Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 11:25 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 11:25 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 7 days:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 35 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 273 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 875 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 1685 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 3197 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
A strong magnitude 5.3 earthquake occurred in Reykjanes Ridge 16 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 5.0 | Indian Ocean -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.8 | South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours154 quakes113 quakes M3+37 quakes M4+4 quakes M5+
Past 7 days1,186 quakes875 quakes M3+273 quakes M4+35 quakes M5+3 quakes M6+
Past 30 days4,788 quakes3,516 quakes M3+1,134 quakes M4+127 quakes M5+8 quakes M6+3 quakes M7+
Past 90 days14,294 quakes10,179 quakes M3+3,642 quakes M4+438 quakes M5+28 quakes M6+7 quakes M7+
Past 365 days63,320 quakes45,903 quakes M3+15,571 quakes M4+1,718 quakes M5+114 quakes M6+14 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 4.8 or higher (20 out of 6067 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 27, 2023 05:29 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 1:29 pm (GMT +8)
5.0

10 km
Indian Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, January 26, 2023 GMT (13 quakes)
Jan 26, 2023 19:30 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 5:30 pm (GMT -2)
5.3

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 19:17 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 5:17 pm (GMT -2)
5.2

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Jan 26, 2023 17:55 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 4:55 am (GMT +11)
4.9

195 km
Coral Sea, Solomon Islands
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 16:41 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 4:41 am (GMT -12)
5.1

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, 126 mi southeast of Atka, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 14:19 GMT
Jan 27, 2023 3:19 am (GMT +13)
4.8

35 km
South Pacific Ocean, Tonga
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 13:56 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 10:56 pm (GMT +9)
4.9

10 km
Philippine Sea, 148 km southwest of Ishigaki, Okinawa, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 13:05 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 4:05 pm (GMT +3)
4.8

10 km
84 km east of Djibouti
I FELT IT - 20 reports
More
Jan 26, 2023 11:42 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 9:42 pm (GMT +10)
4.8

60 km
South Pacific Ocean, 161 km north of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 26, 2023 10:45 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 11:45 pm (GMT +13)
5.8

111 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 06:33 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 2:33 pm (GMT +8)
4.9

59 km
Molucca Sea, 300 km northeast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 04:23 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 1:23 pm (GMT +9)
5.7

35 km
Molucca Sea, 282 km northeast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 04:16 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 3:16 am (GMT -1)
5.3

10 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 75 km southwest of Mindelo, Sao Vicente, Cape Verde
I FELT IT - 51 reports
More
Jan 26, 2023 04:07 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 5:07 pm (GMT +13)
5.1

33 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 GMT (6 quakes)
Jan 25, 2023 23:21 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 7:21 am (GMT +8)
4.9

10 km
30 km southeast of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 25, 2023 20:13 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 8:13 am (GMT -12)
4.9

33 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 19:49 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 3:49 am (GMT +8)
5.5

10 km
28 km south of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China
I FELT IT - 5 reports
More
Jan 25, 2023 16:02 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 12:02 am (GMT +8)
5.3

10 km
147 km south of Chotan, Hotan Diqu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 15:09 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 3:09 am (GMT -12)
5.1

33 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 14:12 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 1:12 am (GMT +11)
4.8

159 km
49 km west of Arawa, Bougainville, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.1 x 1014 joules (29.9 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 25716 tons of TNT or 1.6 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings