Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest earthquakes in the San Francisco Bay Area (past 30 days)

Latest quake today
See all
Mag. 0.5 Earthquake 13 Km ENE of Cloverdale, CA - 4 minutes ago
Strongest todayMag. 1.9 13 mi S of Hollister, California, USA - 12 hours ago
- past weekMag. 2.6 13 mi E of San Jose, California, USA - Nov 22, 2023 - 7 days ago
- past monthMag. 2.8 16 mi E of Soledad, California, USA - Nov 15, 2023 - 13 days ago
- past yearMag. 4.5 25 mi N of Santa Rosa, California, USA - Jun 3, 2023 - 26 weeks ago
Press to show more
Updated: Nov 29, 2023 05:09 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in San Francisco Bay Area, USA, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near San Francisco Bay Area, find out which quakes are happening right now!
Over the past 24 hours, San Francisco Bay Area has had 43 small quakes between magnitudes 1.0 and 1.9.
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
in sec
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (43 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, November 29, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Nov 28, 09:05 pm (Los Angeles)
(Nov 29, 05:05 GMT)
0.5

2.5 km
13 Km ENE of Cloverdale, CA More
Nov 28, 08:23 pm (Los Angeles)
(Nov 29, 03:23 GMT)
1.1

1.3 km
8 Km WNW of Cobb, CA More
Nov 28, 05:17 pm (Los Angeles)
(Nov 29, 01:17 GMT)
0.2

0.1 km
6 Km WNW of Cobb, CA More
Tuesday, November 28, 2023 GMT (40 quakes)
Nov 28, 04:04 pm (Los Angeles)
(Nov 28, 23:04 GMT)
1.1

0.1 km
6 Km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Nov 28, 03:03 pm (Los Angeles)
(Nov 28, 23:03 GMT)
1.0

0.1 km
6 Km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Nov 28, 02:48 pm (Los Angeles)
(Nov 28, 22:48 GMT)
1.1

0.4 km
6 Km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Nov 28, 03:19 pm (Los Angeles)
(Nov 28, 22:19 GMT)
0.8

1.8 km
8 Km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Nov 28, 02:01 pm (Los Angeles)
(Nov 28, 21:01 GMT)
1.0

0.4 km
1 Km NNE of The Geysers, CA More
Nov 28, 12:55 pm (Los Angeles)
(Nov 28, 19:55 GMT)
1.6

5.8 km
12 Km ENE of Yountville, CA More
Nov 28, 12:45 pm (Los Angeles)
(Nov 28, 19:45 GMT)
0.7

1.9 km
8 Km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Nov 28, 12:24 pm (Los Angeles)
(Nov 28, 19:24 GMT)
0.6

1.3 km
6 Km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 108 joules (36.2 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Quakes, magnitude and depth over time

Past 48 hrs
Past 7 days
14 days
30 days
1 year
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Marconi Conference Center, Marshall, CA, USA (MCCM/BK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Marconi Conference Center, Marshall, CA, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Quakes, magnitude and depth over time

Past 48 hrs
Past 7 days
14 days
30 days
1 year
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Number of recent quakes in San Francisco Bay Area, USA, by magnitude

Past 24 hours
7 days
30 days
90 days
365 days
Mag
 
Number of quakes (43 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
below M2
43 quakes
(100%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (290 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
2+
8 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (2.76%)
below M2
282 quakes
(97.24%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (1,216 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
2+
62 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (5.1%)
below M2
1,154 quakes
(94.9%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (3,538 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.11%)
3+
13 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (0.37%)
2+
184 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (5.2%)
below M2
3,337 quakes
(94.32%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (15,822 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
8 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.05%)
3+
67 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (0.42%)
2+
753 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (4.76%)
below M2
14,994 quakes
(94.77%)
Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 24 hours:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days

San Francisco Bay Area Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in San Francisco Bay Area?

The last earthquake in San Francisco Bay Area occurred 4 minutes ago: Minor mag. 0.5 earthquake - 13 Km ENE of Cloverdale, CA, on Tuesday, Nov 28, 2023 09:05 pm (Los Angeles time).

How many quakes were there in San Francisco Bay Area in the past 24 hours?

Over the past 24 hours, San Francisco Bay Area has had 43 small quakes between magnitudes 1.0 and 1.9.

What was the strongest quake in San Francisco Bay Area in the past 24 hours?

The strongest earthquake in San Francisco Bay Area in the past 24 hours occurred 12 hours ago: Weak mag. 1.9 earthquake - 13 mi south of Hollister, San Benito County, California, USA, on Tuesday, Nov 28, 2023 08:54 am (Los Angeles time).

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Stop Russia's Agression - Support Ukraine
Significant parts of this website use brilliant open-source software developed by Ukrainians. Russia's unprovoked war has killed tens of thousands, displaced millions, and the beautiful country of Ukraine is being destroyed. We cannot be silent even if the topic of this website has nothing to do with politics.
If you like to support Ukraine from abroad:
Ukrainians recommend the Come Back Alive charity. For other options, see StandWithUkraine.
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings