Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in the Granada region of southern Spain

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 1.5 Earthquake Spain - 5 hours ago
Strongest since 2023Mag. 3.7 53 km SE of Campiña, Andalusia, Spain - Feb 3, 2023 - 43 weeks ago
Strongest quake todayMag. 2.2 23 km W of Huercal Overa, Andalusia, Spain - 22 hours ago
- past weekMag. 2.8 2 km S of Benalmadena, Andalusia, Spain - 4 days ago
- past monthMag. 3.0 83 km N of Melilla, Spain - Nov 13, 2023 - 2 weeks ago
- past yearMag. 4.1 31 km NE of Nijar, Andalusia, Spain - Dec 31, 2022 - 48 weeks ago
Press to show more
Updated: Nov 29, 2023 04:42 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in the Granada region of southern Spain in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in the Granada region of southern Spain, find out which quakes are happening right now!
See quake list
In the past 24 hours, the Granada region of southern Spain has had 4 quakes of magnitudes up to 2.2.

Since 2023, the Granada region of southern Spain has had 1160 quakes of magnitudes up to 3.7:

  • 25 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 200 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 935 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Filter by age:
all
1d
2d
7d
14d
30d
3mo
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes since 2023, magnitude 3 or higher (75 out of 1160 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, November 29, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Nov 29, 01:01 am (Madrid)
(Nov 29, 00:01 GMT)
1.5

18 km
Spain More
Nov 29, 01:01 am (Madrid)
(Nov 29, 00:01 GMT)
1.5

18 km
Spain More
Tuesday, November 28, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Nov 28, 07:19 am (Madrid)
(Nov 28, 06:19 GMT)
2.2
23 km west of Huercal Overa, Almeria, Andalusia, Spain 3 reportsMore
Nov 28, 07:24 am (Madrid)
(Nov 28, 05:24 GMT)
2.0

1.2 km
21 km northwest of Martos, Jaen, Andalusia, Spain More
Monday, November 27, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Nov 27, 02:07 pm (Madrid)
(Nov 27, 13:07 GMT)
1.2

17 km
Spain: S LANTEIRA.GR More
Sunday, November 26, 2023 GMT (9 quakes)
Nov 27, 12:46 am (GMT +1)
(Nov 26, 23:46 GMT)
1.6

3 km
Spain: MEDITERRÁNEO-CABO DE PALOS More
Nov 26, 11:00 pm (GMT +1)
(Nov 26, 22:00 GMT)
2.0

3 km
35 km south of Aguilas, Murcia, Spain More
Nov 26, 06:50 pm (Madrid)
(Nov 26, 17:50 GMT)
1.3

11 km
Spain: NW BERJA.AL More
Nov 26, 06:09 pm (Madrid)
(Nov 26, 17:09 GMT)
1.5

8 km
Spain: SW JIMENA DE LA FRONTERA.CA More
Nov 26, 03:07 am (GMT +1)
(Nov 26, 02:07 GMT)
1.7

3 km
Spain: MEDITERRÁNEO-CABO DE PALOS More
Nov 26, 03:04 am (GMT +1)
(Nov 26, 02:04 GMT)
1.6

9 km
Spain: MEDITERRÁNEO-CABO DE PALOS More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 1011 joules (37.2 megawatt hours, equivalent to 32 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Quakes, magnitude and depth over time

Past 48 hrs
Past 7 days
14 days
30 days
1 year
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: ROA/UCM/GEOFON Station Cartagena, Spain (CART/WM network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station ROA/UCM/GEOFON Station Cartagena, Spain: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Quakes, magnitude and depth over time

Past 48 hrs
Past 7 days
14 days
30 days
1 year
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Number of recent quakes in the Granada region of southern Spain by magnitude

7 days
30 days
90 days
365 days
Mag
 
Number of quakes (26 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
2+
6 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (23.08%)
below M2
20 quakes
(76.92%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (120 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
1 quake
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (0.83%)
2+
22 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (18.33%)
below M2
97 quakes
(80.83%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (278 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
5 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (1.8%)
2+
52 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (18.71%)
below M2
221 quakes
(79.5%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (1,327 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
1 quake
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.08%)
3+
25 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (1.88%)
2+
225 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (16.96%)
below M2
1,076 quakes
(81.09%)
Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 24 hours:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days

Granada region, southern Spain Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in the Granada region of southern Spain?

The last earthquake in the Granada region of southern Spain occurred 5 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.5 earthquake - Spain on Wednesday, Nov 29, 2023 01:01 am (Madrid time).

How many quakes were there in the Granada region of southern Spain since 2023?

Since 2023, the Granada region of southern Spain has had 25 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 200 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 935 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

What was the strongest quake in the Granada region of southern Spain since 2023?

The strongest earthquake in the Granada region of southern Spain since 2023 occurred 43 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 3.7 earthquake - 53 km southeast of Campiña, Jaen, Andalusia, Spain, on Friday, Feb 3, 2023 01:09 am (Madrid time).

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Stop Russia's Agression - Support Ukraine
Significant parts of this website use brilliant open-source software developed by Ukrainians. Russia's unprovoked war has killed tens of thousands, displaced millions, and the beautiful country of Ukraine is being destroyed. We cannot be silent even if the topic of this website has nothing to do with politics.
If you like to support Ukraine from abroad:
Ukrainians recommend the Come Back Alive charity. For other options, see StandWithUkraine.
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings