Recent earthquakes near active or dormant volcanoes (read more)

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near active volcanoes in the past 48 hours on Thursday, August 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 18, 2022 02:38 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Volcanoes with recent nearby earthquakes: Santo Tomas - Krísuvík - Salton Buttes - La Palma - Mayotte Island - Santa Isabel - Vatnafjöll - Tenerife - Maunaloa - São Jorge - Clear Lake - Prestahnukur - Askja - Fourpeaked - Kilauea - Hrómundartindur - Brennisteinsfjöll - Cerro Negro de Mayasquer - Loihi - Taupo - Tambora - Fagradalsfjall - Ruapehu - Coso - Piton de la Fournaise - Reporoa - Quezaltepeque - Long Valley - Machin - Nevado del Tolima - Tacana - Terceira - Apo - Krafla - Akyarlar - Kurikoma - Grímsvötn - Vesuvius - Isarog - Patoc - Reykjanes - Tjörnes Fracture Zone - Buzzard Creek - Katla - Grímsnes - Methana - Parker - Jan Mayen - Eldey - Mayon - Tenorio - Mount Baker - Yantarni - Paco - Mount Rainier - Ljósufjöll - Kolbeinsey Ridge - Soda Lakes - Tutupaca - Lanzarote - Ukinrek Maars - Loki-Fögrufjöll volcano
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 7 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.5 or higher (240 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, August 18, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Aug 18, 2022 02:17 GMT
Aug 18, 2022 10:17 am (GMT +8)
?

n/a
Santo Tomas (12 km) 1.3 km northeast of Baguio City, Province of Benguet, Cordillera, Philippines (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT
More
Aug 18, 2022 02:11 GMT
Aug 18, 2022 2:11 am (GMT +0)
1.0

6 km
Krísuvík (6 km) - Southwestern Iceland Iceland: 7.0 Km NE of Krýsuvík More
Aug 18, 2022 01:27 GMT
Aug 18, 2022 1:27 am (GMT +0)
0.6

3.9 km
Krísuvík (6 km) - Southwestern Iceland Iceland: 6.6 Km NE of Krýsuvík More
Aug 18, 2022 00:28 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 5:28 pm (GMT -7)
2.8

2.3 km
Salton Buttes (24 km) 35 mi southeast of Indian Wells, Riverside County, California, USA
I FELT IT
More
Aug 18, 2022 00:10 GMT
Aug 18, 2022 1:10 am (GMT +1)
2.1

11 km
La Palma (6 km) - Canary Islands La Palma Island, 10.6 km south of Los Llanos de Aridane, Spain More
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 GMT (127 quakes)
Aug 17, 2022 23:11 GMT
Aug 18, 2022 2:11 am (GMT +3)
1.2

27 km
Mayotte Island (17 km) - France, Western Indian Ocean Mayotte: Near Mamoudzou More
Aug 17, 2022 23:08 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 6:08 pm (GMT -5)
1.9

0.4 km
Santa Isabel (19 km) 10.1 km east of Santa Rosa Cabal, Colombia More
Aug 17, 2022 23:07 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 11:07 pm (GMT +0)
1.5

6.8 km
Vatnafjöll (11 km) - Southern Iceland Iceland: 12.0 Km SW of Vatnafjöll More
Aug 17, 2022 22:20 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 11:20 pm (GMT +1)
?

n/a
Tenerife (19 km) - Canary Islands (Spain) 5.5 km west of Guia de Isora, Spain (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Aug 17, 2022 22:05 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 12:05 pm (GMT -10)
2.2

4.1 km
Maunaloa (6 km) - Big Island, Hawai'i 22 Km ENE of Honaunau-Napoopoo, Hawaii More
Aug 17, 2022 22:04 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 10:04 pm (GMT +0)
2.4

8 km
São Jorge (8 km) - Azores Islands, Portugal São Jorge, 1.6 km east of Velas, Azores, Portugal More
Aug 17, 2022 22:01 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 3:01 pm (GMT -7)
0.6

1.8 km
Clear Lake (17 km) - California, USA 8km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Aug 17, 2022 21:46 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 2:46 pm (GMT -7)
2.0

3.8 km
Salton Buttes (7 km) 4km SW of Niland, CA More
Aug 17, 2022 20:53 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 11:53 pm (GMT +3)
1.2

40 km
Mayotte Island (20 km) - France, Western Indian Ocean Mayotte: Near Mamoudzou More
Aug 17, 2022 20:32 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 8:32 pm (GMT +0)
1.5

5.8 km
Prestahnukur (2 km) Iceland: 15.9 Km SE of Húsafell More
Aug 17, 2022 20:20 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 8:20 pm (GMT +0)
1.4

1.8 km
Askja (22 km) - Central Iceland Iceland: 10.6 Km WNW of Lokatindur More
Aug 17, 2022 20:14 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 1:14 pm (GMT -7)
0.9

1.7 km
Clear Lake (17 km) - California, USA 7km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Aug 17, 2022 20:14 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 11:14 pm (GMT +3)
1.2

33 km
Mayotte Island (21 km) - France, Western Indian Ocean Mayotte: Near Mamoudzou More
Aug 17, 2022 20:05 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 12:05 pm (GMT -8)
1.5

4.6 km
Fourpeaked (6 km) - United States, Alaska Peninsula 85 Km NNW of Aleneva, Alaska More
Aug 17, 2022 20:01 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 10:01 am (GMT -10)
1.8

1.2 km
Maunaloa (2 km) - Big Island, Hawai'i 27 Km E of Honaunau-Napoopoo, Hawaii More
Aug 17, 2022 19:43 GMT
Aug 17, 2022 9:43 am (GMT -10)
2.1

30 km
Kilauea (20 km) - Hawai'i 11 Km ENE of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 1011 joules (106 megawatt hours, equivalent to 91.3 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings