Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Turkey in the past 48 hours on Thursday, September 29, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 17:18 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 77 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 102 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Turkey had 1 quake of magnitude 4.1, 9 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 77 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 102 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.0 | Ardahan, 34 km NW of Kars, Turkey -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.1 | Ardahan, 31 km NW of Kars, Turkey -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Turkey (updated )

Past 24 hours66 quakes | 24 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days481 quakes | 190 quakes M2+ | 24 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 30 days1,842 quakes | 715 quakes M2+ | 84 quakes M3+ | 10 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+
Past 90 days4,317 quakes | 1,688 quakes M2+ | 224 quakes M3+ | 26 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+
Past 365 days16,741 quakes | 6,257 quakes M2+ | 839 quakes M3+ | 101 quakes M4+ | 12 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Turkey | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.2 or higher (55 out of 189 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 29, 2022 GMT (16 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 8:03 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 17:03 GMT)
2.0

10.1 km
Ardahan, 34 km northwest of Kars, Turkey More
Sep 29, 2022 4:55 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 13:55 GMT)
2.7

12 km
13 km northwest of Urla, İzmir, Turkey More
Sep 29, 2022 12:12 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 09:12 GMT)
2.2

4.4 km
8.3 km southeast of Ardahan, Turkey More
Sep 29, 2022 10:33 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 07:33 GMT)
2.8

13 km
Black Sea, 48 km northeast of Çerkezköy, Tekirdağ, Turkey More
Sep 29, 2022 9:36 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 06:36 GMT)
2.5

5 km
21 km west of Bages, Bitlis, Turkey More
Sep 29, 2022 9:07 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 06:07 GMT)
2.5

30 km
25 km west of Kars, Turkey More
Sep 29, 2022 8:51 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 05:51 GMT)
2.4

27 km
22 km northwest of Kars, Turkey More
Sep 29, 2022 7:52 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 04:52 GMT)
3.0

4 km
Tunceli, 27 km southeast of Cimin, Erzincan, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 6:59 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 03:59 GMT)
2.4

9.3 km
Ardahan, 34 km northwest of Kars, Turkey More
Sep 29, 2022 6:45 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 03:45 GMT)
3.1

16 km
Aegean Sea, 56 km northeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 29, 2022 6:15 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 03:15 GMT)
2.3

62 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 35 km southwest of Manavgat, Antalya, Turkey More
Sep 29, 2022 5:00 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 02:00 GMT)
2.2

10 km
Aegean Sea, 142 km northeast of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 3:50 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 00:50 GMT)
2.2

8 km
Ardahan, 32 km northwest of Kars, Turkey More
Sep 29, 2022 4:08 am (GMT +3:30) (Sep 29, 2022 00:38 GMT)
2.5

8 km
41 km south of Urmia, West Azerbaijan, Iran More
Sep 29, 2022 3:29 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 00:29 GMT)
2.3

10 km
Aegean Sea, 15 km north of Ayvalik, Ayvalık İlçesi, Balıkesir, Turkey More
Sep 29, 2022 3:29 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 00:29 GMT)
3.4

5 km
Sea of Marmara, 31 km northeast of Karacabey, Bursa, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 GMT (28 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 2:02 am (GMT +3) (Sep 28, 2022 23:02 GMT)
2.4

18 km
39 km west of Van, Turkey More
Sep 28, 2022 11:14 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 28, 2022 20:14 GMT)
2.2

30 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 68 km south of Alanya, Antalya, Turkey More
Sep 28, 2022 8:59 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 28, 2022 17:59 GMT)
2.3

3.6 km
20 km southeast of Mugla, Muğla, Turkey More
Sep 28, 2022 7:53 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 28, 2022 16:53 GMT)
2.2

4.4 km
Aegean Sea, Greece, 25 km west of Kusadasi, Aydın, Turkey More
Sep 28, 2022 6:46 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 28, 2022 15:46 GMT)
2.5

10 km
Ardahan, 32 km northwest of Kars, Turkey More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.4 x 1011 joules (39.2 megawatt hours, equivalent to 33.7 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Bunyan KAYSERI (BNN/KO network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Bunyan KAYSERI: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Turkey Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in or near Turkey?

The last earthquake in or near Turkey occurred 15 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.0 earthquake - Ardahan, 34 km northwest of Kars, Turkey, on Thursday, Sep 29, 2022 at 8:03 pm (GMT +3).

How many quakes were there in or near Turkey in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Turkey had 55 quakes up to magnitude 4.1.

What was the strongest quake in or near Turkey in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in or near Turkey in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 18 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.1 earthquake - Ardahan, 31 km northwest of Kars, Turkey, on Wednesday, Sep 28, 2022 at 2:01 am (GMT +3).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings