Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Indonesia in the past 48 hours on Friday, January 27, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 10:33 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 22 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 47 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 25 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3

Latest quake: Mag. 2.8 | 53 km E of Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.7 | Molucca Sea, 282 km NE of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Indonesia (updated )

Past 24 hours47 quakes11 quakes M2+25 quakes M3+11 quakes M4+
Past 7 days334 quakes79 quakes M2+151 quakes M3+92 quakes M4+11 quakes M5+
Past 30 days1,193 quakes305 quakes M2+575 quakes M3+275 quakes M4+26 quakes M5+2 quakes M6+2 quakes M7+
Past 90 days3,106 quakes914 quakes M2+1,489 quakes M3+611 quakes M4+61 quakes M5+6 quakes M6+2 quakes M7+
Past 365 days10,153 quakes2,659 quakes M2+5,089 quakes M3+2,155 quakes M4+193 quakes M5+17 quakes M6+2 quakes M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Indonesia | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3.1 or higher (69 out of 95 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (19 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 4:31 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 27, 2023 08:31 GMT)
2.8

10 km
53 km east of Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia More
Jan 27, 2023 2:12 pm (GMT +7) (Jan 27, 2023 07:12 GMT)
4.3

174 km
37 km northeast of Padangsidempuan, North Sumatra, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 3:07 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 27, 2023 07:07 GMT)
2.8

10 km
70 km northeast of Luwuk, Kabupaten Banggai, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia More
Jan 27, 2023 3:06 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 27, 2023 07:06 GMT)
4.1

15 km
Philippine Sea, Indonesia, 189 km southeast of General Santos City, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 3:24 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 27, 2023 06:24 GMT)
3.3

10 km
Molucca Sea, 153 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 1:20 pm (GMT +7) (Jan 27, 2023 06:20 GMT)
3.3

10 km
33 km north of Padangsidempuan, North Sumatra, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 2:14 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 27, 2023 06:14 GMT)
2.7

27 km
78 km northeast of Luwuk, Kabupaten Banggai, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia More
Jan 27, 2023 2:10 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 27, 2023 06:10 GMT)
2.5

88 km
Lombok Island, 10.7 km northeast of Praya, Indonesia More
Jan 27, 2023 1:48 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 27, 2023 05:48 GMT)
3.3

34 km
53 km northwest of Pulau Sumba Island, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 2:35 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 27, 2023 05:35 GMT)
3.7

86 km
155 km west of Hollandia, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 12:12 pm (GMT +7) (Jan 27, 2023 05:12 GMT)
2.7

29 km
Indian Ocean, 98 km south of Bandung, West Java, Indonesia More
Jan 27, 2023 1:44 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 27, 2023 04:44 GMT)
3.4

10 km
Molucca Sea, 148 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 11:41 am (GMT +7) (Jan 27, 2023 04:41 GMT)
3.4

10 km
Indian Ocean, 171 km southeast of Yogyakarta, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 12:40 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 27, 2023 04:40 GMT)
3.9

128 km
Molucca Sea, 208 km northeast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 11:24 am (GMT +7) (Jan 27, 2023 04:24 GMT)
4.3

28 km
Indian Ocean, 56 km west of Sinabang, Kabupaten Simeulue, Aceh, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 10:47 am (GMT +7) (Jan 27, 2023 03:47 GMT)
3.5

10 km
Indian Ocean, 152 km south of Blitar, East Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 9:11 am (GMT +7) (Jan 27, 2023 02:11 GMT)
4.2

10 km
Indian Ocean, 188 km southwest of Bandar Lampung, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 10:51 am (GMT +9) (Jan 27, 2023 01:51 GMT)
4.2

165 km
Banda Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 9:29 am (GMT +8) (Jan 27, 2023 01:29 GMT)
3.9

271 km
Flores Sea, 112 km northwest of Labuan Bajo, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, January 26, 2023 GMT (37 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 6:30 am (GMT +8) (Jan 26, 2023 22:30 GMT)
4.0

10 km
Molucca Sea, 253 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 7:20 am (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 22:20 GMT)
3.5

10 km
Molucca Sea, 142 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.8 x 1013 joules (7.78 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 6694 tons of TNT or 0.4 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Kuching (KSM/MY network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Kuching: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Indonesia Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Indonesia?

The last earthquake in Indonesia occurred 2 hours and 2 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.8 earthquake - 53 km east of Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia, on Friday, Jan 27, 2023 at 4:31 pm (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Indonesia in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Indonesia had 69 quakes up to magnitude 5.7.

What was the strongest quake in Indonesia in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Indonesia in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 6 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.7 earthquake - Molucca Sea, 282 km northeast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia, on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 1:23 pm (GMT +9).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings