Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Kazakhstan in the past 48 hours on Tuesday, October 4, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 4, 2022 18:46 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 3 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Kazakhstan was shaken by 5 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 4 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 4 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 3 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.6 | 39 km E of Sayaq, Karaganda, Kazakhstan -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.8 | 60 km S of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Kazakhstan (updated )

Past 24 hours5 quakes | 1 quake M2+ | 2 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days49 quakes | 7 quakes M2+ | 20 quakes M3+ | 17 quakes M4+
Past 30 days397 quakes | 53 quakes M2+ | 182 quakes M3+ | 141 quakes M4+
Past 90 days1,122 quakes | 231 quakes M2+ | 444 quakes M3+ | 350 quakes M4+
Past 365 days4,438 quakes | 711 quakes M2+ | 1,947 quakes M3+ | 1,418 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Kazakhstan | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (16 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Oct 4, 2022 11:41 pm (GMT +6) (Oct 4, 2022 17:41 GMT)
3.6

10 km
39 km east of Sayaq, Karaganda, Kazakhstan
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 2:18 pm (GMT +6) (Oct 4, 2022 08:18 GMT)
1.4

10 km
CENTRAL KAZAKHSTAN More
Oct 4, 2022 12:09 pm (GMT +4) (Oct 4, 2022 08:09 GMT)
2.0

19 km
Samukh Rayon, 8.5 km east of Gjandzha, Ganja City, Azerbaijan More
Oct 4, 2022 12:34 pm (GMT +6) (Oct 4, 2022 06:34 GMT)
0.3

10 km
EASTERN KAZAKHSTAN More
Oct 4, 2022 12:31 pm (GMT +6) (Oct 4, 2022 06:31 GMT)
4.2

1 km
25 km north of Urzhar, East Kazakhstan
I FELT IT
More
Monday, October 3, 2022 GMT (11 quakes)
Oct 4, 2022 3:11 am (GMT +5) (Oct 3, 2022 22:11 GMT)
3.4

10 km
24 km north of Novyy Turtkul’, Karakalpakstan, Uzbekistan
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 9:35 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 3, 2022 13:35 GMT)
3.5

10 km
37 km northeast of Hoxtolgay, Tacheng Diqu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 6:50 pm (GMT +6) (Oct 3, 2022 12:50 GMT)
2.0

10 km
61 km east of Talas, Kyrgyzstan More
Oct 3, 2022 5:34 pm (GMT +6) (Oct 3, 2022 11:34 GMT)
3.6

10 km
53 km east of Сарканд, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 3:57 pm (GMT +6) (Oct 3, 2022 09:57 GMT)
2.3

10 km
294 km northeast of Astana, Kazakhstan More
Oct 3, 2022 2:45 pm (GMT +6) (Oct 3, 2022 08:45 GMT)
2.3

10 km
Turkestan, 75 km north of Zhangatas, Zhambyl Oblysy, Kazakhstan More
Oct 3, 2022 2:04 pm (GMT +6) (Oct 3, 2022 08:04 GMT)
1.7

10 km
CENTRAL KAZAKHSTAN More
Oct 3, 2022 1:26 pm (GMT +6) (Oct 3, 2022 07:26 GMT)
4.0

10 km
8.2 km north of Georgievka, Zharma District, East Kazakhstan
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 1:52 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 3, 2022 05:52 GMT)
4.2

10 km
Kazakhstan, 40 km south of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 1:33 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 3, 2022 05:33 GMT)
4.7

10 km
Kazakhstan, 18 km south of Bole, Bortala Mongol Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 1:22 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 3, 2022 05:22 GMT)
4.8

10 km
60 km south of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.1 x 1012 joules (576 megawatt hours, equivalent to 496 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Manas, Kyrgyzstan (MNAS/KR network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Manas, Kyrgyzstan: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Kazakhstan Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Kazakhstan?

The last earthquake in Kazakhstan occurred 1 hour and 6 minutes ago: Light mag. 3.6 earthquake - 39 km east of Sayaq, Karaganda, Kazakhstan, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 11:41 pm (GMT +6).

How many quakes were there in Kazakhstan in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Kazakhstan had 16 quakes up to magnitude 4.8.

What was the strongest quake in Kazakhstan in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Kazakhstan in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 13 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.8 earthquake - 60 km south of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China, on Monday, Oct 3, 2022 at 1:22 pm (GMT +8).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings