Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes worldwide in the past 48 hours on Friday, January 27, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 04:14 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 11 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 77 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 277 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 478 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 932 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | North Pacific Ocean, 99 km SW of Corinto, Chinandega, Nicaragua -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.9 | Eastern Mediterranean, 79 km SE of Rhodos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours164 quakes120 quakes M3+38 quakes M4+6 quakes M5+
Past 7 days1,183 quakes871 quakes M3+274 quakes M4+35 quakes M5+3 quakes M6+
Past 30 days4,793 quakes3,512 quakes M3+1,143 quakes M4+127 quakes M5+8 quakes M6+3 quakes M7+
Past 90 days14,311 quakes10,192 quakes M3+3,647 quakes M4+437 quakes M5+28 quakes M6+7 quakes M7+
Past 365 days63,328 quakes45,909 quakes M3+15,572 quakes M4+1,718 quakes M5+115 quakes M6+14 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 10 unconfirmed quakes
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3.6 or higher (197 out of 1775 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (23 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 04:06 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 10:06 pm (GMT -6)
?

n/a
27 km southeast of El Progreso, Departamento de Yoro, Honduras (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 03:58 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 9:58 pm (GMT -6)
2.5

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, 99 km southwest of Corinto, Chinandega, Nicaragua More
Jan 27, 2023 03:57 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 10:57 pm (GMT -5)
?

n/a
8 mi northwest of Maryville, Blount County, Tennessee, USA (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 27, 2023 03:55 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 7:55 pm (GMT -8)
?

n/a
22 mi west of Desert Hot Springs, Riverside County, California, USA (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 27, 2023 03:49 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 9:49 pm (GMT -6)
3.4

18 km
Panama, 23 km northeast of San Vito, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 03:49 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 5:49 pm (GMT -10)
2.5

33 km
North Pacific Ocean, 12 mi south of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Jan 27, 2023 03:47 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 10:47 am (GMT +7)
3.5

10 km
Indian Ocean, 152 km south of Blitar, East Java, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 03:45 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 5:45 am (GMT +2)
2.8

19 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 24 km southwest of Ierapetra, Lasithi, Crete, Greece More
Jan 27, 2023 03:27 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 11:27 pm (GMT -4)
2.7

12 km
Guanica, 9.2 km southwest of Yauco, Puerto Rico More
Jan 27, 2023 03:21 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 11:21 am (GMT +8)
3.7

108 km
South China Sea, 23 km southwest of Nasugbu, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 02:57 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 7:27 am (GMT +4:30)
2.6

10 km
Badakhshan, 27 km north of Khorugh, Gorno-Badakhshan, Tajikistan More
Jan 27, 2023 02:52 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 4:52 am (GMT +2)
2.6

21 km
Ionian Sea, 17 km southwest of Zakynthos, Ionian Islands, Greece More
Jan 27, 2023 02:32 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 3:32 am (GMT +1)
3.8

10 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 125 km south of Birkirkara, Malta
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 27, 2023 02:11 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 9:11 am (GMT +7)
4.2

10 km
Indian Ocean, 188 km southwest of Bandar Lampung, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 01:51 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 10:51 am (GMT +9)
4.2

165 km
Banda Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 01:40 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 9:40 am (GMT +8)
3.6

5 km
Philippine Sea, 70 km northeast of Dapa, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 01:29 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 9:29 am (GMT +8)
3.9

271 km
Flores Sea, 112 km northwest of Labuan Bajo, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 01:06 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 9:06 am (GMT +8)
3.9

10 km
Philippine Sea, 89 km northeast of Surigao City, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 01:05 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 10:05 am (GMT +9)
4.2

266 km
57 km northwest of Nayoro, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 00:49 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 7:49 pm (GMT -5)
3.6

7 km
9.8 km southeast of Changuinola, Provincia de Bocas del Toro, Panama
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 00:27 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 6:27 pm (GMT -6)
4.0

15 km
12 km west of Coatzacoalcos, Veracruz, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.7 x 1014 joules (46.7 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 40140 tons of TNT or 2.5 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake anywhere in the world?

The last earthquake in the world occurred 15 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.5 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 99 km southwest of Corinto, Chinandega, Nicaragua, on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 9:58 pm (GMT -6).

Where did the last earthquake happen in the world?

The last quake above magnitude 4 today occurred 2 hours and 2 minutes ago in Indian Ocean, 188 km SW of Bandar Lampung, Indonesia.
Smaller quakes below magnitude 4 are much more frequent and happen somewhere in the world every few minutes. However, many (if not most) of them go unrecorded, because not all areas in the world are covered by sensitive-enough seismic networks able to detect them.

Where do most earthquakes occur in the world?

By far, most earthquakes in the world occur along the margins of the Pacific Ocean, followed by the vast Alpine-Himalayan mountain belts that stretch from southern Europe through Turkey, the Caucasus, Iran, Pakistan, to northern India, Nepal and southern China.
Most of these regions are in oceanic or continental collision zones where tectonic plates collide with each other and release energy in form of earthquakes.

How many quakes were there in the world in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, there have been 197 quakes up to magnitude 5.9.

What was the strongest quake in the world in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in the world in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 16 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.9 earthquake - Eastern Mediterranean, 79 km southeast of Rhodos, Greece, on Wednesday, Jan 25, 2023 at 2:37 pm (GMT +2).

What category of earthquake is considered an emergency?

Most earthquakes are small and cause no damage, but occasionally, there are bigger ones that can cause considerable damage to people and infrastructure. How much damage a quake does depends a lot on a number of factors including:
- magnitude
- depth beneath the surface
- duration and motion of the shaking
- local geology
- population density
- overall building standards of the affected area
- risk awareness and preparedness
Quakes below magnitude 5 rarely cause damage, while quakes above around magnitude 7 almost always result in extensive damage, even in areas with very good building standards such as in the western US or Japan. Quakes from magnitudes 8 often result in wide-spread or even catastrophic destruction.

What kind of damage can an earthquake do?

The ground shaking of earthquakes can cause soil liquefaction, landslides and avalanches, the opening of fissures in the ground, deformation of the ground, cracks in walls and other structures leading to their collapse. As secondary and often even more severe damage, this can lead to fires, gas leaks, or even tsunamis if the sea floor is moved in a way to displace a large mass of water.

How dangerous are earthquakes?

Earthquakes are among the (if not THE) most dangerous type of natural disaster.
According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), quakes caused nearly 750,000 deaths globally in the period 1998-2017, more than half of all deaths related to natural disasters.

How many people are affected by earthquakes every year?

Each day, many thousands of people feel an earthquake somewhere. Stronger quakes can be felt by millions of people.
According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), nearly 750,000 people were killed by quakes and more than 125 million people injured, made homeless or displaced or otherwise seriously affected by earthquakes during the 20 years from 1998-2017.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings