Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in the USA in the past 48 hours on Thursday, February 9, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 9, 2023 08:17 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 77 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 380 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 10 unconfirmed quakes
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.2 or higher (62 out of 461 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, February 9, 2023 GMT (13 quakes)
Feb 9, 2023 12:08 am (GMT -8) (Feb 9, 2023 08:08 GMT)
3.6

19 km
North Pacific Ocean, 41 mi southwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 8:17 pm (GMT -11) (Feb 9, 2023 07:17 GMT)
2.2

50 km
Bering Sea, 37 mi north of Port Heiden, Lake and Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 7:21 pm (GMT -9) (Feb 9, 2023 04:21 GMT)
2.1

25 km
Bering Sea, 21 mi southwest of Egegik, Lake and Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 6:50 pm (GMT -9) (Feb 9, 2023 03:50 GMT)
2.2

3.5 km
56 mi east of Healy, Denali, Alaska, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 5:27 pm (GMT -10) (Feb 9, 2023 03:27 GMT)
2.0

33 km
5.9 mi northeast of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 5:37 pm (GMT -9) (Feb 9, 2023 02:37 GMT)
2.0

135 km
80 mi southwest of Healy, Denali, Alaska, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 5:26 pm (GMT -9) (Feb 9, 2023 02:26 GMT)
2.1

17 km
22 mi northeast of Sutton-Alpine, Matanuska-Susitna, Alaska, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 4:20 pm (GMT -10) (Feb 9, 2023 02:20 GMT)
2.9

33 km
38 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 4:08 pm (GMT -10) (Feb 9, 2023 02:08 GMT)
2.1

30 km
7.2 mi northeast of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 8:21 pm (GMT -5) (Feb 9, 2023 01:21 GMT)
2.6

11 km
North Atlantic Ocean, Virginia, 37 mi southeast of Salisbury, Wicomico County, Maryland, USA 1 reportMore
Feb 8, 2023 3:18 pm (GMT -10) (Feb 9, 2023 01:18 GMT)
2.3

35 km
North Pacific Ocean, 12 mi south of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 6:48 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 9, 2023 00:48 GMT)
2.2

1.6 km
13 mi east of Enid, Garfield County, Oklahoma, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 2:08 pm (GMT -10) (Feb 9, 2023 00:08 GMT)
2.2

32 km
5.7 mi northeast of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Wednesday, February 8, 2023 GMT (32 quakes)
Feb 8, 2023 12:58 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 8, 2023 18:58 GMT)
?

n/a
0.7 mi west of Franklin, Williamson County, Tennessee, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 58 reports
More
Feb 8, 2023 11:45 am (GMT -7) (Feb 8, 2023 18:45 GMT)
2.8

10 km
68 mi northeast of Boise, Ada County, Idaho, USA 1 reportMore
Feb 8, 2023 10:32 am (GMT -8) (Feb 8, 2023 18:32 GMT)
2.3

6.5 km
18 mi northeast of Fallon, Churchill County, Nevada, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 8:03 am (GMT -10) (Feb 8, 2023 18:03 GMT)
2.3

32 km
2.8 mi south of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 5:22 am (GMT -10) (Feb 8, 2023 15:22 GMT)
2.7

33 km
2.3 mi south of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 5:54 am (GMT -9) (Feb 8, 2023 14:54 GMT)
2.3

149 km
24 mi east of Port Alsworth, Lake and Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 5:36 am (GMT -9) (Feb 8, 2023 14:36 GMT)
2.8

109 km
39 mi west of Anchor Point, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 6:32 am (GMT -8) (Feb 8, 2023 14:32 GMT)
?

n/a
25 mi southeast of Los Angeles, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Feb 8, 2023 3:50 am (GMT -10) (Feb 8, 2023 13:50 GMT)
2.5

30 km
26 mi southeast of Hawaii Island, Hawaii County, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 4:18 am (GMT -9) (Feb 8, 2023 13:18 GMT)
2.2

105 km
56 mi west of Anchor Point, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 12:41 am (GMT -10) (Feb 8, 2023 10:41 GMT)
2.9

38 km
North Pacific Ocean, 53 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 12:16 am (GMT -10) (Feb 8, 2023 10:16 GMT)
2.4

31 km
North Pacific Ocean, 38 mi southwest of Kailua-Kona, Hawaii County, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 12:16 am (GMT -9) (Feb 8, 2023 09:16 GMT)
2.4

121 km
51 mi west of Anchor Point, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Feb 7, 2023 11:33 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 8, 2023 07:33 GMT)
2.2

0.6 km
13 mi southwest of Clearlake, Lake County, California, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 1:30 am (GMT -6) (Feb 8, 2023 07:30 GMT)
2.2

7.7 km
Texas, 58 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 1:25 am (GMT -6) (Feb 8, 2023 07:25 GMT)
2.2

8 km
Texas, 58 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA More
Feb 7, 2023 8:53 pm (GMT -10) (Feb 8, 2023 06:53 GMT)
2.8

32 km
26 mi southeast of Hawaii Island, Hawaii County, USA More
Feb 7, 2023 9:11 pm (GMT -9) (Feb 8, 2023 06:11 GMT)
2.3

96 km
46 mi northwest of Kenai, Alaska, USA More
Feb 7, 2023 11:52 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 8, 2023 05:52 GMT)
2.2

6.3 km
54 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA More
Feb 7, 2023 9:49 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 8, 2023 05:49 GMT)
2.5

1.7 km
13 mi southwest of Clearlake, Lake County, California, USA More
Feb 8, 2023 12:12 am (GMT -5) (Feb 8, 2023 05:12 GMT)
?

n/a
1.9 mi southwest of Summerville, Dorchester County, South Carolina, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 13 reports
More
Feb 8, 2023 12:04 am (GMT -5) (Feb 8, 2023 05:04 GMT)
?

n/a
24 mi northwest of Durham, North Carolina, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 8 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 5:46 pm (GMT -10) (Feb 8, 2023 03:46 GMT)
2.4

34 km
26 mi southeast of Hawaii Island, Hawaii County, USA More
Feb 7, 2023 8:44 pm (GMT -7) (Feb 8, 2023 03:44 GMT)
2.9

10 km
11 mi northeast of West Yellowstone, Gallatin County, Montana, USA More
Feb 7, 2023 8:35 pm (GMT -7) (Feb 8, 2023 03:35 GMT)
2.5

10.2 km
12 mi northeast of West Yellowstone, Gallatin County, Montana, USA More
Feb 7, 2023 5:21 pm (GMT -10) (Feb 8, 2023 03:21 GMT)
2.4

31 km
6.4 mi northeast of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA More
Feb 7, 2023 7:10 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 8, 2023 03:10 GMT)
?

n/a
24 mi northeast of Lake Havasu City, Mohave County, Arizona, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 9 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 8:09 pm (GMT -7) (Feb 8, 2023 03:09 GMT)
2.5

10 km
12 mi northeast of West Yellowstone, Gallatin County, Montana, USA More
Feb 7, 2023 7:32 pm (GMT -7) (Feb 8, 2023 02:32 GMT)
2.5

9.5 km
11 mi northeast of West Yellowstone, Gallatin County, Montana, USA More
Feb 7, 2023 5:22 pm (GMT -9) (Feb 8, 2023 02:22 GMT)
2.2

86 km
28 mi southeast of Port Heiden, Lake and Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Feb 7, 2023 8:16 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 8, 2023 02:16 GMT)
2.6

7.5 km
Texas, 58 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 5:06 pm (GMT -9) (Feb 8, 2023 02:06 GMT)
2.8

4.2 km
15 mi north of Hughes, Yukon-Koyukuk, Alaska, USA
I FELT IT
More
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 GMT (17 quakes)
Feb 7, 2023 4:35 pm (GMT -5) (Feb 7, 2023 21:35 GMT)
?

n/a
30 mi northeast of Municipio de Middletown, Monmouth County, New Jersey, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 3:30 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 7, 2023 21:30 GMT)
?

n/a
194 mi northeast of Osceola, Mississippi County, Arkansas, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 12:36 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 20:36 GMT)
2.8

3.4 km
7.9 mi east of Mammoth Lakes, Mono County, California, USA
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 9:30 am (GMT -9) (Feb 7, 2023 18:30 GMT)
2.8

12 km
47 mi north of Unalakleet, Nome, Alaska, USA More
Feb 7, 2023 11:02 am (GMT -6) (Feb 7, 2023 17:02 GMT)
2.4

6 km
52 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA More
Feb 7, 2023 10:51 am (GMT -6) (Feb 7, 2023 16:51 GMT)
2.6

5.8 km
54 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 10:44 am (GMT -6) (Feb 7, 2023 16:44 GMT)
2.6

5 km
56 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 11:28 am (GMT -5) (Feb 7, 2023 16:28 GMT)
?

n/a
Near La Grange, Georgia, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 11:00 am (GMT -5) (Feb 7, 2023 16:00 GMT)
?

n/a
Near Menlo Park, New Jersey, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 5 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 5:33 am (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 13:33 GMT)
?

n/a
Near Anacortes, Washington, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 5 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 1:31 am (GMT -12) (Feb 7, 2023 13:31 GMT)
4.3

10 km
182 Km SSE of Atka, Alaska
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 5:18 am (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 13:18 GMT)
2.8

5.8 km
24km ESE of Santa Barbara Is., CA
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 7, 2023 2:47 am (GMT -10) (Feb 7, 2023 12:47 GMT)
3.8

11 km
255 Km SE of Atka, Alaska
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 12:41 am (GMT -12) (Feb 7, 2023 12:41 GMT)
3.3

5.1 km
163 Km N of Atka, Alaska
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 4:08 am (GMT -8) (Feb 7, 2023 12:08 GMT)
2.9

1.6 km
2km N of The Geysers, CA
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 4:51 am (GMT -7) (Feb 7, 2023 11:51 GMT)
2.4

9.5 km
17 Km E of Hebgen Lake Estates, Montana More
Feb 6, 2023 10:21 pm (GMT -10) (Feb 7, 2023 08:21 GMT)
2.7

31 km
Fox Islands, Aleutian Islands, Alaska More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.5 x 1011 joules (70.2 megawatt hours, equivalent to 60.4 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Cedar Bluff, Kansas, USA (CBKS/US network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Cedar Bluff, Kansas, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

United States Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in the USA?

The last earthquake in the USA occurred 9 minutes ago: Light mag. 3.6 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 41 mi southwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA, on Thursday, Feb 9, 2023 at 12:08 am (GMT -8).

How many quakes were there in the USA in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, United States had 62 quakes up to magnitude 4.3.

What was the strongest quake in the USA in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in the USA in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 19 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.3 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 166 mi southeast of Adak, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA, on Tuesday, Feb 7, 2023 at 1:31 am (GMT -12).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings