Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 18, 2022 00:57 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated Aug 18, 2022 00:57 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes on Friday, August 5th, 2022:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 31 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 103 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 232 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 565 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
On Friday, August 5th, 2022, there were 3 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 31 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 103 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 232 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 565 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.5 | South Pacific Ocean, 112 km SW of Chimbote, Provincia de Santa, Ancash, Peru -

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 3 or higher (20 out of 934 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, August 5, 2022 GMT (20 quakes)
Aug 5, 2022 23:57 GMT
Aug 5, 2022 4:57 pm (GMT -7)
?

n/a
2 mi south of Glendale, Los Angeles County, California, USA (unconfirmed) 1 reportMore
Aug 5, 2022 23:56 GMT
Aug 5, 2022 6:56 pm (GMT -5)
4.5

20 km
South Pacific Ocean, 112 km southwest of Chimbote, Peru More
Aug 5, 2022 23:41 GMT
Aug 6, 2022 5:26 am (GMT +5:45)
4.4

10 km
35 km northwest of Kathmandu, Bagmati Province, Nepal 92 reportsMore
Aug 5, 2022 23:31 GMT
Aug 5, 2022 7:31 pm (GMT -4)
3.2

38 km
South Pacific Ocean, 87 km north of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile More
Aug 5, 2022 23:15 GMT
Aug 6, 2022 2:15 am (GMT +3)
3.1

12 km
5.3 km northwest of Afyonkarahisar, Turkey 2 reportsMore
Aug 5, 2022 23:11 GMT
Aug 6, 2022 5:41 am (GMT +6:30)
3.4

10 km
42 km east of Prome, Pyay District, Bago Region, Myanmar (Burma) More
Aug 5, 2022 22:49 GMT
Aug 5, 2022 6:49 pm (GMT -4)
3.2

99 km
36 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Aug 5, 2022 22:08 GMT
Aug 5, 2022 6:08 pm (GMT -4)
3.3

1 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 29 km east of Port-de-Paix, Nord-Ouest, Haiti More
Aug 5, 2022 21:56 GMT
Aug 5, 2022 5:56 pm (GMT -4)
3.0

104 km
122 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile More
Aug 5, 2022 21:44 GMT
Aug 6, 2022 6:44 am (GMT +9)
4.5

10 km
Aru Sea, 89 km southeast of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia More
Aug 5, 2022 21:37 GMT
Aug 5, 2022 6:37 pm (GMT -3)
3.4

191 km
75 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina More
Aug 5, 2022 21:35 GMT
Aug 5, 2022 4:35 pm (GMT -5)
3.0

61 km
30 km east of Huajuapan de Leon, Oaxaca, Mexico More
Aug 5, 2022 21:22 GMT
Aug 5, 2022 3:22 pm (GMT -6)
3.3

18 km
North Pacific Ocean, 79 km southwest of Sonsonate, El Salvador More
Aug 5, 2022 21:12 GMT
Aug 6, 2022 12:12 am (GMT +3)
3.0

15 km
21 km southeast of Idlib, Syria 1 reportMore
Aug 5, 2022 21:09 GMT
Aug 6, 2022 5:09 am (GMT +8)
3.6

10 km
Molucca Sea, 68 km northeast of Luwuk, Indonesia More
Aug 5, 2022 20:52 GMT
Aug 5, 2022 3:52 pm (GMT -5)
4.0

35 km
South Pacific Ocean, 109 km southwest of Chimbote, Peru More
Aug 5, 2022 20:50 GMT
Aug 6, 2022 4:50 am (GMT +8)
4.1

31 km
Molucca Sea, 92 km southeast of Gorontalo, Indonesia More
Aug 5, 2022 20:28 GMT
Aug 6, 2022 4:28 am (GMT +8)
3.0

67 km
Indian Ocean, 61 km south of Denpasar, Provinsi Bali, Indonesia 1 reportMore
Aug 5, 2022 20:20 GMT
Aug 5, 2022 4:20 pm (GMT -4)
4.5

65 km
78 km south of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile More
Aug 5, 2022 20:11 GMT
Aug 6, 2022 5:11 am (GMT +9)
3.4

27 km
Molucca Sea, 117 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.5 x 1012 joules (427 megawatt hours, equivalent to 367 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings