2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Most recent earthquakes worldwide (read more)

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes worldwide in the past 48 hours on Sunday, July 3, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 3, 2022 02:55 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 99 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 245 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 398 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 767 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, there were 2 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 9 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 99 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 245 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 398 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 767 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.4 | Tasman Sea, 118 km NW of Wellington, New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.0 | 58 km NE of Bandar-e Lengeh, Hormozgan, Iran -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours:177 quakes | 121 quakes M3+ | 52 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+
Past 7 days:1,148 quakes | 834 quakes M3+ | 292 quakes M4+ | 19 quakes M5+ | 3 quakes M6+
Past 30 days:4,973 quakes | 3,549 quakes M3+ | 1,301 quakes M4+ | 115 quakes M5+ | 8 quakes M6+
Past 90 days:14,789 quakes | 10,566 quakes M3+ | 3,795 quakes M4+ | 400 quakes M5+ | 27 quakes M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 365 days:62,688 quakes | 45,706 quakes M3+ | 14,927 quakes M4+ | 1,908 quakes M5+ | 133 quakes M6+ | 14 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Hide 16 unconfirmed quakes
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.2 or higher (673 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, July 3, 2022 GMT (37 quakes)
Jul 3, 2022 02:40 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 2:40 pm (GMT +12)
2.4

78 km
Tasman Sea, 118 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand More
Jul 3, 2022 02:29 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 10:29 pm (GMT -4)
?

n/a
Clermont County, 20 mi southeast of Cincinnati, Hamilton County, Ohio, USA (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jul 3, 2022 02:27 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 9:27 pm (GMT -5)
2.6

39 km
South Pacific Ocean, 64 km northwest of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile More
Jul 3, 2022 02:26 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 8:56 am (GMT +6:30)
5.3

10 km
39 km northwest of Thayetmyo, Thayet District, Magway Region, Myanmar (Burma)
I FELT IT
More
Jul 3, 2022 02:20 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 10:20 pm (GMT -4)
4.2

88 km
90 km southwest of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jul 3, 2022 02:15 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 11:15 pm (GMT -3)
2.7

140 km
Chile, 74 km southwest of Calingasta, San Juan, Argentina More
Jul 3, 2022 02:14 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 8:14 pm (GMT -6)
?

n/a
18 mi southwest of Rapid City, Pennington County, South Dakota, USA (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jul 3, 2022 02:04 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 3:04 am (GMT +1)
3.4

10 km
24 km south of Sidi Bouzid, Tunisia
I FELT IT
More
Jul 3, 2022 01:52 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 9:52 am (GMT +8)
2.8

9 km
Celebes Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jul 3, 2022 01:51 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 8:21 am (GMT +6:30)
2.3

3 km
65 km north of Tachilek, Tachileik District, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) More
Jul 3, 2022 01:50 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 9:50 pm (GMT -4)
4.6

110 km
86 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jul 3, 2022 01:40 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 2:40 am (GMT +1)
?

n/a
27 km northeast of Oran, Algeria (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 6 reports
More
Jul 3, 2022 01:39 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 10:39 am (GMT +9)
3.0

85 km
Banda Sea, 26 km northeast of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jul 3, 2022 01:35 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 9:35 am (GMT +8)
4.5

10 km
Celebes Sea, Indonesia, 218 km southwest of General Santos City, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Jul 3, 2022 01:35 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 9:35 am (GMT +8)
3.6

47 km
Celebes Sea, Indonesia, 214 km southwest of General Santos City, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Jul 3, 2022 01:34 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 9:34 am (GMT +8)
2.5

14 km
22 km northeast of Masinloc, Province of Zambales, Central Luzon, Philippines More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.6 x 1014 joules (72.7 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 62536 tons of TNT or 3.9 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake anywhere in the world?

The last earthquake in the world occurred 15 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.4 earthquake - Tasman Sea, 118 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand, on Sunday, Jul 3, 2022 at 2:40 pm (GMT +12).

Where did the last earthquake happen in the world?

The last quake above magnitude 4 today occurred 29 minutes ago Myanmar (Burma): 38 Km NW of Myaydo, Myanmar.
Smaller quakes below magnitude 4 are much more frequent and happen somewhere in the world every few minutes. However, many (if not most) of them go unrecorded, because not all areas in the world are covered by sensitive-enough seismic networks able to detect them.

Where do most earthquakes occur in the world?

By far, most earthquakes in the world occur along the margins of the Pacific Ocean, followed by the vast Alpine-Himalayan mountain belts that stretch from southern Europe through Turkey, the Caucasus, Iran, Pakistan, to northern India, Nepal and southern China.
Most of these regions are in oceanic or continental collision zones where tectonic plates collide with each other and release energy in form of earthquakes.

How many quakes were there in the world in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, there have been 673 quakes up to magnitude 6.0.

What was the strongest quake in the world in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in the world in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 3 hours ago: Very strong mag. 6.0 earthquake - 58 km northeast of Bandar-e Lengeh, Hormozgan, Iran, on Saturday, Jul 2, 2022 at 3:55 am (GMT +4:30).

What category of earthquake is considered an emergency?

Most earthquakes are small and cause no damage, but occasionally, there are bigger ones that can cause considerable damage to people and infrastructure. How much damage a quake does depends a lot on a number of factors including:
- magnitude
- depth beneath the surface
- duration and motion of the shaking
- local geology
- population density
- overall building standards of the affected area
- risk awareness and preparedness
Quakes below magnitude 5 rarely cause damage, while quakes above around magnitude 7 almost always result in extensive damage, even in areas with very good building standards such as in the western US or Japan. Quakes from magnitudes 8 often result in wide-spread or even catastrophic destruction.

What kind of damage can an earthquake do?

The ground shaking of earthquakes can cause soil liquefaction, landslides and avalanches, the opening of fissures in the ground, deformation of the ground, cracks in walls and other structures leading to their collapse. As secondary and often even more severe damage, this can lead to fires, gas leaks, or even tsunamis if the sea floor is moved in a way to displace a large mass of water.

How dangerous are earthquakes?

Earthquakes are among the (if not THE) most dangerous type of natural disaster.
According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), quakes caused nearly 750,000 deaths globally in the period 1998-2017, more than half of all deaths related to natural disasters.

How many people are affected by earthquakes every year?

Each day, many thousands of people feel an earthquake somewhere. Stronger quakes can be felt by millions of people.
According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), nearly 750,000 people were killed by quakes and more than 125 million people injured, made homeless or displaced or otherwise seriously affected by earthquakes during the 20 years from 1998-2017.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Find out more about recent and past earthquakes:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.