Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near New Zealand in the past 48 hours on Thursday, September 29, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 16:52 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 13 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 49 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 40 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, New Zealand was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 13 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 49 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 40 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | Tasman Sea, 47 km W of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.6 | South Pacific Ocean -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours53 quakes | 28 quakes M2+ | 7 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days324 quakes | 157 quakes M2+ | 38 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 30 days1,571 quakes | 726 quakes M2+ | 132 quakes M3+ | 29 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days4,693 quakes | 2,203 quakes M2+ | 358 quakes M3+ | 78 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+
Past 365 days18,686 quakes | 8,446 quakes M2+ | 1,482 quakes M3+ | 341 quakes M4+ | 22 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near New Zealand | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.1 or higher (57 out of 104 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 29, 2022 GMT (21 quakes)
Sep 30, 2022 5:40 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 16:40 GMT)
2.5

31 km
Tasman Sea, 47 km west of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Sep 30, 2022 5:21 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 16:21 GMT)
3.5

15 km
21 km northwest of Ashburton, Canterbury, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 30, 2022 5:13 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 16:13 GMT)
3.3

75 km
Tasman, 35 km southwest of Stoke, Nelson City, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 30, 2022 3:20 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 14:20 GMT)
2.1

37 km
37 km northwest of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Sep 30, 2022 2:18 am (GMT +12) (Sep 29, 2022 14:18 GMT)
4.6

300 km
South Pacific Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Sep 30, 2022 2:10 am (GMT +12) (Sep 29, 2022 14:10 GMT)
2.6

33 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand More
Sep 30, 2022 3:04 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 14:04 GMT)
2.4

174 km
South Pacific Ocean, 67 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Sep 30, 2022 1:40 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 12:40 GMT)
2.3

62 km
47 km north of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand More
Sep 30, 2022 12:37 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 11:37 GMT)
3.3

227 km
48 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 11:13 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 10:13 GMT)
2.8

5 km
South Pacific Ocean, 18 km south of Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 9:53 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 08:53 GMT)
2.3

147 km
22 km northwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 8:49 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 07:49 GMT)
2.7

108 km
38 km north of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 8:40 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 07:40 GMT)
2.6

44 km
Tasman, 93 km southwest of Nelson, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 8:33 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 07:33 GMT)
3.3

199 km
8 km north of Hawera, South Taranaki District, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 7:06 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 06:06 GMT)
2.1

17 km
22 km east of Wairoa, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 4:21 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 03:21 GMT)
?

n/a
0.7 km southeast of Auckland, akland, Auckland, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Sep 29, 2022 4:12 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 03:12 GMT)
2.6

28 km
56 km south of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 4:00 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 03:00 GMT)
2.4

63 km
North Island, 32 km south of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand 1 reportMore
Sep 29, 2022 2:09 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 01:09 GMT)
2.7

5 km
42 km south of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 1:17 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 00:17 GMT)
2.8

7.2 km
43 km south of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 1:07 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 00:07 GMT)
2.4

30 km
Canterbury, 204 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.8 x 1011 joules (216 megawatt hours, equivalent to 186 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

New Zealand Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in New Zealand?

The last earthquake in New Zealand occurred 12 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.5 earthquake - Tasman Sea, 47 km west of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, on Friday, Sep 30, 2022 at 5:40 am (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in New Zealand in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, New Zealand had 57 quakes up to magnitude 4.6.

What was the strongest quake in New Zealand in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in New Zealand in the past 48 hours occurred 2 hours and 35 minutes ago: Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean on Friday, Sep 30, 2022 at 2:18 am (GMT +12).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings