Latest quakes in or near Oklahoma, USA, in the past 48 hours on Thursday, August 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 18, 2022 01:51 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 6 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Oklahoma had 2 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 6 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.7 | 10 Km W of Lamont, Oklahoma -

Strongest quake: Mag. 2.7 | 29 mi NW of Ponca City, Kay County, Oklahoma, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Oklahoma, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:3 quakes
Past 7 days:26 quakes | 3 quakes M2+
Past 30 days:94 quakes | 11 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 90 days:282 quakes | 45 quakes M2+ | 7 quakes M3+
Past 365 days:1,350 quakes | 313 quakes M2+ | 30 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Oklahoma, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (8 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, August 18, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 17, 2022 7:41 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 18, 2022 00:41 GMT)
1.7

3.9 km
10 Km W of Lamont, Oklahoma MoreMap
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Aug 17, 2022 5:49 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 10:49 GMT)
1.9

7.4 km
6 Km NW of Medford, Oklahoma MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 9:27 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 02:27 GMT)
1.7

8 km
12 Km N of Alex, Oklahoma MoreMap
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Aug 16, 2022 12:27 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 16, 2022 17:27 GMT)
1.2
Quarry Blast - 5 Km NNE of Limestone, Oklahoma MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 11:25 am (GMT -5) (Aug 16, 2022 16:25 GMT)
2.7

4.8 km
29 mi northwest of Ponca City, Kay County, Oklahoma, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 11:04 am (GMT -5) (Aug 16, 2022 16:04 GMT)
1.2

7.9 km
5 Km ESE of Wayne, Oklahoma MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 4:29 am (GMT -5) (Aug 16, 2022 09:29 GMT)
2.1

14 km
18 mi southwest of Ardmore, Carter County, Oklahoma, USA MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 3:02 am (GMT -5) (Aug 16, 2022 08:02 GMT)
1.5

10.2 km
14 Km ENE of Leon, Oklahoma MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9.1 x 108 joules (252 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.216 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Oklahoma Earthquake FAQ

Why does Oklahoma have so many earthquakes recently?

Bar graph showing the number of M3+ Earthquakes in Oklahoma vs California from 1990 to 2019. California earthquake counts are shown as a blue bar and Oklahoma earthquake counts are shown as a red bar. (image: USGS)
Bar graph showing the number of M3+ Earthquakes in Oklahoma vs California from 1990 to 2019. California earthquake counts are shown as a blue bar and Oklahoma earthquake counts are shown as a red bar. (image: USGS)

Beginning in 2009, seismic activity in Oklahoma has been seeing a surge in seismicity. USGS published a statistics showing that during 2014-17, Oklahoma surpassed California in the number of quake of magnitude 3 and higher.
Most of the earthquakes in Oklahoma are caused, directly or indirectly, by oil and gas exploration. Although it does play a role, the process of fracking seems not to be the main culprit. According to USGS scientists, the vast majority of the recent quakes in Oklahoma were caused by the industrial practice​ known as "wastewater disposal".
During wastewater disposal fluid waste from oil and gas production is pumped deep underground at depths far below ground water or drinking water aquifers.
In Oklahoma over 90% of the wastewater that is injected comes as a byproduct of oil extraction process and not waste frack fluid. (Source: USGS)

When was the latest earthquake in Oklahoma?

The last earthquake in Oklahoma occurred 1 hour and 11 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.7 earthquake - 10 Km W of Lamont, Oklahoma, on Wednesday, Aug 17, 2022 at 7:41 pm (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in Oklahoma in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Oklahoma, USA had 8 quakes up to magnitude 2.7.

What was the strongest quake in Oklahoma in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Oklahoma in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 9 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.7 earthquake - 29 mi northwest of Ponca City, Kay County, Oklahoma, USA, on Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022 at 11:25 am (GMT -5).

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings