Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Japan in the past 48 hours on Thursday, February 9, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 9, 2023 09:26 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 16 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 24 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
A light magnitude 4.2 earthquake occurred in Toyama, Japan, 14 hours ago.Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (44 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, February 9, 2023 GMT (9 quakes)
Feb 9, 2023 6:01 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 9, 2023 09:01 GMT)
3.8

105 km
27 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 4:19 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 9, 2023 07:19 GMT)
3.7

10 km
19 km east of Kumamoto, Prefectura de Kumamoto, Japan
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 9, 2023 4:15 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 9, 2023 07:15 GMT)
2.5

12 km
Japan Sea, 60 km northeast of Nanao, Ishikawa, Japan More
Feb 9, 2023 3:28 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 9, 2023 06:28 GMT)
2.5

43 km
North Pacific Ocean, 64 km east of Mito, Ibaraki, Japan More
Feb 9, 2023 2:59 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 9, 2023 05:59 GMT)
2.8

10.3 km
24 km southeast of Minato, Wakayama Shi, Japan More
Feb 9, 2023 2:28 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 9, 2023 05:28 GMT)
2.6

51 km
North Pacific Ocean, 87 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan More
Feb 9, 2023 1:01 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 9, 2023 04:01 GMT)
2.8

38 km
Philippine Sea, 123 km southeast of Nichinan, Miyazaki, Japan More
Feb 9, 2023 11:25 am (GMT +9) (Feb 9, 2023 02:25 GMT)
2.5

51 km
North Pacific Ocean, 89 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan More
Feb 9, 2023 11:23 am (GMT +9) (Feb 9, 2023 02:23 GMT)
2.5

79 km
North Pacific Ocean, 70 km east of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan More
Wednesday, February 8, 2023 GMT (24 quakes)
Feb 9, 2023 7:48 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 22:48 GMT)
2.5

39 km
North Pacific Ocean, 68 km east of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan More
Feb 9, 2023 7:07 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 22:07 GMT)
2.7

207 km
2.8 km southwest of Fujinomiya, Prefectura de Shizuoka, Japan More
Feb 9, 2023 5:51 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 20:51 GMT)
3.1

67 km
4 km east of Chiba, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 5:32 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 20:32 GMT)
3.2

150 km
East China Sea, 40 km south of Makurazaki, Kagoshima, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 4:54 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 19:54 GMT)
4.2

487 km
Toyama, 23 km northeast of Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 3:16 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 18:16 GMT)
3.9

46 km
North Pacific Ocean, 40 km southeast of Shizunai-furukawachō, Japan
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 9, 2023 12:33 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 15:33 GMT)
2.9

86 km
North Pacific Ocean, 22 km east of Hitachi, Ibaraki, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 11:37 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 14:37 GMT)
2.5

95 km
North Pacific Ocean, 67 km south of Tateyama, Chiba, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 9:30 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 12:30 GMT)
3.6

20 km
70 km south of Wakkanai, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 9:24 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 12:24 GMT)
2.9

48 km
North Pacific Ocean, 89 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 9:09 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 12:09 GMT)
2.9

16 km
Japan Sea, 87 km west of Kaminokuni, Hiyama-gun, Hokkaido, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 6:02 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 09:02 GMT)
2.5

9.4 km
7.1 km southeast of Kumamoto, Prefectura de Kumamoto, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 5:26 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 08:26 GMT)
3.0

12 km
Japan Sea, 90 km north of Toyama, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 5:18 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 08:18 GMT)
2.6

47 km
North Pacific Ocean, 94 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 3:39 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 06:39 GMT)
4.4

53 km
North Pacific Ocean, 41 km southwest of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 3:13 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 06:13 GMT)
2.8

32 km
Philippine Sea, 37 km east of Nobeoka, Miyazaki, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 11:50 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 02:50 GMT)
3.0

0.3 km
North Pacific Ocean, 96 km east of Namie, Futaba-gun, Fukushima, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 11:47 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 02:47 GMT)
2.6

21 km
East China Sea, 81 km southwest of Nishinoomote, Kagoshima, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 11:45 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 02:45 GMT)
3.3

174 km
Philippine Sea, 167 km southeast of Shizuoka, Prefectura de Shizuoka, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 11:44 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 02:44 GMT)
4.0

436 km
Philippine Sea, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 11:32 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 02:32 GMT)
2.5

45 km
North Pacific Ocean, 79 km south of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 10:08 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 01:08 GMT)
4.3

388 km
Philippine Sea, 151 km southeast of Tsu, Mie, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 9:11 am (GMT +9) (Feb 8, 2023 00:11 GMT)
3.1

48 km
North Pacific Ocean, 90 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 10:06 am (GMT +10) (Feb 8, 2023 00:06 GMT)
2.5

52 km
North Pacific Ocean, 74 km southeast of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan More
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 GMT (11 quakes)
Feb 8, 2023 8:24 am (GMT +9) (Feb 7, 2023 23:24 GMT)
3.0

140 km
Saitama, 33 km northwest of Tokyo, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 7:35 am (GMT +9) (Feb 7, 2023 22:35 GMT)
2.7

72 km
East China Sea, 20 km north of Miyanoura, Kumage-gun, Kagoshima, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 7:13 am (GMT +9) (Feb 7, 2023 22:13 GMT)
3.4

50 km
6.5 km northeast of Asahi, Chiba, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 6:47 am (GMT +9) (Feb 7, 2023 21:47 GMT)
2.6

41 km
Philippine Sea, Japan More
Feb 8, 2023 12:14 am (GMT +9) (Feb 7, 2023 15:14 GMT)
2.7

44 km
North Pacific Ocean, 84 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan More
Feb 7, 2023 10:36 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 7, 2023 13:36 GMT)
2.5

50 km
North Pacific Ocean, 96 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan More
Feb 7, 2023 11:07 pm (GMT +10) (Feb 7, 2023 13:07 GMT)
3.5

20 km
North Pacific Ocean, 63 km east of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 10:03 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 7, 2023 13:03 GMT)
2.8

81 km
North Pacific Ocean, 33 km east of Namie, Futaba-gun, Fukushima, Japan More
Feb 7, 2023 8:42 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 7, 2023 11:42 GMT)
3.7

50 km
East China Sea, 7.6 km southwest of Ishigaki, Okinawa, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 6:41 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 7, 2023 09:41 GMT)
3.9

110 km
31 km northwest of Mito, Ibaraki, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 6:41 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 7, 2023 09:41 GMT)
3.8

109 km
28 km northwest of Mito, Ibaraki, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.9 x 1011 joules (247 megawatt hours, equivalent to 212 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Ibaraki Yasato (JYT/JP network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Ibaraki Yasato: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Japan Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Japan?

The last earthquake in Japan occurred 25 minutes ago: Weak mag. 3.8 earthquake - 27 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan, on Thursday, Feb 9, 2023 at 6:01 pm (GMT +9).

How many quakes were there in Japan in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Japan had 44 quakes up to magnitude 4.4.

What was the strongest quake in Japan in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Japan in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 3 hours ago: Light mag. 4.4 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 41 km southwest of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan, on Wednesday, Feb 8, 2023 at 3:39 pm (GMT +9).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings