Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 9, 2023 08:29 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Feb 9, 2023 08:29 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 13 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 123 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 602 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 965 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 980 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
A strong magnitude 5.1 earthquake occurred in Papua, Indonesia, 2 hours and 1 minutes ago.Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 3.6 or higher (20 out of 2683 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, February 9, 2023 GMT (20 quakes)
Feb 9, 2023 08:14 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 5:14 pm (GMT +9)
4.0

8 km
Indonesia: Di Darat BaratDaya Kota Jayapura
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 08:08 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 12:08 am (GMT -8)
3.6

19 km
North Pacific Ocean, 41 mi southwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 07:57 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 10:57 am (GMT +3)
3.9

5 km
2.1 km north of Göksun, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 07:42 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 10:42 am (GMT +3)
4.3

10 km
12 km east of Göksun, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 07:22 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 4:22 pm (GMT +9)
3.9

5 km
South Pacific Ocean, 9.8 km north of Hollandia, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 07:19 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 4:19 pm (GMT +9)
3.7

10 km
19 km east of Kumamoto, Prefectura de Kumamoto, Japan
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 9, 2023 07:18 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 10:18 am (GMT +3)
4.8

5.2 km
Gaziantep, 40 km southeast of Osmaniye, Turkey
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Feb 9, 2023 07:07 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 10:07 am (GMT +3)
3.9

5 km
35 km southeast of Malatya, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 07:03 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 10:03 am (GMT +3)
3.8

4.1 km
50 km southwest of Malatya, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 06:50 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 3:50 pm (GMT +9)
4.2

10 km
South Pacific Ocean, 21 km north of Hollandia, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 9, 2023 06:49 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 9:49 am (GMT +3)
4.1

2 km
Malatya, 22 km north of Gölbaşı, Adıyaman, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 06:45 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 9:45 am (GMT +3)
4.2

5 km
Malatya, 20 km north of Gölbaşı, Adıyaman, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 06:37 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 9:37 am (GMT +3)
3.9

5 km
40 km east of Elbistan, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 06:28 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 3:28 pm (GMT +9)
5.1

22 km
21 km southwest of Hollandia, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Feb 9, 2023 06:20 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 3:20 pm (GMT +9)
3.9

10 km
Molucca Sea, 160 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 06:09 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 2:09 pm (GMT +8)
4.5

108 km
Molucca Sea, 161 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 05:44 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 5:44 am (GMT +0)
?

n/a
4.8 km southwest of Chelmsford, Essex, England, United Kingdom (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 10 reports
More
Feb 9, 2023 05:37 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 8:37 am (GMT +3)
4.1

17 km
18 km southwest of Malatya, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 05:24 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 8:24 am (GMT +3)
4.1

5 km
14 km northeast of Göksun, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 9, 2023 05:02 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 8:02 am (GMT +3)
3.9

3 km
5.5 km north of Göksun, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.3 x 1012 joules (1.46 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1260 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings