Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Nevada in the past 48 hours on Thursday, September 29, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 18:45 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 47 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Nevada had 1 quake of magnitude 3.1 and 9 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 47 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 1.5 | 30 Km SSE of Mina, Nevada -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.1 | 44 mi SE of Hawthorne, Mineral County, Nevada, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Nevada (updated )

Past 24 hours24 quakes | 5 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days170 quakes | 22 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 30 days655 quakes | 93 quakes M2+ | 6 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 90 days2,189 quakes | 344 quakes M2+ | 31 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 365 days9,464 quakes | 1,340 quakes M2+ | 130 quakes M3+ | 10 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Nevada | USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (57 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 29, 2022 GMT (25 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 11:39 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 18:39 GMT)
1.5

6.9 km
30 Km SSE of Mina, Nevada More
Sep 29, 2022 8:00 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 15:00 GMT)
1.3

10.8 km
14km WSW of Searles Valley, CA More
Sep 29, 2022 7:22 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 14:22 GMT)
1.8

8.9 km
33 Km SE of Mina, Nevada More
Sep 29, 2022 7:12 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 14:12 GMT)
1.0

1.7 km
13km SSW of Olancha, CA More
Sep 29, 2022 7:11 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 14:11 GMT)
1.4

1.9 km
13km S of Olancha, CA More
Sep 29, 2022 4:57 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 11:57 GMT)
1.2

4.6 km
13 Km S of Gabbs, Nevada More
Sep 29, 2022 4:25 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 11:25 GMT)
1.5

0.1 km
18km NNE of Montecito, CA More
Sep 29, 2022 12:36 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 07:36 GMT)
0.7

0.1 km
54 Km WNW of Beatty, Nevada More
Sep 28, 2022 11:42 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 06:42 GMT)
1.5

1.9 km
13km S of Olancha, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 11:11 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 06:11 GMT)
0.9

5.4 km
17km WSW of Toms Place, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 11:11 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 06:11 GMT)
0.9

6.2 km
16km WSW of Toms Place, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 11:06 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 06:06 GMT)
0.6

8.8 km
11km SW of Searles Valley, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 10:58 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 05:58 GMT)
1.8

4.3 km
17km WSW of Toms Place, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 10:56 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 05:56 GMT)
0.2

4 km
12km ESE of Mammoth Lakes, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 10:56 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 05:56 GMT)
0.2

4 km
12km ESE of Mammoth Lakes, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 10:29 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 05:29 GMT)
1.2

5 km
15km SSW of Searles Valley, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 9:49 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 04:49 GMT)
2.3

8 km
39km WSW of Ludlow, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 9:30 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 04:30 GMT)
1.0

6.2 km
15km SSW of Searles Valley, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 9:30 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 04:30 GMT)
0.8

9.5 km
15km SSW of Searles Valley, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 9:10 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 04:10 GMT)
1.4

11 km
10km SW of Searles Valley, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 8:00 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 03:00 GMT)
3.1

9.3 km
44 mi southeast of Hawthorne, Mineral County, Nevada, USA
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.3 x 109 joules (1.19 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.02 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: NVAR Array Site 31, Mina, NV, USA (NV31/IM network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station NVAR Array Site 31, Mina, NV, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Nevada Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in or near Nevada?

The last earthquake in or near Nevada occurred 5 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.5 earthquake - 30 Km SSE of Mina, Nevada, on Thursday, Sep 29, 2022 at 11:39 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in or near Nevada in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Nevada, USA had 57 quakes up to magnitude 3.1.

What was the strongest quake in or near Nevada in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in or near Nevada in the past 48 hours occurred 16 hours ago: Light mag. 3.1 earthquake - 44 mi southeast of Hawthorne, Mineral County, Nevada, USA, on Wednesday, Sep 28, 2022 at 8:00 pm (GMT -7).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings