Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Italy in the past 48 hours on Friday, December 2, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 12:43 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 26 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 77 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.9 | Adriatic Sea, 40 km N of Ancona, The Marches, Italy -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.5 | Tyrrhenian Sea, 75 km NW of Trapani, Sicily, Italy -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Italy (updated )

Past 24 hours52 quakes17 quakes M2+2 quakes M3+
Past 7 days259 quakes66 quakes M2+6 quakes M3+
Past 30 days1,472 quakes435 quakes M2+47 quakes M3+5 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 90 days3,343 quakes683 quakes M2+64 quakes M3+8 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Past 365 days11,381 quakes1,796 quakes M2+171 quakes M3+19 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Italy | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.4 or higher (67 out of 107 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (19 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 11:08 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 10:08 GMT)
1.9

10 km
Adriatic Sea, 40 km north of Ancona, The Marches, Italy More
Dec 2, 2022 10:39 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 09:39 GMT)
2.8

10 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 62 km northwest of Trapani, Sicily, Italy More
Dec 2, 2022 9:22 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 08:22 GMT)
2.7

10 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 70 km northwest of Trapani, Sicily, Italy More
Dec 2, 2022 8:12 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 07:12 GMT)
2.2

18 km
Adriatic Sea, 21 km northeast of Senigallia, Italy More
Dec 2, 2022 7:48 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 06:48 GMT)
2.4

10 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 64 km northwest of Trapani, Sicily, Italy More
Dec 2, 2022 7:21 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 06:21 GMT)
2.2

8.4 km
27 km southwest of Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena, Tuscany, Italy More
Dec 2, 2022 7:19 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 06:19 GMT)
1.7

9 km
Italy: Costa Marchigiana Anconetana (Ancona) More
Dec 2, 2022 7:08 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 06:08 GMT)
1.5

16 km
Italy: 6 Km NW Sersale (CZ) More
Dec 2, 2022 6:18 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 05:18 GMT)
2.1

9 km
Adriatic Sea, 24 km northeast of Senigallia, Italy More
Dec 2, 2022 6:18 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 05:18 GMT)
1.6

9.6 km
Italy: Costa Marchigiana Anconetana (Ancona) More
Dec 2, 2022 5:09 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 04:09 GMT)
1.7

10 km
Italy: Costa Marchigiana Anconetana (Ancona) More
Dec 2, 2022 4:55 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 03:55 GMT)
2.3

10 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 68 km northwest of Trapani, Sicily, Italy More
Dec 2, 2022 4:41 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 03:41 GMT)
1.8

8.9 km
3.3 km west of Storo, Province of Trente, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy More
Dec 2, 2022 3:26 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 02:26 GMT)
1.9

10 km
Adriatic Sea, 41 km north of Ancona, The Marches, Italy More
Dec 2, 2022 3:15 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 02:15 GMT)
1.7

10 km
Italy: Costa Marchigiana Pesarese (Pesaro-Urbino) More
Dec 2, 2022 3:14 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 02:14 GMT)
3.5

7 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 75 km northwest of Trapani, Sicily, Italy
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 3:13 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 02:13 GMT)
1.5

14 km
Italy: Costa Marchigiana Anconetana (Ancona) More
Dec 2, 2022 2:57 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 01:57 GMT)
1.7

18 km
Italy: 4 Km SE Cercemaggiore (CB) More
Dec 2, 2022 2:43 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 01:43 GMT)
2.6

8.4 km
Adriatic Sea, 21 km northeast of Senigallia, Italy
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (37 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 12:25 am (GMT +1) (Dec 1, 2022 23:25 GMT)
1.7

11 km
Italy: 6 Km NE Parenti (CS) More
Dec 2, 2022 12:18 am (GMT +1) (Dec 1, 2022 23:18 GMT)
2.9

27 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 67 km northwest of Trapani, Sicily, Italy More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.1 x 1010 joules (11.3 megawatt hours, equivalent to 9.76 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: L'Aquila, Italy (AQU/MN network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station L'Aquila, Italy: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Italy Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Italy?

The last earthquake in Italy occurred 2 hours and 35 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.9 earthquake - Adriatic Sea, 40 km north of Ancona, The Marches, Italy, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 11:08 am (GMT +1).

How many quakes were there in Italy in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Italy had 67 quakes up to magnitude 3.5.

What was the strongest quake in Italy in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Italy in the past 48 hours occurred 10 hours ago: Light mag. 3.5 earthquake - Tyrrhenian Sea, 75 km northwest of Trapani, Sicily, Italy, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 3:14 am (GMT +1).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings