Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Spain in the past 48 hours on Friday, December 2, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 14:04 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 15 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 55 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.7 | France: Near Carcassonne -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.4 | North Atlantic Ocean, 213 km SW of Portimao, Faro, Portugal -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Spain (updated )

Past 24 hours19 quakes4 quakes M2+
Past 7 days166 quakes43 quakes M2+4 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 30 days871 quakes246 quakes M2+32 quakes M3+8 quakes M4+
Past 90 days3,456 quakes880 quakes M2+100 quakes M3+16 quakes M4+
Past 365 days15,403 quakes5,414 quakes M2+600 quakes M3+53 quakes M4+4 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Spain | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.7 or higher (67 out of 71 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (20 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 2:17 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 13:17 GMT)
?

n/a
32 km south of El Molar, Madrid, Spain (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 2, 2022 1:09 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 12:09 GMT)
1.7

5 km
France: Near Carcassonne More
Dec 2, 2022 1:09 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 12:09 GMT)
1.7

5 km
France: Near Carcassonne More
Dec 2, 2022 12:56 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 11:56 GMT)
0.8
France: Near Pau More
Dec 2, 2022 12:56 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 11:56 GMT)
1.6

14 km
France: Near Pau More
Dec 2, 2022 12:01 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 11:01 GMT)
1.9
2.5 km north of Leucate, Aude, Occitanie, France More
Dec 2, 2022 10:22 am (GMT +0) (Dec 2, 2022 10:22 GMT)
2.3

19 km
8.4 km east of Granadilla de Abona, Spain More
Dec 2, 2022 10:00 am (GMT +0) (Dec 2, 2022 10:00 GMT)
0.7

3 km
Spain: NE ADEJE.ITF More
Dec 2, 2022 9:59 am (GMT +0) (Dec 2, 2022 09:59 GMT)
0.8

5 km
Portugal: SW Torre De Moncorvo More
Dec 2, 2022 10:51 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 09:51 GMT)
1.7
Western Mediterranean, 20 km south of Narbonne, Aude, Occitanie, France More
Dec 2, 2022 10:35 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 09:35 GMT)
1.2
France: Near Pau More
Dec 2, 2022 9:06 am (GMT +0) (Dec 2, 2022 09:06 GMT)
0.8

5 km
Portugal: NW Meda More
Dec 2, 2022 7:46 am (GMT -1) (Dec 2, 2022 08:46 GMT)
1.1

32 km
Portugal: Golfo De Cádiz More
Dec 2, 2022 9:17 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 08:17 GMT)
1.3

11 km
Spain: SE Ourense (ESP) More
Dec 2, 2022 5:17 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 04:17 GMT)
2.3
Alboran Sea, 33 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Dec 2, 2022 4:08 am (GMT +0) (Dec 2, 2022 04:08 GMT)
0.8

2 km
Spain: SE EL PASO.ILP More
Dec 2, 2022 4:07 am (GMT +0) (Dec 2, 2022 04:07 GMT)
1.8

12 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 50 km southeast of Faro, Portugal More
Dec 2, 2022 4:17 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 03:17 GMT)
1.4

21 km
Spain: SE MARBELLA.MA More
Dec 2, 2022 2:20 am (GMT +0) (Dec 2, 2022 02:20 GMT)
1.4

2 km
Spain: S EL PASO.ILP More
Dec 2, 2022 1:53 am (GMT +0) (Dec 2, 2022 01:53 GMT)
1.6

8 km
CANARY ISLANDS, SPAIN REGION More
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (33 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 12:47 am (GMT +1) (Dec 1, 2022 23:47 GMT)
1.5
Spain: NW CUEVAS DEL ALMANZORA.AL More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 1010 joules (3.44 megawatt hours, equivalent to 2.96 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: San Pablo, Spain (PAB/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station San Pablo, Spain: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Spain Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Spain?

The last earthquake in Spain occurred 1 hour and 56 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.7 earthquake - France: Near Carcassonne on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 1:09 pm (GMT +1).

How many quakes were there in Spain in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Spain had 67 quakes up to magnitude 3.4.

What was the strongest quake in Spain in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Spain in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 5 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.4 earthquake - North Atlantic Ocean, 213 km southwest of Portimao, Faro, Portugal, on Thursday, Dec 1, 2022 at 8:21 am (GMT -1).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings