Latest earthquakes in Myanmar - list and map

Updated Aug 18, 2022 01:09 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 18 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 48 hours, Myanmar had 2 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 18 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.6 | 56 km S of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.9 | 49 km SE of Aizawl, Mizoram, India -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Myanmar (updated )

Past 24 hours:11 quakes | 11 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:56 quakes | 42 quakes M2+ | 8 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:650 quakes | 446 quakes M2+ | 128 quakes M3+ | 26 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days:1,316 quakes | 804 quakes M2+ | 257 quakes M3+ | 129 quakes M4+ | 8 quakes M5+
Past 365 days:2,359 quakes | 1,122 quakes M2+ | 564 quakes M3+ | 315 quakes M4+ | 17 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Myanmar | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (20 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 GMT (11 quakes)
Aug 18, 2022 6:25 am (GMT +6:30) (Aug 17, 2022 23:55 GMT)
2.6

3 km
56 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 4:38 am (GMT +6:30) (Aug 17, 2022 22:08 GMT)
2.2

1 km
52 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 4:09 am (GMT +6:30) (Aug 17, 2022 21:39 GMT)
2.4

1 km
50 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 3:18 am (GMT +6:30) (Aug 17, 2022 20:48 GMT)
2.5

1 km
47 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 1:43 am (GMT +6:30) (Aug 17, 2022 19:13 GMT)
2.5

2 km
46 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 1:19 am (GMT +6:30) (Aug 17, 2022 18:49 GMT)
2.2

10 km
99 km west of Tachilek, Tachileik District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 1:10 am (GMT +6:30) (Aug 17, 2022 18:40 GMT)
2.3

2 km
42 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 12:47 am (GMT +6:30) (Aug 17, 2022 18:17 GMT)
2.1

5 km
55 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 5:18 pm (GMT +6:30) (Aug 17, 2022 10:48 GMT)
2.5

3 km
52 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 10:25 am (GMT +6:30) (Aug 17, 2022 03:55 GMT)
2.9

1 km
49 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 7:53 am (GMT +6:30) (Aug 17, 2022 01:23 GMT)
2.6

3 km
40 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Aug 17, 2022 5:46 am (GMT +6:30) (Aug 16, 2022 23:16 GMT)
2.0

1 km
51 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 2:56 am (GMT +6:30) (Aug 16, 2022 20:26 GMT)
2.0

1 km
49 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 2:49 am (GMT +6:30) (Aug 16, 2022 20:19 GMT)
2.0

1 km
53 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 11:41 pm (GMT +6:30) (Aug 16, 2022 17:11 GMT)
2.3

2 km
55 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 7:30 pm (GMT +6:30) (Aug 16, 2022 13:00 GMT)
2.3

3 km
71 km east of Taunggyi, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 6:04 pm (GMT +6:30) (Aug 16, 2022 11:34 GMT)
2.5

2 km
48 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 12:41 pm (GMT +5:30) (Aug 16, 2022 07:11 GMT)
3.9

10 km
49 km southeast of Aizawl, Mizoram, India
I FELT IT - 9 reports
MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 12:28 pm (GMT +6:30) (Aug 16, 2022 05:58 GMT)
3.3

2 km
50 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 10:05 am (GMT +6:30) (Aug 16, 2022 03:35 GMT)
2.4

2 km
56 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.6 x 1010 joules (15.5 megawatt hours, equivalent to 13.3 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Myanmar Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Myanmar?

The last earthquake in Myanmar occurred 1 hour and 14 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.6 earthquake - 56 km south of Keng Tung, Kengtung District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma), on Thursday, Aug 18, 2022 at 6:25 am (GMT +6:30).

How many quakes were there in Myanmar in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Myanmar had 20 quakes up to magnitude 3.9.

What was the strongest quake in Myanmar in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Myanmar in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 18 hours ago: Moderate mag. 3.9 earthquake - 49 km southeast of Aizawl, Mizoram, India, on Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022 at 12:41 pm (GMT +5:30).

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings