Major earthquakes worldwide in the past 30 days - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 18, 2022 00:52 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 30 days:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 7
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 145 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
In the past 30 days, there were 1 quake of magnitude 7.0, 4 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, and 145 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.0 | South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.0 | Cordillera, 44 km E of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours:115 quakes | 88 quakes M3+ | 23 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+
Past 7 days:950 quakes | 705 quakes M3+ | 204 quakes M4+ | 39 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+
Past 30 days:4,784 quakes | 3,573 quakes M3+ | 1,061 quakes M4+ | 145 quakes M5+ | 4 quakes M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 90 days:14,749 quakes | 10,679 quakes M3+ | 3,657 quakes M4+ | 389 quakes M5+ | 22 quakes M6+ | 2 quakes M7+
Past 365 days:62,380 quakes | 45,561 quakes M3+ | 14,918 quakes M4+ | 1,767 quakes M5+ | 124 quakes M6+ | 10 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Hide 19 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 5 or higher (240 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Aug 17, 2022 19:04 GMT
Aug 18, 2022 7:04 am (GMT +12)
5.0

33 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Aug 17, 2022 12:56 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 8:56 pm (GMT +8)
5.5

488 km
Banda Sea, Indonesia, 173 km north of Delhi, Aveiro, Dili, Timor-Leste
I FELT IT
More
Aug 17, 2022 04:24 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 1:24 pm (GMT +9)
5.6

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Aug 17, 2022 02:00 GMT
Aug 16, 2022 6:00 pm (GMT -8)
5.0

33 km
183 mi southwest of Kodiak, Alaska, USA
I FELT IT
More
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
Aug 16, 2022 21:28 GMT
Aug 16, 2022 11:28 pm (GMT +2)
?

n/a
7 km east of Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 133 reports
More
Aug 16, 2022 17:25 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 3:25 am (GMT +10)
5.0

53 km
95 km northwest of Lae, Morobe Province, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Aug 16, 2022 16:34 GMT
Aug 16, 2022 7:34 pm (GMT +3)
4.0

9.8 km
Epirus, 38 km east of Paxos Island, Korfu, Ionian Islands, Greece
I FELT IT - 32 reports
More
Aug 16, 2022 12:54 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 12:54 am (GMT +12)
5.2

300 km
South Pacific Ocean, Bay of Plenty, 623 km north of Hicks Bay, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Aug 16, 2022 10:59 GMT
Aug 16, 2022 8:59 pm (GMT +10)
5.0

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, Russia
I FELT IT
More
Aug 16, 2022 10:39 GMT
Aug 16, 2022 8:39 pm (GMT +10)
5.1

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, 164 km southeast of Kuril'sk, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia
I FELT IT
More
Aug 16, 2022 08:34 GMT
Aug 16, 2022 7:34 pm (GMT +11)
5.0

35 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Caledonia
I FELT IT
More
Aug 16, 2022 07:09 GMT
Aug 16, 2022 5:09 pm (GMT +10)
5.5

12 km
South Pacific Ocean, Australia
I FELT IT
More
Aug 16, 2022 03:46 GMT
Aug 16, 2022 3:46 pm (GMT +12)
5.3

33 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Aug 16, 2022 03:44 GMT
Aug 15, 2022 9:44 pm (GMT -6)
4.6

61 km
North Pacific Ocean, 59 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT - 31 reports
More
Monday, August 15, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Aug 15, 2022 16:49 GMT
Aug 15, 2022 4:49 pm (GMT +0)
5.4

10 km
South Atlantic Ocean, 188 km northeast of Georgetown, Ascension, St. Helena
I FELT IT
More
Aug 15, 2022 16:35 GMT
Aug 15, 2022 10:35 pm (GMT +6)
5.5

25 km
165 km southwest of Nias Island, North Sumatra, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Aug 15, 2022 08:30 GMT
Aug 15, 2022 4:30 pm (GMT +8)
5.3

10 km
Qinghai, 125 km southwest of Zhangye, Gansu, China
I FELT IT
More
Aug 15, 2022 08:23 GMT
Aug 15, 2022 4:23 pm (GMT +8)
5.4

10 km
23 km northeast of Koronadal, Philippines
I FELT IT - 48 reports
More
Aug 15, 2022 03:54 GMT
Aug 14, 2022 3:54 pm (GMT -12)
5.3

33 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Aug 15, 2022 01:33 GMT
Aug 15, 2022 11:33 am (GMT +10)
5.1

64 km
90 km northeast of Lae, Morobe Province, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Sunday, August 14, 2022 GMT (17 quakes)
Aug 14, 2022 21:10 GMT
Aug 15, 2022 5:10 am (GMT +8)
5.0

10 km
Qinghai, China
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.4 x 1015 joules (1216 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1 x 106 tons of TNT or 65.4 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings