Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Mexico in the past 48 hours on Friday, December 2, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 12:17 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 40 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 19 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 22 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | 16 km W of Guadalupe Victoria, Mexicali Municipality, Baja California, Mexico -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.4 | 47 km N of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Mexico (updated )

Past 24 hours39 quakes9 quakes M2+16 quakes M3+3 quakes M4+
Past 7 days306 quakes54 quakes M2+172 quakes M3+35 quakes M4+
Past 30 days1,363 quakes233 quakes M2+803 quakes M3+175 quakes M4+3 quakes M5+2 quakes M6+
Past 90 days4,034 quakes637 quakes M2+2,421 quakes M3+535 quakes M4+14 quakes M5+3 quakes M6+1 quake M7+
Past 365 days15,374 quakes2,153 quakes M2+9,809 quakes M3+1,826 quakes M4+37 quakes M5+5 quakes M6+1 quake M7+

Quakes in or near Mexico | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 4 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 1.9 or higher (71 out of 86 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 4:10 am (GMT -8) (Dec 2, 2022 12:10 GMT)
2.5

8.6 km
16 km west of Guadalupe Victoria, Mexicali Municipality, Baja California, Mexico More
Dec 2, 2022 3:01 am (GMT -7) (Dec 2, 2022 10:01 GMT)
?

n/a
44 mi west of Fortuna Foothills, Yuma County, Arizona, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Dec 2, 2022 2:59 am (GMT -6) (Dec 2, 2022 08:59 GMT)
4.4

166 km
47 km north of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 1:40 am (GMT -6) (Dec 2, 2022 07:40 GMT)
4.2

121 km
Guatemala, 20 km northeast of Maravilla Tenejapa, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (46 quakes)
Dec 1, 2022 4:27 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 1, 2022 22:27 GMT)
3.3

3 km
39 km northeast of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 2:22 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 1, 2022 22:22 GMT)
3.4

26 km
92 km southwest of Guadalupe Victoria, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 4:19 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 1, 2022 22:19 GMT)
3.9

3 km
1.4 km southwest of Los Reyes de Salgado, Michoacan, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 2:19 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 1, 2022 22:19 GMT)
3.2

7 km
North Pacific Ocean, 34 km southwest of Lazaro Cardenas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 2:18 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 1, 2022 22:18 GMT)
2.5

20 km
55 km west of San Felipe, Mexicali Municipality, Baja California, Mexico More
Dec 1, 2022 2:13 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 1, 2022 22:13 GMT)
3.4

22 km
North Pacific Ocean, 43 km northwest of Lazaro Cardenas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 4:09 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 1, 2022 22:09 GMT)
3.5

36 km
18 km west of Rio Grande, Villa de Tututepec de Melchor Ocampo, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 1:38 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 1, 2022 21:38 GMT)
3.7

11 km
North Pacific Ocean, 44 km northwest of Lazaro Cardenas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 2:31 pm (GMT -7) (Dec 1, 2022 21:31 GMT)
3.8

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 44 km south of Tecoman, Colima, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 2:56 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 1, 2022 20:56 GMT)
3.5

2 km
9.3 km west of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 2:50 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 1, 2022 20:50 GMT)
3.2

35 km
13 km south of Autlan de Navarro, Jalisco, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 2:39 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 1, 2022 20:39 GMT)
2.0

7.3 km
Texas, 49 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA More
Dec 1, 2022 2:37 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 1, 2022 20:37 GMT)
2.1

7.3 km
Texas, 49 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA More
Dec 1, 2022 2:25 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 1, 2022 20:25 GMT)
3.5

69 km
7.1 km east of Tecoman, Colima, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 2:06 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 1, 2022 20:06 GMT)
3.9

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 191 km southwest of Mapastepec, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 12:05 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 1, 2022 20:05 GMT)
3.6

11 km
North Pacific Ocean, 40 km northwest of Lazaro Cardenas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 11:43 am (GMT -8) (Dec 1, 2022 19:43 GMT)
3.5

21 km
North Pacific Ocean, 37 km west of Camalu, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.4 x 1012 joules (399 megawatt hours, equivalent to 343 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: ZACATECAS (ZAIG/MX network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station ZACATECAS: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Mexico Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Mexico?

The last earthquake in Mexico occurred 7 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.5 earthquake - 16 km west of Guadalupe Victoria, Mexicali Municipality, Baja California, Mexico, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 4:10 am (GMT -8).

How many quakes were there in Mexico in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Mexico had 71 quakes up to magnitude 4.4.

What was the strongest quake in Mexico in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Mexico in the past 48 hours occurred 3 hours ago: Light mag. 4.4 earthquake - 47 km north of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 2:59 am (GMT -6).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings