Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Nicaragua in the past 48 hours on Thursday, May 19, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 19, 2022 02:15 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 13 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 23 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 8 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Nicaragua was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 13 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 23 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 8 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.6 | North Pacific Ocean, 99 km SW of Corinto, Chinandega, Nicaragua -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.3 | 8.9 km E of Chinandega, Nicaragua -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Nicaragua (updated )

Past 24 hours:22 quakes | 11 quakes M2+ | 8 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:145 quakes | 81 quakes M2+ | 38 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:483 quakes | 230 quakes M2+ | 170 quakes M3+ | 29 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 90 days:1,052 quakes | 501 quakes M2+ | 324 quakes M3+ | 54 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 365 days:3,382 quakes | 1,474 quakes M2+ | 1,328 quakes M3+ | 223 quakes M4+ | 18 quakes M5+ | 4 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Nicaragua | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (46 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 GMT (23 quakes)
May 18, 2022 5:57 pm (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 23:57 GMT)
2.6

21 km
North Pacific Ocean, 99 km southwest of Corinto, Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 18, 2022 5:53 pm (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 23:53 GMT)
3.2

21 km
North Pacific Ocean, 95 km southwest of Corinto, Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 3:32 pm (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 21:32 GMT)
3.1

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 56 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 2:38 pm (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 20:38 GMT)
2.8

6 km
18 km east of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 9:33 am (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 15:33 GMT)
2.1

39 km
North Pacific Ocean, 79 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 18, 2022 6:49 am (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 12:49 GMT)
3.1

17 km
North Pacific Ocean, 125 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 5:22 am (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 11:22 GMT)
3.0

31 km
North Pacific Ocean, 96 km south of Leon, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 5:07 am (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 11:07 GMT)
2.9

68 km
North Pacific Ocean, 37 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 18, 2022 3:03 am (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 09:03 GMT)
2.8

34 km
North Pacific Ocean, 82 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 18, 2022 2:42 am (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 08:42 GMT)
2.3

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 63 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 18, 2022 1:15 am (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 07:15 GMT)
2.7

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 91 km south of Corinto, Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 18, 2022 12:09 am (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 06:09 GMT)
2.1

6 km
21 km northeast of Jinotega, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 18, 2022 12:04 am (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 06:04 GMT)
1.5

11 km
23 km northeast of Matagalpa, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 18, 2022 12:04 am (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 06:04 GMT)
1.9

10 km
19 km northeast of Jinotega, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 17, 2022 11:49 pm (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 05:49 GMT)
2.1

1 km
North Pacific Ocean, 40 km southwest of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 17, 2022 11:26 pm (GMT -6) (May 18, 2022 05:26 GMT)
2.5

35 km
19 km northwest of Canas, Cañas, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 1011 joules (106 megawatt hours, equivalent to 91 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Nicaragua Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Nicaragua?

The last earthquake in Nicaragua occurred 2 hours and 19 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.6 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 99 km southwest of Corinto, Chinandega, Nicaragua, on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at 5:57 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Nicaragua in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Nicaragua had 46 quakes up to magnitude 4.3.

What was the strongest quake in Nicaragua in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Nicaragua in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 22 hours ago: Light mag. 4.3 earthquake - 8.9 km east of Chinandega, Nicaragua, on Monday, May 16, 2022 at 9:56 pm (GMT -6).

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel