Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 22:39 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 22:39 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 29 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 97 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 246 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 572 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, there were 4 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 29 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 97 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 246 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 572 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A strong magnitude 5.1 earthquake occurred in South Atlantic Ocean, South Georgia & South Sandwich Islands, 4 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.4 | North Pacific Ocean, 95 km S of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 5.1 | South Atlantic Ocean, South Georgia & South Sandwich Islands -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours130 quakes | 97 quakes M3+ | 29 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+
Strongest quake: Mag. 5.8 on Wednesday, Oct 5, 2022 at 3:26 am (GMT -5) – 14 km E of Sullana, Piura, Peru
Past 7 days1,128 quakes | 791 quakes M3+ | 294 quakes M4+ | 40 quakes M5+ | 3 quakes M6+
Past 30 days6,272 quakes | 4,634 quakes M3+ | 1,469 quakes M4+ | 155 quakes M5+ | 11 quakes M6+ | 3 quakes M7+
Past 90 days18,025 quakes | 13,591 quakes M3+ | 3,987 quakes M4+ | 416 quakes M5+ | 27 quakes M6+ | 4 quakes M7+
Past 365 days65,998 quakes | 48,588 quakes M3+ | 15,564 quakes M4+ | 1,707 quakes M5+ | 129 quakes M6+ | 10 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 3.3 or higher (20 out of 948 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 GMT (20 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 22:26 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 4:26 pm (GMT -6)
3.4

12 km
North Pacific Ocean, 95 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 22:16 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 2:16 pm (GMT -8)
4.8

99 km
123 mi north of Alaska City, Anchorage, Alaska, USA
I FELT IT - 4 reports
More
Oct 5, 2022 22:11 GMT
Oct 6, 2022 1:41 am (GMT +3:30)
3.5

9 km
10.9 km southeast of Khowy, West Azerbaijan, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 21:38 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 6:38 pm (GMT -3)
3.7

48 km
South Pacific Ocean, 95 km west of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 21:30 GMT
Oct 6, 2022 2:30 am (GMT +5)
4.0

50 km
42 km southeast of Khorugh, Gorno-Badakhshan, Tajikistan
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 21:29 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 4:29 pm (GMT -5)
4.0

28 km
Michoacan, 53 km southeast of Tecoman, Colima, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 21:19 GMT
Oct 6, 2022 5:19 am (GMT +8)
3.3

10 km
Australia: Great Victoria Desert, WA
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 21:01 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 4:01 pm (GMT -5)
4.0

24 km
Pasco, 76 km north of Santa Rosa, Chanchamayo, Junin, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 20:46 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 3:46 pm (GMT -5)
4.3

160 km
60 km north of Pucallpa, Provincia de Coronel Portillo, Ucayali, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 20:42 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 11:42 pm (GMT +3)
3.5

6 km
Kütahya, 42 km northwest of Afyonkarahisar, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 20:15 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 2:15 pm (GMT -6)
4.1

17 km
North Pacific Ocean, 155 km southwest of Pijijiapan, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 20:00 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 3:00 pm (GMT -5)
4.0

8 km
North Pacific Ocean, 59 km south of Aquila, Michoacan, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 19:09 GMT
Oct 6, 2022 4:09 am (GMT +9)
4.4

134 km
Kepulauan Barat Daya, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 19:04 GMT
Oct 6, 2022 4:04 am (GMT +9)
4.8

64 km
North Pacific Ocean, 44 km southeast of Ofunato, Ōfunato-shi, Iwate, Japan
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Oct 5, 2022 18:54 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 12:54 pm (GMT -6)
3.3

12 km
North Pacific Ocean, 95 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 18:16 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 4:16 pm (GMT -2)
5.1

10 km
South Atlantic Ocean, South Georgia & South Sandwich Islands
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 17:45 GMT
Oct 6, 2022 1:45 am (GMT +8)
4.0

13 km
Philippine Sea, Indonesia, 211 km southeast of General Santos City, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 17:39 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 8:39 pm (GMT +3)
3.5

9.4 km
9.6 km east of Argostoli, Kefallonia Regional Unit, Ionian Islands, Greece
I FELT IT - 77 reports
More
Oct 5, 2022 17:18 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 5:18 am (GMT -12)
3.7

216 km
South Pacific Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 17:01 GMT
Oct 5, 2022 8:31 pm (GMT +3:30)
3.3

15 km
26 km northwest of Shahrud, Semnan, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.8 x 1012 joules (1.6 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1376 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings