Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 9, 2023 09:44 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Feb 9, 2023 09:44 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 14 days:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 7
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 87 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 712 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 2307 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 3749 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 6786 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
5.0+
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 5 or higher (40 out of 13647 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, February 9, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 9, 2023 09:09 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 7:09 am (GMT -2)
5.4

35 km
South Atlantic Ocean, South Georgia & South Sandwich Islands
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 06:28 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 3:28 pm (GMT +9)
5.1

22 km
21 km southwest of Hollandia, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Wednesday, February 8, 2023 GMT (6 quakes)
Feb 8, 2023 20:05 GMT
Feb 8, 2023 11:05 pm (GMT +3)
5.4

60 km
47 km northeast of Muş, Turkey
I FELT IT - 5 reports
More
Feb 8, 2023 15:57 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 2:57 am (GMT +11)
5.0

109 km
Solomon Sea, 146 km northwest of Arawa, Bougainville, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT
More
Feb 8, 2023 15:16 GMT
Feb 8, 2023 9:16 am (GMT -6)
5.5

10 km
Caribbean Sea, 134 km northeast of La Ceiba, Departamento de Atlantida, Honduras
I FELT IT - 93 reports
More
Feb 8, 2023 15:01 GMT
Feb 8, 2023 6:31 pm (GMT +3:30)
?

n/a
Southern Iran (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Feb 8, 2023 14:20 GMT
Feb 8, 2023 5:20 pm (GMT +3)
5.1

5.9 km
35 km southeast of Elbistan, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT - 10 reports
More
Feb 8, 2023 11:11 GMT
Feb 8, 2023 2:11 pm (GMT +3)
5.4

7.5 km
Malatya, 18 km north of Gölbaşı, Adıyaman, Turkey
I FELT IT - 11 reports
More
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 GMT (12 quakes)
Feb 7, 2023 21:30 GMT
Feb 8, 2023 8:30 am (GMT +11)
5.4

52 km
Solomon Islands: Santa Cruz Islands Region
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 18:10 GMT
Feb 7, 2023 8:10 pm (GMT +2)
5.3

18 km
Near Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
I FELT IT - 10 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 16:44 GMT
Feb 8, 2023 2:44 am (GMT +10)
5.2

10 km
Western Caroline Islands, Micronesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 7, 2023 15:48 GMT
Feb 7, 2023 6:48 pm (GMT +3)
5.0

8.3 km
Central Turkey
I FELT IT - 14 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 14:20 GMT
Feb 8, 2023 12:20 am (GMT +10)
5.4

10 km
Western Caroline Islands, Micronesia
I FELT IT - 5 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 10:18 GMT
Feb 7, 2023 1:18 pm (GMT +3)
5.4

10 km
6 Km WSW of Sincik, Turkey
I FELT IT - 7 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 08:49 GMT
Feb 7, 2023 6:49 am (GMT -2)
5.0

10 km
Northern Mid-Atlantic Ridge
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 7, 2023 07:11 GMT
Feb 7, 2023 10:11 am (GMT +3)
5.4

6.8 km
Eastern Turkey
I FELT IT - 8 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 06:45 GMT
Feb 7, 2023 5:45 pm (GMT +11)
5.3

22 km
167 Km S of Severo-Kuril’sk, Russia
I FELT IT
More
Feb 7, 2023 03:13 GMT
Feb 7, 2023 6:13 am (GMT +3)
5.5

10 km
8 Km ESE of Gölbaşı, Turkey
I FELT IT - 12 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 02:29 GMT
Feb 7, 2023 12:29 pm (GMT +10)
5.0

111 km
Northern Mariana Islands: 60 Km NNE of Yigo Village, Guam
I FELT IT - 8 reports
More
Feb 7, 2023 00:35 GMT
Feb 7, 2023 7:35 am (GMT +7)
5.5

58 km
81 Km WSW of Pelabuhanratu, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 18 reports
More
Wednesday, February 1, 2023 GMT (5 quakes)
Feb 1, 2023 21:14 GMT
Feb 1, 2023 4:14 pm (GMT -5)
5.1

28 km
57 Km WNW of Salinas, Ecuador 9 reportsMore
Feb 1, 2023 11:11 GMT
Feb 1, 2023 7:11 am (GMT -4)
5.0

45 km
32 Km SSE of Matanzas, Dominican Republic 355 reportsMore
Feb 1, 2023 10:44 GMT
Feb 1, 2023 6:44 pm (GMT +8)
6.0

19 km
Mindanao, Philippines More
Feb 1, 2023 07:31 GMT
Feb 1, 2023 8:31 pm (GMT +13)
5.0

397 km
New Zealand More
Feb 1, 2023 00:21 GMT
Feb 1, 2023 11:21 am (GMT +11)
5.0

30 km
Near Honiara, Honiara, Solomon Islands 2 reportsMore
Tuesday, January 31, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 31, 2023 19:02 GMT
Feb 1, 2023 8:02 am (GMT +13)
5.0

40 km
Samoa: 76 Km E of Hihifo, Tonga More
Jan 31, 2023 16:49 GMT
Feb 1, 2023 5:49 am (GMT +13)
5.0

516 km
South of the Fiji Islands More
Jan 31, 2023 10:02 GMT
Jan 31, 2023 4:02 am (GMT -6)
5.3

338 km
645 Km Al Oeste De Isla Del Coco, Costa Rica More
Monday, January 30, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 30, 2023 19:55 GMT
Jan 30, 2023 8:55 pm (GMT +1)
5.3

10 km
97 Km S of Żurrieq, Malta More
Jan 30, 2023 17:07 GMT
Jan 31, 2023 1:07 am (GMT +8)
5.3

10 km
China: Kashmir-Xizang Border Region More
Jan 30, 2023 10:25 GMT
Jan 30, 2023 7:25 pm (GMT +9)
5.1

10 km
126 Km SSW of Ishigaki, Japan More
Sunday, January 29, 2023 GMT (5 quakes)
Jan 29, 2023 23:49 GMT
Jan 30, 2023 7:49 am (GMT +8)
5.7

28 km
Southern Xinjiang, China 3 reportsMore
Jan 29, 2023 19:57 GMT
Jan 30, 2023 4:57 am (GMT +9)
5.0

48 km
171 Km NW of Tobelo, Indonesia More
Jan 29, 2023 16:23 GMT
Jan 30, 2023 12:23 am (GMT +8)
5.0

23 km
Philippines: 026 Km S 02° E of Glan (Sarangani) More
Jan 29, 2023 14:04 GMT
Jan 29, 2023 2:04 am (GMT -12)
5.1

100 km
New Zealand More
Jan 29, 2023 04:23 GMT
Jan 29, 2023 12:23 pm (GMT +8)
5.0

12 km
24 Km SW of Burias, Philippines More
Saturday, January 28, 2023 GMT (4 quakes)
Jan 28, 2023 19:15 GMT
Jan 29, 2023 4:15 am (GMT +9)
5.6

136 km
Indonesia: Di Laut 13 Km Barat Daya Daruba More
Jan 28, 2023 18:14 GMT
Jan 28, 2023 9:44 pm (GMT +3:30)
5.9

16 km
14 Km SSW of Khowy, Iran 129 reportsMore
Jan 28, 2023 09:13 GMT
Jan 28, 2023 1:13 pm (GMT +4)
5.1

10 km
Southwest Indian Ridge More
Jan 28, 2023 08:08 GMT
Jan 28, 2023 9:08 pm (GMT +13)
5.4

390 km
New Zealand More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.2 x 1014 joules (87.8 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 75564 tons of TNT or 4.7 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings