Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Mexico in the past 48 hours on Friday, January 27, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 10:45 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 8 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 46 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 22 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 25 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.0 | Departamento de Comayagua, 86 km N of Tegucigalpa, Honduras -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.4 | North Pacific Ocean, 132 km S of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Mexico (updated )

Past 24 hours44 quakes8 quakes M2+18 quakes M3+6 quakes M4+
Past 7 days412 quakes94 quakes M2+184 quakes M3+29 quakes M4+
Past 30 days1,656 quakes411 quakes M2+884 quakes M3+104 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 90 days4,278 quakes796 quakes M2+2,534 quakes M3+416 quakes M4+7 quakes M5+3 quakes M6+
Past 365 days15,856 quakes2,454 quakes M2+9,968 quakes M3+1,719 quakes M4+32 quakes M5+5 quakes M6+1 quake M7+

Quakes in or near Mexico | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 4 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (105 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (15 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 3:26 am (GMT -7) (Jan 27, 2023 10:26 GMT)
?

n/a
4.1 km northwest of San José del Cabo, Los Cabos, Baja California Sur, Mexico (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 27, 2023 3:53 am (GMT -6) (Jan 27, 2023 09:53 GMT)
3.0

2 km
Departamento de Comayagua, 86 km north of Tegucigalpa, Honduras
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 3:34 am (GMT -6) (Jan 27, 2023 09:34 GMT)
3.4

28 km
North Pacific Ocean, 74 km southwest of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 1:01 am (GMT -8) (Jan 27, 2023 09:01 GMT)
1.1

7.3 km
18km ESE of Julian, CA More
Jan 27, 2023 12:39 am (GMT -8) (Jan 27, 2023 08:39 GMT)
1.3

8.4 km
17km N of Ocotillo, CA More
Jan 27, 2023 12:49 am (GMT -6) (Jan 27, 2023 06:49 GMT)
2.1

9 km
26 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Jan 26, 2023 9:47 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 27, 2023 05:47 GMT)
0.9

10.4 km
25km SW of Ocotillo Wells, CA More
Jan 26, 2023 11:25 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 27, 2023 05:25 GMT)
4.2

61 km
North Pacific Ocean, 66 km west of Tapachula de Cordova y Ordoñez, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 10:47 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 27, 2023 04:47 GMT)
2.9

6.2 km
Texas, 48 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 7:59 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 27, 2023 03:59 GMT)
1.3

8 km
15km ESE of Ocotillo, CA More
Jan 26, 2023 8:41 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 27, 2023 02:41 GMT)
3.3

3 km
4.2 km south of Jalapa, Departamento de Jalapa, Guatemala
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 26, 2023 8:04 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 27, 2023 02:04 GMT)
1.7

9 km
15 Km Al Norte De Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Jan 26, 2023 4:45 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 27, 2023 00:45 GMT)
1.7

10.3 km
4km NNW of Pine Valley, CA More
Jan 26, 2023 6:27 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 27, 2023 00:27 GMT)
4.0

15 km
12 km west of Coatzacoalcos, Veracruz, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 6:13 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 27, 2023 00:13 GMT)
3.3

1 km
Departamento de Comayagua, 86 km north of Tegucigalpa, Honduras
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, January 26, 2023 GMT (62 quakes)
Jan 26, 2023 3:19 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 26, 2023 23:19 GMT)
1.1

6.2 km
19km ESE of Julian, CA More
Jan 26, 2023 4:53 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 22:53 GMT)
3.5

6.5 km
1.3 km northwest of Santiago Pinotepa Nacional, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 4:42 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 22:42 GMT)
3.4

42 km
36 km southeast of Petatlan, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 4:38 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 22:38 GMT)
3.8

5 km
9.5 km northeast of San Quintin, Ocosingo, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 4:28 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 22:28 GMT)
3.8

5 km
22 km south of Saltillo, Coahuila, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 2:16 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 26, 2023 22:16 GMT)
3.2

15 km
66 km north of Lazaro Cardenas, Ensenada Municipality, Baja California, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.7 x 1012 joules (470 megawatt hours, equivalent to 404 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: ZACATECAS (ZAIG/MX network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station ZACATECAS: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Mexico Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Mexico?

The last earthquake in Mexico occurred 52 minutes ago: Light mag. 3.0 earthquake - Departamento de Comayagua, 86 km north of Tegucigalpa, Honduras, on Friday, Jan 27, 2023 at 3:53 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Mexico in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Mexico had 105 quakes up to magnitude 4.4.

What was the strongest quake in Mexico in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Mexico in the past 48 hours occurred 17 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.4 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 132 km south of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico, on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 11:50 am (GMT -6).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings