Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Panama in the past 48 hours on Friday, December 2, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 13:44 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 4 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.7 | 23 km S of Riosucio, Departamento del Choco, Colombia -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.1 | North Pacific Ocean, 92 km S of David, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Panama (updated )

Past 24 hours15 quakes5 quakes M2+5 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 7 days63 quakes32 quakes M2+16 quakes M3+4 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 30 days242 quakes95 quakes M2+81 quakes M3+17 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 90 days804 quakes267 quakes M2+327 quakes M3+65 quakes M4+3 quakes M5+1 quake M6+
Past 365 days2,196 quakes760 quakes M2+819 quakes M3+143 quakes M4+6 quakes M5+1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Panama | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (23 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (12 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 6:50 am (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2022 11:50 GMT)
3.7

14 km
23 km south of Riosucio, Departamento del Choco, Colombia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 4:06 am (GMT -6) (Dec 2, 2022 10:06 GMT)
2.2

3 km
Provincia de Cartago, 18 km southeast of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica More
Dec 2, 2022 4:16 am (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2022 09:16 GMT)
3.0

9.2 km
28 km south of Riosucio, Departamento del Choco, Colombia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 3:54 am (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2022 08:54 GMT)
2.6

12 km
Departamento del Choco, 74 km southwest of Chigorodo, Antioquia, Colombia More
Dec 2, 2022 3:43 am (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2022 08:43 GMT)
4.0

12 km
Departamento del Choco, 68 km southwest of Chigorodo, Antioquia, Colombia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 1:29 am (GMT -6) (Dec 2, 2022 07:29 GMT)
2.2

8 km
14 km south of Cartago, Costa Rica More
Dec 1, 2022 11:41 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2022 04:41 GMT)
1.5

17 km
Northern Colombia More
Dec 1, 2022 11:36 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2022 04:36 GMT)
3.1

37 km
North Pacific Ocean, 78 km south of Pedregal, Panama
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 10:14 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2022 03:14 GMT)
1.6

2.9 km
Panama-Colombia Border Region More
Dec 1, 2022 9:12 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2022 02:12 GMT)
2.0

37 km
Departamento del Choco, 79 km southwest of Apartado, Antioquia, Colombia More
Dec 1, 2022 8:50 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2022 01:50 GMT)
3.6

37 km
25 km south of Riosucio, Departamento del Choco, Colombia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 8:48 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2022 01:48 GMT)
4.7

56 km
Departamento del Choco, 46 km southwest of Chigorodo, Antioquia, Colombia
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Dec 1, 2022 12:38 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 1, 2022 18:38 GMT)
2.2

9 km
Provincia de San José, 21 km southwest of Cartago, Costa Rica More
Dec 1, 2022 1:24 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 1, 2022 18:24 GMT)
3.2

22 km
North Pacific Ocean, 114 km south of David, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 9:35 am (GMT -5) (Dec 1, 2022 14:35 GMT)
1.4

9.9 km
Northern Colombia More
Dec 1, 2022 8:30 am (GMT -5) (Dec 1, 2022 13:30 GMT)
5.1

38 km
North Pacific Ocean, 92 km south of David, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama
I FELT IT - 4 reports
More
Dec 1, 2022 8:11 am (GMT -5) (Dec 1, 2022 13:11 GMT)
2.3

15 km
6.5 km southwest of Frontino, Antioquia, Colombia More
Dec 1, 2022 3:30 am (GMT -5) (Dec 1, 2022 08:30 GMT)
2.7

12 km
8.9 km southwest of Concepcion, Bugaba District, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama More
Dec 1, 2022 3:18 am (GMT -5) (Dec 1, 2022 08:18 GMT)
2.8

5 km
18 km north of Pedasi, Provincia de Los Santos, Panama
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 2:21 am (GMT -5) (Dec 1, 2022 07:21 GMT)
4.1

10 km
Provincia de Herrera, 52 km southeast of Santiago, Provincia de Veraguas, Panama
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Nov 30, 2022 11:40 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 1, 2022 04:40 GMT)
2.4

16 km
Departamento del Choco, 37 km west of Dabeiba, Antioquia, Colombia More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 1012 joules (1.04 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 897 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Isla Barro Colorado, Panama (BCIP/CU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Isla Barro Colorado, Panama: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Panama Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Panama?

The last earthquake in Panama occurred 1 hour and 54 minutes ago: Light mag. 3.7 earthquake - 23 km south of Riosucio, Departamento del Choco, Colombia, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 6:50 am (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in Panama in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Panama had 23 quakes up to magnitude 5.1.

What was the strongest quake in Panama in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Panama in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 0 hours ago: Moderate mag. 5.1 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 92 km south of David, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama, on Thursday, Dec 1, 2022 at 8:30 am (GMT -5).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings