Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Portugal in the past 48 hours on Tuesday, February 7, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 7, 2023 04:15 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 6 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (13 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 6, 2023 11:25 pm (GMT -1) (Feb 7, 2023 00:25 GMT)
1.8

20 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 228 km south of Lissabon, Lisboa, Portugal More
Monday, February 6, 2023 GMT (8 quakes)
Feb 6, 2023 8:39 pm (GMT -1) (Feb 6, 2023 21:39 GMT)
2.4

5 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 28 km east of Praia da Vitoria, Azores, Portugal More
Feb 6, 2023 7:36 pm (GMT -1) (Feb 6, 2023 20:36 GMT)
1.6

9 km
Portugal: Gorringe More
Feb 6, 2023 4:08 pm (GMT -1) (Feb 6, 2023 17:08 GMT)
2.2
North Atlantic Ocean, 41 km east of Ponta Delgada, Azores, Portugal More
Feb 6, 2023 3:18 pm (GMT +1) (Feb 6, 2023 14:18 GMT)
1.5

1 km
Spain: NE Barrancos More
Feb 6, 2023 11:04 am (GMT -1) (Feb 6, 2023 12:04 GMT)
3.4

1 km
North Atlantic Ocean, Portugal
I FELT IT
More
Feb 6, 2023 7:35 am (GMT -1) (Feb 6, 2023 08:35 GMT)
2.3
North Atlantic Ocean, 65 km east of Ponta Delgada, Azores, Portugal More
Feb 6, 2023 6:18 am (GMT -1) (Feb 6, 2023 07:18 GMT)
2.0

30 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 58 km southeast of Faro, Portugal More
Feb 5, 2023 11:13 pm (GMT -1) (Feb 6, 2023 00:13 GMT)
0.8

14 km
Portugal: SW Cabo S.Vicente More
Sunday, February 5, 2023 GMT (4 quakes)
Feb 5, 2023 7:58 pm (GMT +1) (Feb 5, 2023 18:58 GMT)
1.8

31 km
26 km southeast of Ourense, Galicia, Spain More
Feb 5, 2023 8:44 am (GMT -1) (Feb 5, 2023 09:44 GMT)
2.0
North Atlantic Ocean, 30 km west of Ribeira Grande, Portugal More
Feb 5, 2023 8:18 am (GMT +1) (Feb 5, 2023 07:18 GMT)
2.0

22 km
Illa de Arousa, 6.8 km north of Pontevedra, Galicia, Spain More
Feb 5, 2023 6:48 am (GMT +0) (Feb 5, 2023 06:48 GMT)
1.8

20 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 40 km south of Portimao, Faro, Portugal More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.8 x 109 joules (2.45 megawatt hours, equivalent to 2.11 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: COIMBRA, PORTUGAL (COI/SS network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station COIMBRA, PORTUGAL: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Portugal Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Portugal?

The last earthquake in Portugal occurred 4 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.8 earthquake - North Atlantic Ocean, 228 km south of Lissabon, Lisboa, Portugal, on Monday, Feb 6, 2023 at 11:25 pm (GMT -1).

How many quakes were there in Portugal in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Portugal had 13 quakes up to magnitude 3.4.

What was the strongest quake in Portugal in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Portugal in the past 48 hours occurred 16 hours ago: Light mag. 3.4 earthquake - North Atlantic Ocean, Portugal, on Monday, Feb 6, 2023 at 11:04 am (GMT -1).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings