Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Washington State, USA, in the past 48 hours on Thursday, September 29, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 17:55 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
There were 16 small quakes between magnitudes 1.0 and in or near Washington State in the past 48 hours.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.5 | Washington -

Strongest quake: Mag. 1.8 | 5 Km SW of Des Moines, Washington -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Washington State, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours1 quake
Past 7 days32 quakes | 1 quake M2+
Past 30 days2,277 quakes | 155 quakes M2+ | 140 quakes M3+
Past 90 days3,250 quakes | 185 quakes M2+ | 142 quakes M3+
Past 365 days4,256 quakes | 324 quakes M2+ | 153 quakes M3+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Washington State, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (17 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 29, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 5:33 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 12:33 GMT)
?

n/a
25 km north of Abbotsford, Fraser Valley, British Columbia, Canada (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 29, 2022 12:54 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 07:54 GMT)
0.5

12 km
Washington More
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Sep 28, 2022 4:18 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 23:18 GMT)
1.5

12 km
10 Km NE of Castle Rock, Washington More
Sep 28, 2022 7:25 am (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 14:25 GMT)
0.5

3 km
Washington More
Sep 28, 2022 7:25 am (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 14:25 GMT)
0.5

3 km
2 Km SSE of Entiat, Washington More
Sep 28, 2022 1:07 am (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 08:07 GMT)
0.8

18 km
Washington More
Sep 28, 2022 1:07 am (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 08:07 GMT)
0.8

18 km
1 Km NNE of Mineral, Washington More
Sep 28, 2022 12:18 am (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 07:18 GMT)
0.6

6.5 km
Washington More
Sep 28, 2022 12:18 am (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 07:18 GMT)
0.6

6.5 km
25 Km SSW of Packwood, Washington More
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
Sep 27, 2022 4:22 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 27, 2022 23:22 GMT)
0.6

0.8 km
9 Km NNE of Government Camp, Oregon More
Sep 27, 2022 3:08 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 27, 2022 22:08 GMT)
1.5

20 km
5 Km SW of Des Moines, Washington More
Sep 27, 2022 3:04 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 27, 2022 22:04 GMT)
1.8

20 km
5 Km SW of Des Moines, Washington More
Sep 27, 2022 2:50 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 27, 2022 21:50 GMT)
1.2

1 km
Explosion - 15 Km E of Kelso, Washington More
Sep 27, 2022 1:50 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 27, 2022 20:50 GMT)
1.4

1 km
Explosion - Washington More
Sep 27, 2022 1:50 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 27, 2022 20:50 GMT)
1.4

1 km
Washington More
Sep 27, 2022 1:09 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 27, 2022 20:09 GMT)
1.4

0.6 km
Explosion - 10 Km ENE of Abbotsford, Canada More
Sep 27, 2022 1:05 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 27, 2022 20:05 GMT)
1.0

0.6 km
Explosion - 12 Km WSW of Chilliwack, Canada More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.8 x 107 joules (24.6 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Panhandle Gap (PANH/CC network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Panhandle Gap: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Washington State Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Washington State?

The last earthquake in Washington State occurred 10 hours ago: Minor mag. 0.5 earthquake - Washington on Thursday, Sep 29, 2022 at 12:54 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Washington State in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Washington State, USA had 17 quakes up to magnitude 1.8.

What was the strongest quake in Washington State in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Washington State in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 20 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.8 earthquake - 5 Km SW of Des Moines, Washington, on Tuesday, Sep 27, 2022 at 3:04 pm (GMT -7).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings