, India
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 9:02 am (GMT +5:30) (Dec 2, 2022 03:32 GMT)
?

n/a
52 km south of Asansol, Paschim Bardhaman, West Bengal, India (unconfirmed) 4 reportsMore
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 2:02 am (GMT +5) (Dec 1, 2022 21:02 GMT)
3.2

10 km
Azad Kashmir, Pakistan, 36 km southwest of Bāramūla, Kashmir North, India
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 8:17 pm (GMT +5:30) (Dec 1, 2022 14:47 GMT)
3.1

3 km
Gujarat, 34 km east of Āmli, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, India
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 8:09 pm (GMT +5:30) (Dec 1, 2022 14:39 GMT)
3.3

5 km
19 km northwest of Nashik, Maharashtra, India
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 1:26 pm (GMT +5:30) (Dec 1, 2022 07:56 GMT)
4.7

130 km
Madhya Pradesh, 37 km northeast of Bārān, Baran, Rajasthan, India
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.2 x 1011 joules (200 megawatt hours, equivalent to 172 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Kakani, Nepal (KKN/NK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Kakani, Nepal: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

India Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in India?

The last earthquake in India occurred 7 hours ago: Light mag. 2.8 earthquake - 87 km east of Shimla, Himachal Pradesh, India, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 11:03 am (GMT +5:30).

How many quakes were there in India in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, India had 7 quakes up to magnitude 4.7.

What was the strongest quake in India in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in India in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 5 hours ago: Light mag. 4.7 earthquake - Madhya Pradesh, 37 km northeast of Bārān, Baran, Rajasthan, India, on Thursday, Dec 1, 2022 at 1:26 pm (GMT +5:30).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings