Help Ukraine

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 19, 2022 02:38 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated May 19, 2022 02:38 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes during April 2022:

  • 8 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 145 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 1305 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 3561 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 7760 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 17976 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
During April 2022, there were 8 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 145 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 1305 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 3561 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 7760 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 17976 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.0 | Bismarck Sea, 176 km NE of Madang, Papua New Guinea -

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 5.1 or higher (20 out of 30755 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, April 30, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Apr 30, 2022 02:58 GMT
Apr 29, 2022 10:58 pm (GMT -4)
3.6

17 km
Near Castries, Castries, St. Lucia 28 reportsMore
Friday, April 29, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
Apr 29, 2022 22:30 GMT
Apr 29, 2022 5:30 pm (GMT -5)
2.8

7.9 km
1 Km SSW of Peerless Park, Missouri 625 reportsMore
Apr 29, 2022 18:49 GMT
Apr 29, 2022 1:49 pm (GMT -5)
4.8

63 km
Ecuador - Guayas, A 7.27 Km De Naranjal 40 reportsMore
Apr 29, 2022 18:25 GMT
Apr 30, 2022 2:25 am (GMT +8)
4.8

48 km
112 Km SSE of Lembar, Indonesia 31 reportsMore
Apr 29, 2022 18:13 GMT
Apr 29, 2022 6:13 am (GMT -12)
5.4

210 km
New Zealand More
Apr 29, 2022 17:35 GMT
Apr 29, 2022 8:35 pm (GMT +3)
4.2

12 km
16 Km WSW of Ula, Turkey 31 reportsMore
Apr 29, 2022 14:01 GMT
Apr 29, 2022 5:01 pm (GMT +3)
4.5

13 km
Greece: 6 Km NE From Miamou 87 reportsMore
Apr 29, 2022 09:21 GMT
Apr 29, 2022 5:21 am (GMT -4)
?

n/a
Near Barquisimeto, Lara, Venezuela (unconfirmed) 47 reportsMore
Apr 29, 2022 08:33 GMT
Apr 29, 2022 1:33 am (GMT -7)
5.6

10 km
Central East Pacific Rise More
Apr 29, 2022 07:15 GMT
Apr 29, 2022 9:15 am (GMT +2)
3.5

2 km
Spain: W 85 reportsMore
Apr 29, 2022 00:29 GMT
Apr 29, 2022 9:29 am (GMT +9)
5.4

488 km
Japan: NEAR TORISHIMA IS More
Thursday, April 28, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Apr 28, 2022 22:26 GMT
Apr 28, 2022 4:26 pm (GMT -6)
?

n/a
Near Jerome, Idaho, USA (unconfirmed) 29 reportsMore
Apr 28, 2022 20:14 GMT
Apr 28, 2022 10:14 pm (GMT +2)
3.1

2 km
Near Katowice, Silesia, Poland 60 reportsMore
Apr 28, 2022 13:21 GMT
Apr 28, 2022 11:21 pm (GMT +10)
6.0

10 km
170 Km NE of Madang, Papua New Guinea More
Apr 28, 2022 11:42 GMT
Apr 28, 2022 7:42 pm (GMT +8)
5.0

44 km
12 Km E of Santa Monica, Philippines 21 reportsMore
Apr 28, 2022 07:57 GMT
Apr 28, 2022 2:57 am (GMT -5)
4.3

72 km
Near Medellin, Departamento De Antioquia, Colombia 21 reportsMore
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 1014 joules (32.1 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 27587 tons of TNT or 1.7 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel