Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Peru in the past 48 hours on Wednesday, October 5, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 22:52 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
In the past 48 hours, Peru was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.8, 7 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, and 6 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 4.0 | Pasco, 76 km N of Santa Rosa, Chanchamayo, Junin, Peru -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.8 | 14 km E of Sullana, Piura, Peru -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Peru (updated )

Past 24 hours11 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 5 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 7 days36 quakes | 3 quakes M2+ | 12 quakes M3+ | 20 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 30 days94 quakes | 9 quakes M2+ | 32 quakes M3+ | 48 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+
Past 90 days331 quakes | 35 quakes M2+ | 146 quakes M3+ | 137 quakes M4+ | 10 quakes M5+
Past 365 days1,277 quakes | 140 quakes M2+ | 597 quakes M3+ | 491 quakes M4+ | 39 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+ | 2 quakes M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Peru | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (14 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 4:01 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 21:01 GMT)
4.0

24 km
Pasco, 76 km north of Santa Rosa, Chanchamayo, Junin, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 3:46 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 20:46 GMT)
4.3

160 km
60 km north of Pucallpa, Provincia de Coronel Portillo, Ucayali, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 11:04 am (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 16:04 GMT)
4.1

10 km
8.5 km west of Sullana, Piura, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 5:43 am (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 10:43 GMT)
3.7
7.4 km west of Sullana, Piura, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 5:30 am (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 10:30 GMT)
3.9

28 km
7.3 km southwest of Sullana, Piura, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 3:59 am (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 08:59 GMT)
3.7

10 km
4.9 km southwest of Sullana, Piura, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 3:49 am (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 08:49 GMT)
3.8

29 km
16 km west of Sullana, Piura, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 3:26 am (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 08:26 GMT)
5.8

48 km
14 km east of Sullana, Piura, Peru
I FELT IT - 72 reports
More
Oct 5, 2022 1:45 am (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 06:45 GMT)
4.0

17 km
63 km north of Tingo Maria, Huanuco, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 1:43 am (GMT -5) (Oct 5, 2022 06:43 GMT)
4.0

18 km
65 km north of Tingo Maria, Huanuco, Peru
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Oct 4, 2022 6:40 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 23:40 GMT)
3.7

23 km
19 km southeast of El Pedregal, Provincia de Caylloma, Arequipa, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 1:36 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 18:36 GMT)
4.0

30 km
South Pacific Ocean, 86 km southwest of Trujillo, La Libertad, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 2:31 am (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 07:31 GMT)
3.5

64 km
99 km southeast of Macas, Canton Morona, Provincia de Morona-Santiago, Ecuador
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 9:50 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 4, 2022 02:50 GMT)
4.5

46 km
South Pacific Ocean, 50 km west of Huarmey, Ancash, Peru
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.3 x 1013 joules (9.07 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 7804 tons of TNT or 0.5 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Nana, Peru (NNA/II network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Nana, Peru: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Peru Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Peru?

The last earthquake in Peru occurred 1 hour and 51 minutes ago: Light mag. 4.0 earthquake - Pasco, 76 km north of Santa Rosa, Chanchamayo, Junin, Peru, on Wednesday, Oct 5, 2022 at 4:01 pm (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in Peru in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Peru had 14 quakes up to magnitude 5.8.

What was the strongest quake in Peru in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Peru in the past 48 hours occurred 14 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.8 earthquake - 14 km east of Sullana, Piura, Peru, on Wednesday, Oct 5, 2022 at 3:26 am (GMT -5).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings