2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jul 3, 2022 03:11 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated Jul 3, 2022 03:12 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 30 days:

  • 8 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 115 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 1301 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 3548 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 7149 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 15371 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 30 days, there were 8 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 115 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 1301 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 3548 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 7149 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 15371 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 5.3 | 39 km NW of Thayetmyo, Thayet District, Magway Region, Myanmar (Burma) -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.0 | 58 km NE of Bandar-e Lengeh, Hormozgan, Iran -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours:177 quakes | 122 quakes M3+ | 51 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+
Past 7 days:1,146 quakes | 834 quakes M3+ | 290 quakes M4+ | 19 quakes M5+ | 3 quakes M6+
Past 30 days:4,972 quakes | 3,548 quakes M3+ | 1,301 quakes M4+ | 115 quakes M5+ | 8 quakes M6+
Past 90 days:14,788 quakes | 10,565 quakes M3+ | 3,795 quakes M4+ | 400 quakes M5+ | 27 quakes M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 365 days:62,688 quakes | 45,706 quakes M3+ | 14,927 quakes M4+ | 1,908 quakes M5+ | 133 quakes M6+ | 14 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 5 or higher (20 out of 27492 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, July 3, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Jul 3, 2022 02:26 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 8:56 am (GMT +6:30)
5.3

10 km
Myanmar (Burma): 38 Km NW of Myaydo, Myanmar
I FELT IT
More
Jul 3, 2022 01:11 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 2:11 am (GMT +1)
2.4

12 km
Algeria: NW Argélia (ALG) 31 reportsMore
Saturday, July 2, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Jul 2, 2022 23:49 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 8:49 am (GMT +9)
5.3

16 km
138 Km ESE of Laikit, Laikit II (Dimembe), Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jul 2, 2022 23:25 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 6:25 pm (GMT -5)
4.3

6 km
Mexico: 18 Km Al SURESTE De CASIMIRO CASTILLO, JAL
I FELT IT - 20 reports
More
Jul 2, 2022 22:02 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 6:02 am (GMT +8)
5.3

12 km
China: 149 Km SSE of Kadzhi-Say, Kyrgyzstan
I FELT IT
More
Jul 2, 2022 15:59 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 11:59 am (GMT -4)
2.1

1.7 km
Near Columbia, South Carolina, USA 20 reportsMore
Jul 2, 2022 13:01 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 9:01 pm (GMT +8)
3.7

16 km
Australia: Kalgoorlie-Boulder, WA
I FELT IT - 113 reports
More
Jul 2, 2022 12:17 GMT
Jul 3, 2022 12:17 am (GMT +12)
5.4

33 km
New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Jul 2, 2022 01:59 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 12:59 pm (GMT +11)
5.9

309 km
Russia: 60 Km NNE of Makubetsu, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Friday, July 1, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
Jul 1, 2022 23:49 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 3:49 am (GMT +4)
4.2

10 km
Near Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
I FELT IT - 48 reports
More
Jul 1, 2022 23:25 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 3:55 am (GMT +4:30)
6.0

10 km
57 Km NE of Bandar-e Lengeh, Iran
I FELT IT - 427 reports
More
Jul 1, 2022 23:24 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 3:54 am (GMT +4:30)
5.7

10 km
54 Km NE of Bandar-e Lengeh, Iran
I FELT IT - 289 reports
More
Jul 1, 2022 23:21 GMT
Jul 1, 2022 12:21 pm (GMT -11)
5.0

10 km
Niue: 267 Km S of Ta`ū, American Samoa
I FELT IT
More
Jul 1, 2022 22:07 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 2:37 am (GMT +4:30)
4.2

10 km
38 Km NE of Bandar-e Lengeh, Iran
I FELT IT - 27 reports
More
Jul 1, 2022 21:47 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 1:47 am (GMT +4)
5.0

10 km
49 Km NE of Bandar-e Lengeh, Iran
I FELT IT - 164 reports
More
Jul 1, 2022 21:32 GMT
Jul 2, 2022 1:32 am (GMT +4)
6.0

16 km
55 Km NE of Bandar-e Lengeh, Iran
I FELT IT - 2321 reports
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.9 x 1014 joules (80 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 68797 tons of TNT or 4.3 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel